We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Forestlodge SUBARU
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
US$291
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Kawayu Kanko Hotel(Teshikaga-cho)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$119
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Hotel Parkway(Teshikaga-cho)
US$99
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Masyu(Teshikaga-cho)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
US$278
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Kussharokoso(Teshikaga-cho)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Ryokan 
Kinkiyu Hotel(Teshikaga-cho)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Pension Birao(Teshikaga-cho)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
27
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake mashuhostaccommodationwinterhokkaidohousejapanenglishdinner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 3 nights here and had the most amazing time ever. Everything about the pension is top class, right from Kage-san and his wife's hospitality, the 5 star food for dinner and breakfast, the excellent hiking tips from Kage-san, the cozy rooms, the relaxing hot-spring bath and most of all, the after-dinner petting session with Mashu, their adorable Golden Retriever .

We are both vegan and with prior arrangement, we were wonderfully looked after with 8 or 9 course degustation menus each night and very filling breakfasts too.

The lodge is also perfectly situated close to Teshikaga town and to all key attractions and hiking spots. If you wake up early, you got to step out and check out all the squirrels and birds just outside the front door.
Never a dull moment! Thanks Kage-san for looking after us so well.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank SunSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

The food is just fabulous, plentiful and so well presented. The ambience is wonderful- with indoor and outdoor Onsens, a friendly golden retriever, western beds and a wonderful atmosphere all located in a picturesque part of Hokkaido.

Room Tip: Only 5 rooms- all great
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank trish30_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Six of us spent 2 nights at the Forest Lodge Subaru on 20-21 July. Without doubt it was the best accommodation in our two weeks Hokkaido holiday. It was a lovely home where we gathered in the living room, played with the dog, and enjoyed the lovely music. The onsen was superb. The dinners and breakfasts were wonderfully delicious and well presented. The hosts were most gracious. We felt so at home and wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minachan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights only, and we wished could stay here longer. The lodge is located in a secluded area, very quiet. Access to Mashu Lake, Akan National Park, and other attractions are not far away by car. The lodge features outdoor onsen, and this was definitely a relaxing experience after a long day of hiking.

The lodge is kept very clean, and the food was delicious. Service is beyond expectation.

We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tissu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Just hate to leave this place! We only managed to book for 1 nite stay! The house & hosts are simply lovely, so were all the meals! & washo the golden retriever!!! The kids still misses him!
We start from Kushiro & slowly make our way up to Shiretoko, a really nice break in between. We did the canoeing & horse back riding, only wish we had planned more time here!
Highly recommended if you are touring East Hokkaido!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miaw G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews