We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Jokiin(Koya-cho)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Fukuchiin(Koya-cho)
Free cancellation until 24/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$339
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Henjoko-in(Koya-cho)
US$316
US$249
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Daienin(Koya-cho)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$207
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Jimyo-in(Koya-cho)(Great Value!)
US$248
US$239
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Saizen-in(Koya-cho)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
      Henjosonin(Koya-cho)
      TripAdvisor
      View Deal
      Fumonin(Koya-cho)
      TripAdvisor
      View Deal
      Reviews (91)
      Filter reviews
      91 results
      Traveller rating
      31
      37
      17
      6
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      31
      37
      17
      6
      0
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsfamily martroom was spacious and cleanmorning ceremonyheart sutraconvenience storemorning showerfantastic experiencebuddhist ceremonythe buslovely templepublic bathzen gardenbring earplugstraditional vegetarianwalls are thintatami matsshojin ryori
      Filter
      Updating list...
      11 - 16 of 91 reviews
      Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

      We were there for one night, but was so nice that I would repeat.
      First of all, it's not cheap, but among the ones that you can make reservation through Internet, it's maybe the cheapest. The location is very good, because it has a bus stop very close ( you have to take the bus to arrive at the zone) and a konbini also very, very close.
      The staff is fantastic, very kind and also funny in our case. He led us to the room ( very confortable) and showed us the place, and offered us good tea in the room. He also explained us what to do and how in Koyasan (we went sightseeing a little bit that afternoon, but we saw the major part the next day, because we woke up early).
      You can go to the onsen and you have to use shared toilets, but everything is extremely clean. We hadn't had meals there, we bought food in the konbini, but it could have been a good experience.
      They wake you up at six to pray with them, something that I enjoyed very much, really. But don't worry, because you go to sleep quite early the night before, so it's not a problem. Everything is very quiet, and you have to respect it, but I think it's really good to have at least one day like this.
      It's really a very peaceful and nice experience, but you have to keep in mind that it's not a conventional hotel, if you don't, better don't go to any shukubo.

      Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
      2  Thank Sweet-Dawn
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 21 October 2016

      If anyone is planning on overnighting in Koyasan it should be ready and willing to pay quite high prices. Taking that into account, Yochiin is a nice choice: the temple itself and its surroundings are beautiful, rooms are quite large and certainly confortable and if you order too the meals pack (which is enjoyable although I discovered that vegetarian Japanese food is not exactly my cup of tea) you get to have towels and a nice yukata, useful if you're planning to visit the simple, yet pleasant, baths.

      Overall, an interesting experience which is worth living, at least once in a lifetime!

      • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
        • Location
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank Laumimi
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 22 September 2016

      It was a fascinating experience to spend a night at a temple in Koyasan, to share in a morning Buddhist ceremony and sit by the beautiful garden. The people at the temple were very pleasant. It is not surprising that half the temples in Koyasan seek to support themselves by providing rather expensive accommodation and meals . However, to make an honest appraisal of the accommodation itself for TripAdvisor it would be unrealistic to call it "Very Good" or better. The room was pretty basic, even for a ryokan, though large enough. We made the error of failing to book in advance for meals which meant than no towels or yukata were provided. There are no restaurants open for evening dinner in Koyasan but a supermarket saved the day. We did secure a pleasant dinner at Yochiin one evening (the breakfasts looked rather ordinary and certainly overpriced). So go for the experience with modest expectations of food value and lodging.

      Room Tip: Despite the cost it seems best to book meals in advance as part of the package.
      • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      2  Thank Radix7
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

      This is a nice place to stay for a simple, traditional Japanese experience. Might be a bit light for the money payed, but in the end it was a good relaxing experience. I will try to say this only once at the beginning: Koyasan is (beautiful) tourist trap, expect high prices for everything.

      Reception: a very kind monk greeted us (Yoshimura) and sat us down with some welcome tea with other guests. He explained the rules: Gates to the temple close at 21:00 (though you can knock till 22:00), dinner is at 17:30, breakfast at 07:30, monk morning ceremony 06:30, checkout at 10:00 (but your beds will disappear if you go to the ceremony).

      Onsen("spa"): though not technically an onsen, a very comfortable large bubbling bath. And yes, it is Japanese style: naked, wash thoroughly before getting in! Open from 16:00-21:00, bring your own towel! Or else you pay a lot for one! 1000¥...

      Food/dinner/breakfast: I would not order the food like some of the other reviewers have said, although traditional it is surely not worth the price you pay 2000¥+/meal and is a bit light from what i saw. There is a "Family mart" right next door, and many restaurants (less than 1000¥). For dinner many restaurants are closed though so watch out!

      Bedroom: Japanese style, tatami/bed roll (but very comfy! ), Small low table for eating (yours or their food), no air-conditioning but there is a fan. TV, but who cares about that; really. The walls are thin, and made of sliding doors. There are a couple of bell ringings late at night and early so you will probably wake up a few times.

      Toilets: common, western and Japanese style available.

      Morning ceremony: although some reviewers said they didn't let you join in, it is actually very inclusive, but it is a show; one also for Japanese tourists too though so ok. Explanations were given verbally as well as on paper. Joining in on the chant and the incense pinching is available to all if you want. Lasts around 30min-1h. * Surprise! Your bed is now gone from your room >_< (if you want to cheat, leave two pairs of slippers in from of your door and they won't come in normally mouhaha).

      Super touristy area! But incredibly relaxing, very peaceful at night (sit in the Zen garden and contemplate *insert anything here*, good walking, surroundings, temples and shrines.

      Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
      8  Thank Drew B
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 6 July 2016

      We stayed two nights in this temple and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. It is a very traditional environment, including shared bathing facilities and traditional vegetarian food. We were met at the door upon arrival and showed straight to our room, which was traditional and comfortable, with a gorgeous view into the centre garden. We elected to have dinner at the temple both nights and found the vegetarian food to be tasty and filling. The location of this temple is perfect, we were in walking to distance to all the main areas of Koyasan. Don't miss the morning chanting. We went both mornings and it was spiritual and beautiful.

      Room Tip: As it is a traditional temple there is only traditional rooms
      • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank Michele S
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews