We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Jokiin(Koya-cho)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Fukuchiin(Koya-cho)
Free cancellation until 24/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$341
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Henjoko-in(Koya-cho)
US$317
US$259
Agoda.com
View Deal
Daienin(Koya-cho)(Great Value!)
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Jimyo-in(Koya-cho)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Saizen-in(Koya-cho)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
      Fugenin(Koya-cho)
      Rakuten Travel
      View Deal
      Fumonin(Koya-cho)
      TripAdvisor
      View Deal
      Reviews (91)
      Filter reviews
      91 results
      Traveller rating
      31
      37
      17
      6
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      31
      37
      17
      6
      0
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsfamily martroom was spacious and cleanmorning ceremonyheart sutraconvenience storemorning showerfantastic experiencebuddhist ceremonythe buslovely templepublic bathzen gardenbring earplugstraditional vegetarianwalls are thintatami matsshojin ryori
      Filter
      Updating list...
      14 - 19 of 91 reviews
      Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

      This is a nice place to stay for a simple, traditional Japanese experience. Might be a bit light for the money payed, but in the end it was a good relaxing experience. I will try to say this only once at the beginning: Koyasan is (beautiful) tourist trap, expect high prices for everything.

      Reception: a very kind monk greeted us (Yoshimura) and sat us down with some welcome tea with other guests. He explained the rules: Gates to the temple close at 21:00 (though you can knock till 22:00), dinner is at 17:30, breakfast at 07:30, monk morning ceremony 06:30, checkout at 10:00 (but your beds will disappear if you go to the ceremony).

      Onsen("spa"): though not technically an onsen, a very comfortable large bubbling bath. And yes, it is Japanese style: naked, wash thoroughly before getting in! Open from 16:00-21:00, bring your own towel! Or else you pay a lot for one! 1000¥...

      Food/dinner/breakfast: I would not order the food like some of the other reviewers have said, although traditional it is surely not worth the price you pay 2000¥+/meal and is a bit light from what i saw. There is a "Family mart" right next door, and many restaurants (less than 1000¥). For dinner many restaurants are closed though so watch out!

      Bedroom: Japanese style, tatami/bed roll (but very comfy! ), Small low table for eating (yours or their food), no air-conditioning but there is a fan. TV, but who cares about that; really. The walls are thin, and made of sliding doors. There are a couple of bell ringings late at night and early so you will probably wake up a few times.

      Toilets: common, western and Japanese style available.

      Morning ceremony: although some reviewers said they didn't let you join in, it is actually very inclusive, but it is a show; one also for Japanese tourists too though so ok. Explanations were given verbally as well as on paper. Joining in on the chant and the incense pinching is available to all if you want. Lasts around 30min-1h. * Surprise! Your bed is now gone from your room >_< (if you want to cheat, leave two pairs of slippers in from of your door and they won't come in normally mouhaha).

      Super touristy area! But incredibly relaxing, very peaceful at night (sit in the Zen garden and contemplate *insert anything here*, good walking, surroundings, temples and shrines.

      Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
      8  Thank Drew B
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 6 July 2016

      We stayed two nights in this temple and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. It is a very traditional environment, including shared bathing facilities and traditional vegetarian food. We were met at the door upon arrival and showed straight to our room, which was traditional and comfortable, with a gorgeous view into the centre garden. We elected to have dinner at the temple both nights and found the vegetarian food to be tasty and filling. The location of this temple is perfect, we were in walking to distance to all the main areas of Koyasan. Don't miss the morning chanting. We went both mornings and it was spiritual and beautiful.

      Room Tip: As it is a traditional temple there is only traditional rooms
      • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank Michele S
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 5 June 2016

      Couldn't fault anything here. The temple itself is set in a beautiful small garden and is extremely peaceful. Our room overlooked the zen garden in the middle and was spacious/comfortable. The shared onsen is great, and the ceremony in the morning where a monk explained their approach to meditation/chanting was a nice touch. There are some fairly rigid rules (e.g. no showers before 4pm, need to be back in the temple by 9pm), but understandable given it's a functioning temple. Would strongly recommend staying.

      Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
      Thank Ed R
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 29 May 2016

      Discovered Koyasan Yochiin Ryokan from TripAdvisor and we were very satisfied with our one night stay here.

      Pros
      - Friendly staff
      - Supper and breakfast was good (even for non-seafood people)
      - Morning prayers were a wonderful, educational experience
      - Very quiet rooms
      - Family Mart down the street (only one in Koyasan)

      Cons
      - A bit of a walk to Okunoin and back (3 kilometres) throughout the day
      - Main gates of Ryokan promptly lock at 2100

      Recommendation/tips
      - No WIFI
      - Bring cash to pay for Ryokan
      - Bring enough money for your stay as we did not see any international ATMs in Koyasan
      - Plan ahead as bus service shuts down early in the night (1830)
      - Rent an audio guide for the Okunoin from the Koyasan Tourist Office (return the next morning)
      - Go to the Okunoin at night to see the lanterns lit up
      - Buy a Koyasan World Heritage Ticket for train and bus service as this will save a lot of hassle trying to get there by other means (purchase this at Namba Station in Osaka)
      - Bring an overnight bag and store your luggage at Namba Station coin operated lockers for overnight Koyasan trips (700 YEN)

      • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      10  Thank JK_YYC
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

      Yochi-in temple, Koyasan

      I have stayed at Yochi-in temple in two people room for one night (12,000 ¥). My friend has advance requested with dinner and breakfast (5,000¥ per person). I think price is same in group of temples that this is good.

      My room is the third room on the second floor which if you open window you will see a small road (this small road is a side street from a main road that has bus stops) and a small tree garden is next to.

      Yochi-in is in right hand side around 5 meters from main road so this is convenient to take Koyasan bus, anyway there is no more bus. There around 1-3 buses in one hour and in morning and evening may have less. I prefer walking with take photos. View is nice and calm.

      At corner of junction of the side street, there is a small shop and next to is family mart so if you need drink or food in nigh, you can have.

      Yochi-in temple is around 3 kilometers from information center that is located at Y junction (3 bus stops, 15 minutes walking).

      My room is Japanese type with paper door, tatami mat and sleep on floor with blanket. I like the room and be sleep well. There is also heater. There is Yukata, jacket and towels for common bathroom which has hot tub that is as like as jacuzzi.

      There are clean western toilet. In a toilet room there is warm water automatic washing toilet.

      My friend has recommended for dinner and breakfast set that are made from vegetable products. They may differ from our normal food but they are delicious.

      Staffs are nice. They help us in many times.

      You should join in morning pray that is nice. You would be surprised that Japanese language is not barrier (there is some english).

      Anyway, bathroom opens only in evening to 9 p.m. Check-in time is around 5 p.m. dinner is 6 p.m. and morning is 6 p.m. (I am not sure in time) and there is no warm water from sink.

      I think Yochi-in temple is in good location and be good services in reasonable price.

      Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
      2  Thank travel_loving
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews