We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
62
46
22
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
46
22
8
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. The ryokan is not a traditional one where the entire inn has 8 rooms or so, this is more of a hotel layout with a large lobby area and rooms in hallways. Our non smoking room had a great ocean view. While the furniture and feel of the hotel does feel a bit dated, that did not seem to matter. The onsen both private and public were very relaxing and nice. The dinner was quite excellent even for a western palate, and consisted primarily of tasty sashimi (had our first spiny lobster sashimi) as well as unusual but tasty side dishes and other seafood preparations that was all new to us. Unlike other ryokan , the dinner here is served in a restaurant format with servers, we did not mind having company around is as we ate even if we couldn't understand any conversation. Our servers name was Kotaro and while his English wasn't fantastic we really appreciated his attempt to explain the menu in English. He also wrote the menu for us in English separately which we really appreciated. His service and attempt to make us feel welcome did not go unnoticed and was a highlight for us. The service in general at the hotel was very good. Also the beach is a 10 second walk from the hotel so if the weather had been better, we would have enjoyed that element of the hotel as well.

Massage chairs downstairs were also enjoyable if you like that kind of thing.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I went to Tokiichiyu with my parents. We stayed 1 night. We didn't want a smooking room but that one was. My father asked if they would have a non smooking room. They informed that hotel was fully booked and there were no more non smoking room. Besides the smell, the room was fine. The dinner was a peace of art. Good taste and beautiful presentation. The breakfast was also nice. There were Japanese style or Western slyle foods. The onsen were fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelover_sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Tokiichiyu ryokan is on a nice beach, excellent building, rooms are nice (~12 tatami), and our room has a great ocean view.

The traditional dinner in a private tatami room was very good and had a great variety of fresh and local seafood. Breakfast buffet is in a modern public dining room; be prepared to eat too much.

Walking on the beach just in front of the ryokan is pleasant and it is a beach not a fishing quay.

The sex separated public ofuros are very nice. There additionally are three private ofuro available without reservation.

The only thing to improve would be the sleeping futon; mine was too thin but I am a gaijin.

Room Tip: As usual an ocean side room is the best.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rasillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokiichiyu, Reservation desk: Chisae Horiba. at Tokiichiyu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2016

Thank you very much for came to our hotel(ryokan).
A contribution of comment, thank you so much. We are glad to have you like it.
Please come again! We looking forward to meet you again, sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2015

stayed in a room with onsen (12.5 tatami+) and pre-ordered a seafood with grilled abalone and lobster (ise-ebi). Spacious public outdoor onsen. Fabulous seafood dinner whereby we were asked to pick one fish per person for sashimi plate. Breakfast buffet was sumptuous as well.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DLi_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokiichiyu, オーナー at Tokiichiyu, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2015

Mr.DLi_hk
Thank you for coming to our hotel(ryokan). Did you enjoy staying, sir ?
A contribution of comment, thank you so much. We are glad to have you like it.
Please come again! We looking forward to meet you again, sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had a wonderful nights stay at this Ryokan which is by the beach in Minamiizu. We stayed in a Japanese style room with futon beds. The room was very spacious and had a balcony. There was a private onsen with the room, as well as a public onsen, and three first come first served private onsen, next to the public onsen. They were all very nice and relaxing. In addition we had dinner in our own private dinning room where we had a ten course Japanese dinner including a huge sashimi boat. All of the food was lovely and everyone left completely full. In the morning we also had a buffet breakfast with a large choice of Japanese dishes as well as pastries and fruit. All in all this was a very enjoyable stay and we would definitely like to come again :)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JamesandLaura4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokiichiyu, オーナー at Tokiichiyu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you very much for coming to our Ryokan,Tokiichiyu.We were very happy
to be able to meet you. Minamiizu(Yumigahama beach) is a very beautiful and
wonderful place.
We are Looking forward to the day,when we can meet you again.See you next
time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews