We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasing Cultural experience ”
Review of Yochiin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yochiin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at Yochiin during our trip to Koyasan. We had a great time. It was such an authentic experience. We enjoyed using the public baths, sleeping on tatami mats, attending the Buddhist ceremony and having a vegan meal in traditional style. The staff went out of their way to help and the public transport drops you at the front door. Most of the attractions are adjacent and the cost was very competitive. This place has a lot going for anyone looking for lodgings in this town.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank LuckyTravelerRonaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2017

Koyasan is just a beautiful gem. this temple is very close to everything except the cemetery. As per the food take the experience but it is not the best vegan food ever. the rooms are spacious and clean. The zen garden inside is beautiful, the temple ceremony in the morning is great. Overall it is good, my only issue was with the noise you get from rice walls separations, so earplugs are suggested. The accommodation is that of a retreat, communal toilette, communal baths, if you decide for dinner or breakfast ask in advance it is scheduled. there is a family mart in the corner, therefore food is not an issue.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kcanavan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

It was freezing when we stayed here although there was a good quality wall mounted heater in the room. Bring warm gear if you stay here in cold weather! The room was very clean and comfortable though and it did warm up (you freeze again the moment you step out of it though). We were beautifully cared for by the monks, they even ran us a hot bath to thaw us out! We were woken up at 6am for morning prayers, which was a critical part of the experience. The food was very basic though. If you are a Western Tourist you might need to supplement the food with some snacks - there is a convenience store round the corner. There are some wonderful walks very close to the Monastery, very atmospheric at night. So don't expect luxury. But you will have a very special and memorable experience here.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

We had a special, peaceful stay in this old, charming tempel. We loved the bath and the morning ceremony, as well as the breakfast! Great service at the tempel as well.. Unfortunately it was minus degrees when we stayed there, and with paperthin walls it got too cold at night (so we didn't sleep that well). We also tried the optional activities; meditation and copy-writing sanskrit. You pay "a bit" for these activities, so please note that the training/ teaching session of these activities only last for 5 minutes - the rest is freetime where you can meditate and copy-write on your own. The rooms are of decent size and they are clean. Location is really good!

Stayed: November 2016
1  Thank Rebl1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

This was such an amazing experience.

Yochi, the monk who did our check-in was so welcoming and friendly. He explained to us the best sites to visit, which buses to catch, where to buy food etc etc. We were made to feel at home as soon as we arrived.

I recommend doing the morning sutra ceremony at 6.20am, it's such a nice way to start the day. The head monk spoke to us afterwards giving us wise advice.

Our room was very large, clean and confortable. With a little table, sitting mats, tv and kerosene heater.

If you are visiting in the winter it goes without saying, bring warm clothes, it can get very cold in Koya-San.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jenkle89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koya-cho hotels
0.3 km away
Saizen-in
Saizen-in
#6 of 47 in Koya-cho
69 reviews
0.7 km away
Fukuchiin
Fukuchiin
#9 of 47 in Koya-cho
373 reviews
1.4 km away
Ekoin Temple, Koyasan
Ekoin Temple, Koyasan
#1 of 47 in Koya-cho
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Jimyoin
Jimyoin
#10 of 47 in Koya-cho
108 reviews
1.4 km away
Sekishoin
Sekishoin
#42 of 47 in Koya-cho
102 reviews
0.4 km away
Jokiin
Jokiin
#13 of 47 in Koya-cho
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yochiin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yochiin

Address: 293 Koyasan, Koya-cho, Ito-gun 648-0211, Wakayama Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Wakayama Prefecture > Ito-gun > Koya-cho
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 Speciality lodging in Koya-cho
Price Range: €92 - €187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Yochiin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yochiin Japan/Koya-Cho, Wakayama Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing