We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
23
48
29
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
48
29
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetprivate roomthe ownerinternational hostelfree tea and coffeecomfortable bedsthe bustwo blocksa great staycafedormtourscommunitymiraflornicaraguapostcardsvibe
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

A quiet hostel centrally located. I was in Esteli for a couple of nights to visit Somoto Canyon. The actual city is okay, not super exciting but the hostel was nice.

The dorms and bathroom were clean and there is a little outdoor area to socialize with guests. I don't believe there was a communal kitchen but they're connected with a cafe across the road, which was nice but a little expensive. A bonus is the free coffee for the hostel that you have to run across to the cafe to get. The staff were pleasant enough and it was close to the main streets and sites of Esteli. It was fine to spend a night or two there.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
Thank Grace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015 via mobile

I stayed in Casa Luna for a night after a day trip to Somoto Canyon. Beds were comfortable and the hostal was clean. You also get free coffee at the restaurant across the road. The price seemed a little expensive for a backpackers hostal, it's good all profits go to the community. It also does not have a kitchen and you need to pay for water. Staff were helpful but did not know much in terms of which busses go to which terminal (there are two in Esteli). Make sure you go to the travel agency across the street.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Dylan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2015

I needed a place to stay in esteli for one night after getting off a bus headed to Managua before from Guatemala trying to get to leon. It was too late to take a taxi to leon so I stayed here for one night.

The hostel itself is about average, nice staff, good clean showers.

Seemed to me most guests there were either learning Spanish, interested in organic farming/cigar rolling or things of that nature.

there's a café immediately across from the hostel owned by the same people. I think you get free coffee.

Was only there for a few hours, so can't say much more, but it was a completely decent place to spend a night

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2015 via mobile

comfortable bed, good wifi, free coffee at the cafe across the street, big open dorm crowded with beds. it will smell like a locker room but you will be too tired to care once you get back from hiking to the canyon or one of the nature reserves. they charge 1$ for a towel and 5 c$ to fill up your bottle. the day staff really dont want to be bothered but the big, imposing looking night guard is wonderful. he told me to wait for my bus to miraflor at the pulperia miraflor instead of trying to make it to the bus station because i was running late. he's kind of gruff looking but i think that's point. he was one of the nicest, kindest people i've come across on this trip.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
Thank XelaGringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2015

This hostel is part of a trio: restaurant, hostel and travel agency. The owner is very friendly, as are her kids. two dorms, although due to early morning tours. People get up and leave around 6am, constantly opening doors.
Booked a canyon tour with them, but didn't include taxi/bus there or back - only included pick up. Super odd.

Pros:
- restaurant food is super tasty.
- free coffee at the restaurant
- hot showers, good wifi.

Cons:
- no kitchen
- little hangout area
- have to pay for water

Room Tip: Do not get the dorm bed right next to the door - light will shine on your face in the mornings.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SarahJYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews