We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shiga Kogen Prince Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Shibu Hotel(Yamanouchi-machi)
US$318
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shiga Palace Hotel(Yamanouchi-machi)
US$173
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Ryokan Biyunoyado(Yamanouchi-machi)
US$339
US$256
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grand Phenix Okushiga(Yamanouchi-machi)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Koishiya(Yamanouchi-machi)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Aburaya Tosen(Yamanouchi-machi)
US$197
US$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$257/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Wafu no Yado MASUYA(Yamanouchi-machi)
US$259
US$162
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Zen Hostel(Yamanouchi-machi)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Shibu-onsen Kokuya(Yamanouchi-machi)
US$471
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Senshinkan Matsuya(Yamanouchi-machi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
20
97
78
31
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
97
78
31
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdirect accesssnow chainsmeal optionswestern buffethotel propertyan updatefree washinglimited food optionsmain restaurantcomplimentary breakfastsouth buildingblack runsshabu shabuski tripinstant noodlesmassage servicespent a week
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2017

This was the second year we have stayed at Prince West, On arrival the young Gentleman at the desk was very helpful and his English was very good. When we booked we asked for a quiet, non smoking room,we got the quiet, second to last room on the third floor bit of a trek to the lift but we were ok with that. Seems like this was where the cleaners, new sheet, towels trolleys etc were all stacked as we had to move some of the stuff out of the way to get into our room on occasion, when the cleaning staff were there they would move the trolleys etc and were very apologetic. The room stunk of cigarettes and quiet often we would have to open the window to clear the cigarette stink from the room,. We later found out that the fourth floor was the only non smoking floor, the stink gets worse over the weekend. As you walked down the hallway, ashtrays which were overflowing would be left outside rooms. If you ask for a non smoking room, this should be in a non smoking floor as even walking down the hallways was like have a cigarette yourself. The hotel carpet and room decor are all showing their age. Carpets in the rooms were stained and the whole hotel is in need of an update. The Hotel onsen is clean and a nice addition.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank trevorlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Like most hotels in Japan this one is in need of updating to say the least. The price is extortionate considering the tiny rooms and non existent service. All the food is buffet style in the west wing and they won't even enter your room to clean or empty bins unless you've been there four nights.

Don't get your hopes up booking a non-smoking room either as you'll still be surrounded by rooms full of smokers which you'll be able to smell.

Access to the slopes is good and the staff in the rental shop are friendly but you shouldn't really have to compromise on everything else for that.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 822guyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

If you are here just for the skiing, then this is a good place to stay. Easy access to the lifts, good ski rental options, on site storage for your ski gear and equipment and relatively friendly staff.
There are three buildings and while you could walk to each, they are quite a distance away from each other. We stayed at the West building which was closest to Ichinose (15 minute walk away) and also has local bus stops right in front of the building.

Beds and pillows were extremely firm. We are used to a much softer bed and found it difficult to get a good night's sleep here just because of the beds and pillows.

Food options: were very pricey and limited. There's an evening shuttle that takes you to each building and a few times into the outskirts of Ichinose. At the Prince hotel you have the following meal options:
Breakfast - buffet in main dining room (¥2,000 each). After trying this once we ended up buying some fruit and cheese/salami snacks from the store in Ichinose for our remaining breakfasts.
Lunch - both the Chinese restaurant and Ramen noodle house are open for lunch. If you're skiing then you have way more options available at other sites.
Dinner - buffet in the main dining room (over ¥4,000 /person) or you can eat in the Chinese restaurant. We took the shuttle to the East Prince building where you can get some a la carte menu items for around ¥2,000 to ¥3,000. You can also take the shuttle to the 2nd Gondola (beside the South Prince building) where there's a Japanese pub that stays open a little later than the restaurants. We went there our first night and while the prices seemed ok, the actual dishes appeared to be miniature versions of the pictures.
You can also shuttle or walk to Ichinose to try one of the following restaurants:
- Teppa room bar has the liveliest feel and offers meals too (gets busy so reservations are recommended). It is across the street from where the shuttle driver stops in Ichinose.
- Japanese Izikawa restaurant (reservations recommended and the Prince shuttle driver will drop you off in front of this place if you let him know).
- Oden restaurant is up the hill and to the right. The do fried chicken and Oden pots (boiled meals).
- there's a Chinese restaurant right beside the grocery store just up the hill and a little to the left. We didn't try there but heard it was OK.
- Nepalese curry house is up the hill and then turn right. We tried there lunch buffet and it was OK but didn't inspire us to come back for dinner.
And that is pretty much it for meal options.

Nightlife - there really wasn't any. The Teppa room bar was the most liveliest place but if you're interested in more nightlife then either bring a bunch of friends to make your own or don't come to Shiga Kogen.

Baths - there are free baths at the West Prince building open after 3 pm.

Laundry - there are free washing machines in the West Prince (inside the public baths) but no dryers. Soap can be purchased in the gift shop.

Massage - no massage service in the West Prince. I found a flyer in the Hotel Ichinose for someone who does massage but didn't follow up on that. There is reflexology available in West Prince after 3 pm but every time I stopped by there was no one there. I'm guessing you have to call to book a session?

Housekeeping - room cleaning is only once every 4 days. We stayed 6 nights so we're able to pick which day in our stay we wanted Housekeeping done. There was a mini fridge in our room and there are vending machines for drinks and ice cream (did not see any vending machines for snack foods though).

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Ariana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We knew the Prince had received poor previous write-ups so we were not expecting too much. We found the staff absolutely delightful, very warm and polite. We spent four nights at South Wind then five at West Wing.
The hotel smelt, the rooms were tiny and this wouldn't have been such an issue if there were hooks to hang up ski gear etc. There is a washing machine in the onsen (which is a nice onsen) but no dryer so even more reasons to have hooks in the room. The cleaning staff come one day in five (you choose which day) which means you are recycling your coffee cups, towels and, if like us, you sometimes want to eat in the room (buffet brekkie and dinner were nice but very pricy) you are gong to get a very crummy carpet. Only worth a stay if you can get a really good deal and don't mind putting up with lots of noise, zero atmosphere and very limited eating options unless you catch the shuttle to town

Room Tip: Ask for fifth floor non-smoking.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Just returned from there. It is best for ski stay. My friend said it is an upgraded hostel but low-end hotel.
Overall room size is acceptable and just-fit for purpose.
4 single sofa beds. The back support is a full length cabinet. Under each bed, there are two A3 size plastic boxes for storage in addition to room for a medium size baggage all under the bed. Safe is installed under one of the 4 beds.
Just one power socket on one bedside cabinet. There is one spare socket behind the TV and one in the hand basin for saver.
Room amenity and facility are basic and not surprised. NO room cleaning and amenity refill services for stay less than 4 nights.
The public bath / onsen? is open 15:00 to 23:00. No morning bath. Free laundry machines in the bath. Bring your own powder
Don't expect too much for Food and Beverage.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wkwonghk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews