We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic and cold in Feb, but beautiful, spiritual and memorable.”
Review of Yochiin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yochiin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2017

It was freezing when we stayed here although there was a good quality wall mounted heater in the room. Bring warm gear if you stay here in cold weather! The room was very clean and comfortable though and it did warm up (you freeze again the moment you step out of it though). We were beautifully cared for by the monks, they even ran us a hot bath to thaw us out! We were woken up at 6am for morning prayers, which was a critical part of the experience. The food was very basic though. If you are a Western Tourist you might need to supplement the food with some snacks - there is a convenience store round the corner. There are some wonderful walks very close to the Monastery, very atmospheric at night. So don't expect luxury. But you will have a very special and memorable experience here.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2017

We had a special, peaceful stay in this old, charming tempel. We loved the bath and the morning ceremony, as well as the breakfast! Great service at the tempel as well.. Unfortunately it was minus degrees when we stayed there, and with paperthin walls it got too cold at night (so we didn't sleep that well). We also tried the optional activities; meditation and copy-writing sanskrit. You pay "a bit" for these activities, so please note that the training/ teaching session of these activities only last for 5 minutes - the rest is freetime where you can meditate and copy-write on your own. The rooms are of decent size and they are clean. Location is really good!

Stayed: November 2016
1  Thank Rebl1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

This was such an amazing experience.

Yochi, the monk who did our check-in was so welcoming and friendly. He explained to us the best sites to visit, which buses to catch, where to buy food etc etc. We were made to feel at home as soon as we arrived.

I recommend doing the morning sutra ceremony at 6.20am, it's such a nice way to start the day. The head monk spoke to us afterwards giving us wise advice.

Our room was very large, clean and confortable. With a little table, sitting mats, tv and kerosene heater.

If you are visiting in the winter it goes without saying, bring warm clothes, it can get very cold in Koya-San.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jenkle89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

We were there for one night, but was so nice that I would repeat.
First of all, it's not cheap, but among the ones that you can make reservation through Internet, it's maybe the cheapest. The location is very good, because it has a bus stop very close ( you have to take the bus to arrive at the zone) and a konbini also very, very close.
The staff is fantastic, very kind and also funny in our case. He led us to the room ( very confortable) and showed us the place, and offered us good tea in the room. He also explained us what to do and how in Koyasan (we went sightseeing a little bit that afternoon, but we saw the major part the next day, because we woke up early).
You can go to the onsen and you have to use shared toilets, but everything is extremely clean. We hadn't had meals there, we bought food in the konbini, but it could have been a good experience.
They wake you up at six to pray with them, something that I enjoyed very much, really. But don't worry, because you go to sleep quite early the night before, so it's not a problem. Everything is very quiet, and you have to respect it, but I think it's really good to have at least one day like this.
It's really a very peaceful and nice experience, but you have to keep in mind that it's not a conventional hotel, if you don't, better don't go to any shukubo.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sweet-Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

If anyone is planning on overnighting in Koyasan it should be ready and willing to pay quite high prices. Taking that into account, Yochiin is a nice choice: the temple itself and its surroundings are beautiful, rooms are quite large and certainly confortable and if you order too the meals pack (which is enjoyable although I discovered that vegetarian Japanese food is not exactly my cup of tea) you get to have towels and a nice yukata, useful if you're planning to visit the simple, yet pleasant, baths.

Overall, an interesting experience which is worth living, at least once in a lifetime!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laumimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koya-cho hotels
0.7 km away
Fukuchiin
Fukuchiin
#9 of 47 in Koya-cho
373 reviews
0.3 km away
Saizen-in
Saizen-in
#6 of 47 in Koya-cho
69 reviews
1.4 km away
Sekishoin
Sekishoin
#40 of 47 in Koya-cho
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Ekoin Temple, Koyasan
Ekoin Temple, Koyasan
#1 of 47 in Koya-cho
502 reviews
0.3 km away
Sojiin
Sojiin
#12 of 47 in Koya-cho
57 reviews
1.5 km away
Mt.Koya Kumagaiji
Mt.Koya Kumagaiji
#7 of 47 in Koya-cho
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yochiin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yochiin

Address: 293 Koyasan, Koya-cho, Ito-gun 648-0211, Wakayama Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Wakayama Prefecture > Ito-gun > Koya-cho
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 Speciality lodging in Koya-cho
Price Range: €96 - €172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Yochiin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yochiin Japan/Koya-Cho, Wakayama Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing