We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dogashima New Ginsui
Nearby Hotels
Dogashima Onsen Hotel(Nishiizu-cho)
US$254
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ryokan 
Seiryu(Nishiizu-cho)
US$414
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$383
US$145
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ryokan 
Ryokan Takaya(Nishiizu-cho)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Ryokan 
Hotel Tenyu(Nishiizu-cho)
US$293
US$207
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pension Surf Rider(Nishiizu-cho)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$92
Trip.com
View Deal
Accueil Sanshiro(Nishiizu-cho)
US$450
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Gorinkan(Nishiizu-cho)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Ryokan 
Seaside Dogashima(Nishiizu-cho)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Onyado Musashi(Nishiizu-cho)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
77
98
27
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
98
27
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful viewhalf boardbreakfast buffettatami matsdining hallfishtokenreceptionisteventcavestastingbathssunsetpoolsentrancefloorswimming
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

Ok. I've rated 3 stars. This is one of the most difficult reviews I've written in years. I feel bad about the review cozI really want to have loved the place!!! Would I go back? No. The service is superb. The staff are super friendly. No English spoken. Every room has panoramic views of the islands and the sea. The Japanese style room that we had was large and spacious with a mini couch and armchair by the massive window. Also a low cut table and two chairs on the tatami. But it's a huge sprawling place that has dated terribly. Badly in need of a total refurb. It is very comfortable. It's got this strange lost in the 80s feel. The lowest level is an "entertainment" zone!!! Karaoke, table tennis, machines! And it's really sad to behold. They have clearly aimed at the tour bus market. Most days the place becomes noisy and smoky from 4pm onwards. The dining is surreal. There are several dining rooms and function rooms. We ate in one on level 9. Huge place, bright lights and dated piano music on replay. Dinner, in the main was good and plentiful. However, they are catering for huge numbers so there was quite a bit of reheated food!!!! Breakfast is a buffet - it's fine. Nothing special. Again, bulk catering. We were on half board: breakfast and dinner. Wish we weren't.
Both swimming pools were empty in late May despite warm/ hot weather. Not sure if they are ever filled. Gardens areas are not used though al fresco would be ideal. Café was closed?! I have some tattoos on arms and could only use onsen after 7pm each night. Do use the outdoor bath at night. Or day if no tattoos!
The place is soulless. They need help.
But the staff are superb. Friendly, helpful and attentive.
It's overpriced and we are paying for the amazing location.
Dogashima and Matsuzaki are great. Make sure to do 20 minute boat trip of caves at Dogashima. Great slow safe car driving experience all around the coastal area.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Old school luxury, searches show boutique...however it is rather far from that. Service is good. Staff are only Japanese speaking which is fine and they are lovely as Japanese are. Rooms are clean. Evening meal fair. Breakfast a smorgasbord spread. Decor charming in a 1982 manner of speaking. The Onsen is large and chlorined it seems. Go some where else for a real Onsen. No wifi to really speak of. Background music like a dentist's surgery waiting room. Yes, a bit like a super market really.

The issue is the room charges. Well over priced. 3 people, 2 rooms. ¥75,000. Yes, I know per person is the norm but this was an effort to gouge based on a 1982 pricing and economic model. Price of room doesn't match amenities, meals, decor. It matches the location. The owners must be struggling. Maybe somebody should help them. Shame. Nice view along a nice part of the coast.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

They serve wines and orange juices for "sunset service" in the lounge. We are very lucky to see the sunset because the forecast was "cloudy." Unfortunately there is no Wi-Fi in the room. They serve to your room, dinner with a large variety of great foods. Its menu is available in English, Chinese, and other languages. Breakfast buffet on the ninth floor. Its entrance is on the seventh floor. View from the room and several 360 photos of the hotel are provided. Its 10 o'clock checkout time is understandable (they have to prepare rooms to their perfection), but a bit too early.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ryusuke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We drove from Tokyo and at night on winding mountain roads, it was a bit stressful. But once we got to our rooms, and then to the baths, it was very relaxing. Dinner was served in the room and overall good tasting Japanese food but to my wife the desert was disappointing. Sashimi was good, and it was all fish and veges so it was very healthy. The breakfast served on the 9th floor was expansive and good with a nice view. Try to come before it gets dark, I understand that the sunsets are nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room from the 6th floor and up for the view.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn-P-Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

The hotel has a nice view of the coast and the onsen is quite large with both indoor and outdoor baths. Dinner in the room was very good and plentiful. The lady who brought us to the room was very friendly and sweet. The hotel also had a free firefly night tour for guests so that was nice. The hotel is slightly dated though and the corridors smell of cigarette smoke. Wifi is available only in the lobby. At the end of our stay, the hotel actually put a paper crane in our car wishing us safe travels and even cleaned our car for us... service is good! However, prices for the hotel are not cheap but i think in dogashima this would be one of the better accommodations already.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Cherylcxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
株式会社ホテル銀水荘, Reservation staff. at Dogashima New Ginsui, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2016

Dear sir,Thank you for coming to our hotel. And thanks for writing a review.

"HOTARU" is an earnest summer tradition of Japan.
We can see it near our hotel every year, but depending on weather conditions it may not come true.
I'm glad you could take part in a tour for viewing HOTARU.

We will continue to make efforts as a hotel loved by everyone in the DOGASHIMA area.
We hope that you will come and visit us when you travel again in Japan.

From my heart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews