We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Jokiin(Koya-cho)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$537
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$411
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Free cancellation until 03/08
    US$397
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Henjoko-in(Koya-cho)
    Free cancellation until 02/08
    US$321
    Hotels.com
    View Deal
    Fumonin(Koya-cho)(Great Value!)
    Free cancellation until 01/08
    Book now, pay at stay
    US$404
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Hongakuin(Koya-cho)(Great Value!)
    US$252
    JAPANiCAN.com
    View Deal
    Fukuchiin(Koya-cho)
    US$344
    US$251
    JAPANiCAN.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    Daienin(Koya-cho)(Great Value!)
    US$209
    JAPANiCAN.com
    View Deal
    Jimyo-in(Koya-cho)(Great Value!)
    US$233
    JAPANiCAN.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
      Reviews (91)
      Filter reviews
      91 results
      Traveller rating
      31
      37
      17
      6
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      31
      37
      17
      6
      0
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsfamily martroom was spacious and cleanmorning ceremonyheart sutraconvenience storemorning showerfantastic experiencebuddhist ceremonythe buslovely templepublic bathzen gardenbring earplugstraditional vegetarianwalls are thintatami matsshojin ryori
      Filter
      Updating list...
      9 - 14 of 91 reviews
      Reviewed 24 February 2017

      We had a special, peaceful stay in this old, charming tempel. We loved the bath and the morning ceremony, as well as the breakfast! Great service at the tempel as well.. Unfortunately it was minus degrees when we stayed there, and with paperthin walls it got too cold at night (so we didn't sleep that well). We also tried the optional activities; meditation and copy-writing sanskrit. You pay "a bit" for these activities, so please note that the training/ teaching session of these activities only last for 5 minutes - the rest is freetime where you can meditate and copy-write on your own. The rooms are of decent size and they are clean. Location is really good!

      Stayed: November 2016
      1  Thank Rebl1986
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

      This was such an amazing experience.

      Yochi, the monk who did our check-in was so welcoming and friendly. He explained to us the best sites to visit, which buses to catch, where to buy food etc etc. We were made to feel at home as soon as we arrived.

      I recommend doing the morning sutra ceremony at 6.20am, it's such a nice way to start the day. The head monk spoke to us afterwards giving us wise advice.

      Our room was very large, clean and confortable. With a little table, sitting mats, tv and kerosene heater.

      If you are visiting in the winter it goes without saying, bring warm clothes, it can get very cold in Koya-San.

      Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
      1  Thank jenkle89
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

      We were there for one night, but was so nice that I would repeat.
      First of all, it's not cheap, but among the ones that you can make reservation through Internet, it's maybe the cheapest. The location is very good, because it has a bus stop very close ( you have to take the bus to arrive at the zone) and a konbini also very, very close.
      The staff is fantastic, very kind and also funny in our case. He led us to the room ( very confortable) and showed us the place, and offered us good tea in the room. He also explained us what to do and how in Koyasan (we went sightseeing a little bit that afternoon, but we saw the major part the next day, because we woke up early).
      You can go to the onsen and you have to use shared toilets, but everything is extremely clean. We hadn't had meals there, we bought food in the konbini, but it could have been a good experience.
      They wake you up at six to pray with them, something that I enjoyed very much, really. But don't worry, because you go to sleep quite early the night before, so it's not a problem. Everything is very quiet, and you have to respect it, but I think it's really good to have at least one day like this.
      It's really a very peaceful and nice experience, but you have to keep in mind that it's not a conventional hotel, if you don't, better don't go to any shukubo.

      Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
      2  Thank Sweet-Dawn
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 21 October 2016

      If anyone is planning on overnighting in Koyasan it should be ready and willing to pay quite high prices. Taking that into account, Yochiin is a nice choice: the temple itself and its surroundings are beautiful, rooms are quite large and certainly confortable and if you order too the meals pack (which is enjoyable although I discovered that vegetarian Japanese food is not exactly my cup of tea) you get to have towels and a nice yukata, useful if you're planning to visit the simple, yet pleasant, baths.

      Overall, an interesting experience which is worth living, at least once in a lifetime!

      • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
        • Location
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank Laumimi
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 22 September 2016

      It was a fascinating experience to spend a night at a temple in Koyasan, to share in a morning Buddhist ceremony and sit by the beautiful garden. The people at the temple were very pleasant. It is not surprising that half the temples in Koyasan seek to support themselves by providing rather expensive accommodation and meals . However, to make an honest appraisal of the accommodation itself for TripAdvisor it would be unrealistic to call it "Very Good" or better. The room was pretty basic, even for a ryokan, though large enough. We made the error of failing to book in advance for meals which meant than no towels or yukata were provided. There are no restaurants open for evening dinner in Koyasan but a supermarket saved the day. We did secure a pleasant dinner at Yochiin one evening (the breakfasts looked rather ordinary and certainly overpriced). So go for the experience with modest expectations of food value and lodging.

      Room Tip: Despite the cost it seems best to book meals in advance as part of the package.
      • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      2  Thank Radix7
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews