We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luna International Hostel
Ranked #14 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Esteli
Reviewed 8 May 2015

This hostel is part of a trio: restaurant, hostel and travel agency. The owner is very friendly, as are her kids. two dorms, although due to early morning tours. People get up and leave around 6am, constantly opening doors.
Booked a canyon tour with them, but didn't include taxi/bus there or back - only included pick up. Super odd.

Pros:
- restaurant food is super tasty.
- free coffee at the restaurant
- hot showers, good wifi.

Cons:
- no kitchen
- little hangout area
- have to pay for water

Room Tip: Do not get the dorm bed right next to the door - light will shine on your face in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SarahJYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2015 via mobile

First of all, it is really clean over here and the people are really friendly and want to help you! But the place needs to improve the beds. There arent that good in the dorm. Besides a bigger common area would be great!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
Thank EwmHendrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015

We stayed in a private room with a private bathroom and it was simply great! So clean! So pretty! Hot showers (yes actually hot!)! We loved it. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The dorms didnt have lockers, thats the only thing they could improve.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015

Beautiful hostel, but with very little hangout spaces (a couple of hammocks around the sun-it courtyard, and some sofas near the entrance but that's it). Dorms do have bathrooms and everything is clean and comfy. Oh, and the staff only speak Spanish but it is a coop :) All in all, a nice hostel!

Room Tip: Don't choose the dorm near the road; you here all the passerby's!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2015 via mobile

This hostel is noisy. I think our room backed onto a local bar playing music well into the night, bring ear plugs. The room was clean if a little damp, decent sized bathroom but no hot water in our room, the twin next to the dorm and the seating area. We didn't ask the staff to fix it so I can't comment on their helpfulness etc. had very little dealing with the staff at the hostel beyond paying them but called to make our reservations and the lady who assisted us was very helpful, even offered us a lift from Leon! Unfortunately there were too many of us to take her up on the kind offer. It was fine for the two nights but I wouldn't want to do much longer. The cafe across the road and the tour company makes this a very conveniently located hostel to set up your Esteli base camp. We met quite a few people here and we all went out for something to eat together so it's quite sociable but the social space is just some chairs in the small courtyard.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
Thank TheTravellingAfrican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Esteli hotels
1.2 km away
Hostel Sonati Esteli
Hostel Sonati Esteli
#3 of 22 in Esteli
84 reviews
1.3 km away
Hosteli
Hosteli
#7 of 22 in Esteli
1 reviews
0 km away
Hostal Iguana
Hostal Iguana
#19 of 22 in Esteli
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Hotel Don Vito
Hotel Don Vito
#4 of 6 in Esteli
53 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Hex Esteli
Hotel Hex Esteli
#2 of 6 in Esteli
99 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Alameda
Hotel Alameda
#5 of 6 in Esteli
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna International Hostel

Address: Del Hotel Meson, 1 Cuadra al Este, Esteli, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Esteli Department > Esteli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Esteli
Price Range: €8 - €28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A central, hassle-free stay in the heart of Esteli with access to everything the region has to offer - and just a step away from our community-tourism office and the popular Cafe Luz restaurant and bar. We donate all our profits and resources to facilitate community-driven projects in rural and urban areas in northern Nicaragua: non-profit social enterprise creating social change. Reception Open 7am to 10pm | Access 24 hours |Wi-Fi | Laundry Service | Cable TV | Night guard on duty 10pm to 8am | English and Spanish spoken | Free organic coffee and tea | Purified water available | Fluffy towels available | Safe for valuables | Seating and hammock area | Attractive patio garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Luna International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing