We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Furano Resort Orika(Nakafurano-cho)
US$853
US$515
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Guesthouse Akane-yado(Nakafurano-cho)(Great Value!)
US$104
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Furano La Terre(Nakafurano-cho)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Log Cottage Himawari(Nakafurano-cho)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
B.J.club Furano(Nakafurano-cho)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Raclette(Nakafurano-cho)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
9
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2015

It is extremely neat and clean. The meals served here are both nurturing and delicate, they are exactly what we need after several days in travel.

It is a lovely wooden house located next to forest and trees and wild flowers and it is slightly elevated from the city, therefore it has a view both in day and in night.

Although guests are expected to bring their own towels and toothbrush, we find it totally worth it.

Room Tip: Remember to arrange pick up with Yamasan
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Faye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015

Host prepared really delicious dinner and breakfast for us, thanks god we were there on time to taste the food. :)
The environment there is nice, quiet and feel close to nature.
Can feel host have heart in everything!!!
recommend this place and pls be nice and polite!!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceFu29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This hotel was a lot impressive than I expected. It was very very new, neat and clean.

The owner, Yamasan, and his wife were very kind and polite. He picked us up at the Naka-Furano train station in the evening when we arrived and he also gave us a ride to Tomita farm in the next morning.

He can speak English very well. So if you can't speak Japanese, no need to be worried.

The bedrooms were on the 2nd floor. The dining room, bathrooms and toilets were on the 1st floor. There were 2 bathrooms, 1 big and 1 small. Both had 2 wash basins, hair dryer, and Japanese Bathtub. You could use them privately by locking the door while using. There were 2 toilets for women, but I did't know about the man side.

The decoration around the pension was so lovely. (Check on my photos.)

Oh, they had curfew time at 11pm, which I loved it.

Dinner was fresh cooked. Everything was so delicious. They gave me ( only for adult, I guessed) a small shot of Haskap berry which Yamasan told me that it was only grown in Hokkaido. (Forgive me If I called it wrong.)
Breakfast was also good. Though I might be too small size for big guy.

Definitely, I will go back there again.
By the way, they will close during winter.

http://www8.plala.or.jp/p-yamasan/englishguidance.htm

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ALittleClock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Staying in Pension Yamasan and touring Furano area ended up being the absolute highlight of our Hokkaido trip. Mr. Yamasan was very quick in responding the email and we made our reservation without any problem.

The place is spotless- absolutely clean. We arrived early at 11:30am and Mr. Yamasan picked us up from the train station and drove us to the lavender farm while he helped transport our luggage back to the pension. He picked us up again at 3pm from the farm and we checked in. Love the decor of this place.

Please enjoy the dinner and breakfast here as well if you have a chance. Delicious! They had two bathrooms so that you won't have any problems sharing the shower. Also the pension is located about 10-15 minutes' walk to another lavender farm. We enjoyed our walk at sunset through the woods.

Two things to bear in mind: you have to bring your own towel and also the beds are twin sized and no queen or king beds. However, we absolutely enjoyed our stay here. Waking up to the sunlight, bird chirping and the panoramic view of this little city...cannot wait to return.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Pension Yamasan is a traditional farm house nicely situated on a hillside off of the main road in Furano. It is only minutes away from several Furano's famous Lavender Farms and offers superb view of the valley.
This special lodging provides home-cooked breakfast and dinner during the entire stay. We had a very tight schedule so did not have a chance to enjoy Yamasan's home-cooked breakfast. We did stay for dinner and it was excellent. It included variety of salad, fish and dessert, served in a common dinning room with a floor-to-ceiling window view of Furano.
The rooms do not have attached bath, instead, a clean and meticulous bathroom is available to share. There are two separate stalls for toilets, so bathroom availability is not a huge issue.
We had two twin beds in our room, the beds were comfortable but I thought it would be great if they offer rooms with double bed in the lodging. It was a nice touch that the owner placed lavender potpourri in our pillows, we felt so relaxed and fell into a deep sleep right away in the quiet and aroma-filled room.
Furano is a lovely romantic little town that you would want to stay at least one night. The town boasts its wine, cheese and lavender farm fields, so staying at Pension Yamasan traditional farm house completes the experience. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay, we enjoyed the personal feel of the lodging, chatting with the owner and understanding life in Hokkaido, it was definitely a highlight in our trip to Japan.
A few practical notes regarding this lodging, if you are traveling from nearby train station, the owner will pick you up and drop you off at the station. They will also work out the price per stay depending on how many meals you want, but I would definitely recommend staying for all of the fabulous meals. We do not speak Japanese, but we were able to communicate with the owner in English with no problem. The owner is also quick in responding emails. Free WIFI is available. July-August are the busiest months in Furano, do plan your lodging months in advance if you are traveling during that time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rcmessier73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews