We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Los Altos Esteli
Ranked #2 of 20 Esteli B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 October 2016

The staff is nice and friendly. The rooms are big and very clean. I would recommend every who goes to Esteli to stay there. The breakfast in the morning is made just for you on the spot. You can't beat that at all. Also there internet is as fast as in the states.

Room Tip: Get the larger room it has the most space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

At first sight I was extremely happy with this hotel. It looks very modern from the outside and indeed once inside too. My room was spacious and had one of the comfiest beds I have ever slept in.

The facilities are nice - a small courtyard for breakfast but no bar / snacks available otherwise. Breakfast was tasty.

The staff are lovely and extremely attentive. One evening I asked for ice and the lovely man on reception went above and beyond to source it for me. The same man helped me with buses a number of times. I thought the service was impeccable.

That is why it is with some sorrow that I note a significant problem with cockroaches. I should say immediately that I did not raise this with the hotel so they did not have the opportunity to address my concerns. That is a real flaw on my part as the lady (who I think was the owner) went out of her way to ask me every day if everything was alright. It may be the case that the hotel do not even know that there is a cockroach problem.

I stayed for 3 nights. On the second night I went to the bathroom at 11pm. Whilst using the toilet I realised there was a (very large) cockroach on the sink. It was really very large so somewhat spooky but I put this down to a one-off and an unavoidable consequence of being in the tropics. Night 3 I kept the bathroom light on until I went to bed at around 10pm to deter any more visitors. I returned to the bathroom about 15 minutes later and realised the problem was much bigger than thought. There was a great number of cockroaches on and around the sink - they appeared to be coming out of the sink hole (the drain).

I left in somewhat of a dash the next day and my Spanish is poor, so it would've been a difficult conversation. Nonetheless, I regret not raising this with the staff and do think they will take steps to address these concerns promptly. However, such a great number of cockroaches for me meant that this hotel was not worth the rate charged. If it weren't for that, I'd have given 5 stars to Los Altos.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
5  Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016

The hotel is located in the central part of town and is a short walk from most of what Esteli has to offer. It's a quiet boutique hotel and the staff is incredibly sweet! The nicest people, ever. Breakfast is delicious as well and they have the cutest patio to enjoy a coffee and your breakfast. Would definitely stay there again if I find myself back in Esteli.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016

Great location. Clean. Quiet. Very friendly and attentive staff. Good breakfast.
Parking is on the street, right in front f the hote, no problem. ("Secure" parking, 2 blocks away, requires that you leave your keys)

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Buscando_serendipia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

This is a really nice small boutique hotel run by a brother and sister, Eden and Grethel. Two really good hearted people. They were very patient and helpful to me during my stay. Grethel pulled some strings around town and arranged some special tours for me way above and beyond what I would have ever expected. She even toured me around herself. Grethel...thank you so much. You really made my trip special. The facility and rooms were spotless and in great condition. Breakfast was included during my stay and was excellent. Don't miss the delicious pancakes!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esteli
1 km away
Hotel Hex Esteli
Hotel Hex Esteli
#2 of 6 in Esteli
95 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#1 of 6 in Esteli
168 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Don Vito
Hotel Don Vito
#4 of 6 in Esteli
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.4 km away
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
Hotel Cafe Jinotega
#1 of 2 in Jinotega
86 reviews
2 km away
Bed and Breakfast Villa Riviera
19.9 km away
Finca Lindos Ojos
Finca Lindos Ojos
#4 of 20 in Esteli
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Altos Esteli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Altos Esteli

Address: Restaurante Rosti Pollo 3 1/2 cuadras oeste | on Calle Transversal 1/2 block east of Avenida 1 SE, Esteli 31000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Esteli Department > Esteli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Esteli
Price Range: €56 - €453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Altos Esteli 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful small hotel in center of Esteli. Near the cathedral and best restaurants in town. Rooms have air conditioning,large flat screen TV, private bathroom, hot water, free wifi, comfortable beds and fine linens. Built in November 2014. Breakfast is included. Rooms are very quiet. Construction is of the best quality and rooms are very quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Los Altos Esteli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing