We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kanha National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shergarh Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We wholeheartedly agree with the other great reviews of this place. Shergarh combines top class service with a warmth of hopitality that one normally only finds when staying with good friends or family; the home cooked Indian meals here were a delight. The very knowledgeable and enthusiastic naturalists were interested in showing us all the wildlife of Kanha and not
just the tigers. Whilst at Shergarh we had a great tiger sighting as well as seeing leopard, Indian bison, four species of deer and common langur monkeys. We were also able to indulge our passion for bird watching and saw 110 species during our 4 day stay, that total being largely due to the incredibly sharp eyes and extensive knowledge of our naturalist Raj. Some
photo's from our trip to India can be found here:
http://www.pbase.com/waldr_p/india_2011

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cilla101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
64
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sag Harbor, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Shergarh tented camp- adjacent to Kanha national park's Mukki entrance, provides an outstanding base for exploration and adventure. The rooms are permanent tents with en suite facilities. Overall, they are extremely comfortable, but do watch out for the occasional insect. A typical day begins with breakfast in the main tent, after which you may choose your day's activities. This is somewhat informal, and (as long as it is reasonable) you can customize your plans so as to suit you personal interests. Some of the more unusual things we did were an afternoon drive to an area outside of the park where we observed Nilgai (a large antelope) and strolling to the summit of a nearby hill. We had five nights at shergarh, which permitted for these kinds of things. If you only have a couple days stick to the park game drives, in which you may see a wide range of animals including Tigers (we saw three), Langur monkeys, Barasingha, chital deer, Sambar, boars, and much more (birldlife is spectacular). When a tiger is spotted, you will be taken to a nearby road where mahouts (elephant drivers) have brought their animals. This is somewhat chaotic and you are not guarenteed an elephant, but it is still worth the trouble.

Watch out for: Crowds (not as bad as other parks), Insects, and long car rides

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
359 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Shergarh, the owners, the naturalists, the staff and everything else was an absolute delight. Katie and Jehan were brilliant hosts and Raj our naturalist could hear a Scarlet Minivet from 300 metres (and he has a keen eye for spotting too) His expertise really made our trip special.
My husband was ill on the day we arrived and Katie looked after him, with rehydration salts, special food and general TLC (I however, left him to it and went on safari with Raj!)
The tents were gorgeous and the beds were really comfy. Being woken up at 5.30am doesn't seem so bad when it's with a pot of tea and a tin of biscuits.
The food was lovely, lots of variation and choice and I loved the friends and family feel of all sitting around one big table for lunch and dinner.
Katie even made us a special cake for our wedding anniversary and left us a beautiful gift in out tent.
I can not think of a single negative thing to write about Shergargh (other than I got thrashed at Carrom board by both my husband and Raj), it really was perfect. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Cant agree more with the other positive reviews for this place. Stayed four nights, every moment at Shergarh was a pleasure. Katie & Jehan are great hosts and know their onions when it comes to running a safari camp. The place has just six tents, which gives it an intimate feel. The tents were very comfortable, even luxurious. And the food, what can I say! Loved every single meal, every singe item that was brought to the table. And great ambience, indoors and outdoors. But of course, we were there for the safaris. Again, Katie & Jehan have a superbly organised well oiled operation going. Four to a jeep with knowledgeable guides who delight in showing the jungle to guests. Generous packed breakfasts, hot water bottles & blankets to keep us warm and well fed on the morning safaris.

All in all, 100% value for money and a memorable stay. I recommend this place to all my friends.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albatross_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I can only agree with everyone else whom have posted such excellent reviews about Shergarh. Katie and Jehan really do look after you. We were given a very welcome roast chicken dinner when my stomach was playing up, and Katie very kindly prepared me bottles of rehydration salts.

All the lovely little touches; tea sent to our room at 5:15am, hot water bottles and blankets, in preparation for the 5:45am leave for the morning drive, were truly appreciated.

Raj, our Nepalese guide, was terrific.

I could go on and on but I shall merely reiterate that it is a very special place indeed.

Room Tip: Tell everyone about it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrHooFangDung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanha National Park hotels
18.1 km away
Chitvan Jungle Lodge
Chitvan Jungle Lodge
#1 of 18 in Kanha National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.0 km away
Tuli Tiger Resort
Tuli Tiger Resort
#4 of 18 in Kanha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.0 km away
Kanha Jungle Lodge
Kanha Jungle Lodge
#2 of 18 in Kanha National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Pug Mark Resort
Pug Mark Resort
#3 of 18 in Kanha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
11.2 km away
Soulacia Hotel & Resort
Soulacia Hotel & Resort
#7 of 18 in Kanha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
15.2 km away
Banjaar Tola
Banjaar Tola
#3 of 42 in Kanha National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shergarh Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shergarh Tented Camp

Property: Shergarh Tented Camp
Address: Village Bahmni | Post Kareli, Tehsil Baihar, District Balaghat, Kanha National Park 481111, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Kanha National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Kanha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing