We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
30
11
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
11
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews recommend this hotel great location hot water eden sleep wifi nicaragua spanish
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Great hotel, very homey, great for relaxation, sleep in late on a lazy Sunday.
Very nice rooms, very quiet, great security, all room have the best electronic locks for
your enhanced safety and privacy. The breakfast was delicious, the eggs are free range, great coffee. Experience Nicaragua as if you were a Nicaraguan. Eden is an excellent host. He runs a great show. I recommend this hotel for a nice getaway.

Room Tip: call the hotel directly to make your reservation for a more personalized service
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank roberto c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

Small, simple hotel that offers basic service, but with care and quality. Quiet, well located in the center of town, staff that speaks English and is very accommodating. They are not there to impress you, just serve you well.

Room Tip: No hype here, but what they do to just let you enjoy yourself is great
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allen12rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by Hotel Los Altos. The room was well appointed, spacious & clean. The staff were friendly, helpful & spoke good english. The breakfast was very good & served in the picturesque courtyard. Very good value, would recommend.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

This little boutique hotel is sweet and charming. It has a lot of future potential to be amazing. This is the first time I have actually stayed in the center of Esteli and Los Altos is a great location, walking distance to everything in the city.

They are charging the upper end of hotel prices for Northern Nicaragua and if a bit more attention to detail is paid it will be worth the price.

There was a lot of kid noise inside the hotel around midnight that made sleep hard, then someone was banging on the reception desk trying to find someone to attend to them. Our room backed up to reception so it was l o u d.

Breakfast was okay.

Bed was super comfy.

We booked our first night through one website and showed up only to find out that the hotel was overbooked. Our second night had been booked separately through another site and that reservation was fine.

All in all, I don't know what was the hotel's responsibility at what was out of their hands (in terms of noise and bookings...)

I've lived in Nicaragua a few years now and have stayed at a couple of amazing places and many okay places. I hope this place continues to improve because it could be absolutely wonderful.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

We were in town for Puro Sabor, Nicaragua's premier cigar festival. Having read previous reviews, we were confident Hotel Los Altos would be a welcoming spot to return to after festival events. The rooms are accommodating and had great amenities. Breakfast which was included was generous, local and good. The best part is the people that work here and the owners, Eden and Grethel, brother and sister, who helped arrange all. Parking is secure about a block away. Showers are warm, beds are comfortable, AC is consistent. Artwork and details in the hotel are well placed. This family and their staff are stand outs in the small town. Make sure to visit the fritanga on the next corner. Tony Bourdain did as well, and gave rave reviews for their chicken. Also add Pullaso Ole for a great steak, as well as La Casita just south of town, for their organic breads, yogurts, teas and coffees, don't miss the gardens. They are also building new structures on their property with ecological resources. Worth a stroll to see the updates and cross the bridge over the riverbed. All in all, a great choice when visiting Esteli.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jennakennedynapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews