We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What more could you ask for?”
Bespoke four poster bed made from beaver gnawed wood
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bespoke four poster bed made from beaver gnawed wood
A view through the window. The Hideaway sits on the Cateran Trail
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Bespoke four poster bed made from beaver gnawed wood
A view through the window.
The Hideaway sits on the Cateran Trail
Woodland setting
Evening
Composting loo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Alyth, Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Rural-tra...
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“What more could you ask for?”
Reviewed 6 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The Hideaway is in a stunning situation overlooking beaver dams and is a fantastic glamping experience. There is a wood burning stove to keep you cozy, a very comfortable bed with beautiful bedding, seating, table and chairs plus high stools so that you can look out through the hide windows while drinking your tea! We were incredibly lucky to see a number of beavers as well as an otter fishing as dusk fell and a heard Tawny Owl calling. Through the day we saw red squirrel, a huge flock of brambling, GS woodpecker drumming and woodcock among others. It was a really amazing experience! The hosts, Paul and Louise, were so thoughtful, lighting the stove for us before we arrived and ensuring there was a plentiful supply of logs. Paul runs nature walks in the evenings on request and is happy to share his vast knowledge with you. Thank you also to Aileen in the office for arranging it for us and for the little extra touches that we really appreciated.

Bamff has lots of walking trails (including the Cateran long distance route that runs past the Hideaway) and cycling opportunities. We had such stunning weather during our stay that we drove to Glenshee (40 mins) to ski and experienced beautiful conditions. Alyth, the nearest village is a 10 min drive away and has a co-op and takeaways.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2018
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Hideaway and for your great review. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
783sophie
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way - I could live here!”
Reviewed 2 December 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This was our second visit to The Hideaway and we loved it once more. It's the ideal way to get away from it all. The hut is snug and cosy, the new woodburner and insulation were welcome additions. Facilities are basic: two gas rings for cooking, a bowl of boiled water for washing. We brought our bikes this year and enjoyed cycling the local minor roads where there is little traffic. We visited Blairgowrie for a lovely walk up the hill and back via the river. The town had plenty of cafes and pubs for a well earned sit down.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2017
Thank you for coming back to the Hideaway and for your excellent review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broonee
2 reviews
“Fabulous Hideaway”
Reviewed 28 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This place is fantastic. Superbly equipped. Beautiful location. On top of that saw Beavers in the wild (must add at 5am). Will definitely be back in the spring/summer. Amazing. Aileen was great. Very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2017
Thank you for your review, so glad to hear you saw the beavers. We look forward to seeing you again in the spring.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pammyjmil...
Alva, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Absolutely love it in the hideaway. This was our second visit and we will be back again. I saw a beaver this time right out front of the hideaway and a red squirrel too. All the little extra additions are lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2017
Thank you, I'm glad to hear you like all the new additions. We are planning an off-grid shower in the spring so we hope you can come back and test it out for us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
783sophie
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oh, so cool!”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in October 2016

We spent 3 nights here in Oct 2016. It was fabulous. We are experienced tent campers so are well used to the great outdoors. This was a little piece of luxury for the darker and chillier late autumn. Absolutely beautiful surroundings, we walked from the Hideaway up onto nearby Alyth Hill. Facilities are basic but well thought out. I'd recommend bringing your own lighting (some is provided but more makes life easier). Extremely quiet location; the clear night skies were magical. We saw the beavers one evening which was very special.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Thank you for staying in the Hideaway and for leaving such a great review. I hope you can come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing