We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option if you want Western Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shiga Kogen Prince Hotel
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We stayed in the Prince West and found it anything but cheap. The restaurants in Ichnose were far more reasonable for lunch and evening meals. Lunch options in any other resort (of which there are many) were far more affordable, accessible and pleasant than the two options we found in the whole of Yakibitiyama (managed by the Prince West, East and South hotels) I will definitely return to Shiga Kogen but will look for a more central accommodation house in Ichinose or similar.

Breakfast was helf in a very large impersonal dorm house style conference room. Warm food was always cold except for the toast that you made yourself. Views were spectacular. Reception staff pleasant although not happy we wanted an extra pillow. Hire equipment was reasonable however expensive, the most expensive of all three ski resorts we visited including Yuzawa and Hakuba.

Room Tip: Book a twin room not double.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kero56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Shiga Kogen Prince Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017

This was the second year we have stayed at Prince West, On arrival the young Gentleman at the desk was very helpful and his English was very good. When we booked we asked for a quiet, non smoking room,we got the quiet, second to last room on the third floor bit of a trek to the lift but we were ok with that. Seems like this was where the cleaners, new sheet, towels trolleys etc were all stacked as we had to move some of the stuff out of the way to get into our room on occasion, when the cleaning staff were there they would move the trolleys etc and were very apologetic. The room stunk of cigarettes and quiet often we would have to open the window to clear the cigarette stink from the room,. We later found out that the fourth floor was the only non smoking floor, the stink gets worse over the weekend. As you walked down the hallway, ashtrays which were overflowing would be left outside rooms. If you ask for a non smoking room, this should be in a non smoking floor as even walking down the hallways was like have a cigarette yourself. The hotel carpet and room decor are all showing their age. Carpets in the rooms were stained and the whole hotel is in need of an update. The Hotel onsen is clean and a nice addition.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank trevorlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Like most hotels in Japan this one is in need of updating to say the least. The price is extortionate considering the tiny rooms and non existent service. All the food is buffet style in the west wing and they won't even enter your room to clean or empty bins unless you've been there four nights.

Don't get your hopes up booking a non-smoking room either as you'll still be surrounded by rooms full of smokers which you'll be able to smell.

Access to the slopes is good and the staff in the rental shop are friendly but you shouldn't really have to compromise on everything else for that.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank 822guyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

If you are here just for the skiing, then this is a good place to stay. Easy access to the lifts, good ski rental options, on site storage for your ski gear and equipment and relatively friendly staff.
There are three buildings and while you could walk to each, they are quite a distance away from each other. We stayed at the West building which was closest to Ichinose (15 minute walk away) and also has local bus stops right in front of the building.

Beds and pillows were extremely firm. We are used to a much softer bed and found it difficult to get a good night's sleep here just because of the beds and pillows.

Food options: were very pricey and limited. There's an evening shuttle that takes you to each building and a few times into the outskirts of Ichinose. At the Prince hotel you have the following meal options:
Breakfast - buffet in main dining room (¥2,000 each). After trying this once we ended up buying some fruit and cheese/salami snacks from the store in Ichinose for our remaining breakfasts.
Lunch - both the Chinese restaurant and Ramen noodle house are open for lunch. If you're skiing then you have way more options available at other sites.
Dinner - buffet in the main dining room (over ¥4,000 /person) or you can eat in the Chinese restaurant. We took the shuttle to the East Prince building where you can get some a la carte menu items for around ¥2,000 to ¥3,000. You can also take the shuttle to the 2nd Gondola (beside the South Prince building) where there's a Japanese pub that stays open a little later than the restaurants. We went there our first night and while the prices seemed ok, the actual dishes appeared to be miniature versions of the pictures.
You can also shuttle or walk to Ichinose to try one of the following restaurants:
- Teppa room bar has the liveliest feel and offers meals too (gets busy so reservations are recommended). It is across the street from where the shuttle driver stops in Ichinose.
- Japanese Izikawa restaurant (reservations recommended and the Prince shuttle driver will drop you off in front of this place if you let him know).
- Oden restaurant is up the hill and to the right. The do fried chicken and Oden pots (boiled meals).
- there's a Chinese restaurant right beside the grocery store just up the hill and a little to the left. We didn't try there but heard it was OK.
- Nepalese curry house is up the hill and then turn right. We tried there lunch buffet and it was OK but didn't inspire us to come back for dinner.
And that is pretty much it for meal options.

Nightlife - there really wasn't any. The Teppa room bar was the most liveliest place but if you're interested in more nightlife then either bring a bunch of friends to make your own or don't come to Shiga Kogen.

Baths - there are free baths at the West Prince building open after 3 pm.

Laundry - there are free washing machines in the West Prince (inside the public baths) but no dryers. Soap can be purchased in the gift shop.

Massage - no massage service in the West Prince. I found a flyer in the Hotel Ichinose for someone who does massage but didn't follow up on that. There is reflexology available in West Prince after 3 pm but every time I stopped by there was no one there. I'm guessing you have to call to book a session?

Housekeeping - room cleaning is only once every 4 days. We stayed 6 nights so we're able to pick which day in our stay we wanted Housekeeping done. There was a mini fridge in our room and there are vending machines for drinks and ice cream (did not see any vending machines for snack foods though).

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Ariana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We knew the Prince had received poor previous write-ups so we were not expecting too much. We found the staff absolutely delightful, very warm and polite. We spent four nights at South Wind then five at West Wing.
The hotel smelt, the rooms were tiny and this wouldn't have been such an issue if there were hooks to hang up ski gear etc. There is a washing machine in the onsen (which is a nice onsen) but no dryer so even more reasons to have hooks in the room. The cleaning staff come one day in five (you choose which day) which means you are recycling your coffee cups, towels and, if like us, you sometimes want to eat in the room (buffet brekkie and dinner were nice but very pricy) you are gong to get a very crummy carpet. Only worth a stay if you can get a really good deal and don't mind putting up with lots of noise, zero atmosphere and very limited eating options unless you catch the shuttle to town

Room Tip: Ask for fifth floor non-smoking.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yamanouchi-machi hotels
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shiga Palace Hotel
Shiga Palace Hotel
#9 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
89 reviews
Hotel Grand Phenix Okushiga
#11 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
130 reviews
Diamond Shiga
#83 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Okushiga Kogen Hotel
#6 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
171 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shiga Kanko Hotel
Shiga Kanko Hotel
#36 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
16 reviews
Hotel Japan Shiga
#54 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiga Kogen Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiga Kogen Prince Hotel

Address: Yakebitaiyama, Shiga Kogen, Yamanouchi-machi, Shimotakai-gun 381-0497, Nagano Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Shimotakai-gun > Yamanouchi-machi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Yamanouchi-machi
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Yamanouchi-machi
Price Range: €80 - €209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shiga Kogen Prince Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 690
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taken as a whole, the Shiga Kogen region is quite possibly the largest ski and snowboard resort area in the world. The area is located to the northeast of Nagano City, about 40 minutes out. The Shiga Kogen Prince Hotel is located at the base of the excellent Yakebitaiyama resort and has a variety of different plans and packages for skiers of all levels. The most popular is the "All-in-1 Pack," which includes breakfast and a one-day lift ticket. The resort hotel has a total of 690 comfortable rooms in three separate wings (100 in the East Wing, 240 in the South Wing and 350 in the West Wing). All provide easy access to the lifts and slopes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shiga Kogen Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Chubu
Yamanouchi-Machi Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel Yamanouchi Machi
Shiga Kogen Prince Hotel Japan/Yamanouchi-Machi, Nagano Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing