We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
60
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews atlantic drive utility room central heating an excellent base self catering washing machine singing pub walking distance stayed here for a week great food seamus type house carrigart accommodation beaches weather
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

I stayed here with my family and small dog. The house was large, modern, immaculate and with everything you could need for a self-catering stay.

We struck lucky with the hottest week of the year, but honestly enjoyed the cool flooring and nice breezes around the house.

The view from our house was breathtaking. And would be so, whatever time of the year. We found it easier to drive down to the main street, as it was too hot to walk uphill on the way back.

Communication was good with Seamus and nothing was a problem.

I can't recommend this type c house enough and I am looking forward to visiting again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank mom11Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Séamus M, General Manager at Downings Coastguard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Dear Guest, thanks very much for taking the time to review us. We're delighted that you found your Type C cottage spacious, modern, and clean. Didn't you believe me when I said that the weather's always like that in Donegal?! Yes, you were very lucky with the weather, and we're glad that you found the house comfortable in those temperatures. It's great that you enjoyed the view, and found our location convenient for the 3 minute drive down to the village. Hope we can welcome you all back again soon. - Séamus and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

I stayed here for 2 nights to attend a wedding. The cottages were immaculately clean and very modern and came fully equipped with microwave, cooker etc. There are views of the beach and mountains from the house and they are located only a short distance from Downings village.

I actually left some personal items in the house my accident, and the owner posted them back to me free of charge and without any hassle.

I couldn't recommend here enough!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryGargan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Séamus M, General Manager at Downings Coastguard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Dear Terry, it was a pleasure hosting you and the other wedding guests during your recent stay. We're very lucky to have a dedicated team of cleaners, so I will be sure to pass on your feedback on the cleanliness to them. We have recently redecorated all of our cottages, so I'm glad that you found them modern in terms of appearance, and in terms of facilities / the fully stocked kitchen. We're glad that you found our location convenient to Downings village and that you enjoyed the views. Hope we can welcome you back some time soon. Regards, Séamus and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Stayed here at the end of the summer with a few teens and a friend. Absolutely fantastic place. We stayed in an apartment in one of the 'round towers' and it was perfect. We had everything we needed and more. Kitchen was so well equipped and utility room was a total bonus. Bedrooms and bathrooms (main and one en suite) were spacious and comfortable. Living area tasteful and so much space. Great facilities, absolutely spotless. The location is perfect too. A few mins drive to the beach - and a few minutes the other way to The Signing Pub for great food and craic.
Would definitely recommend - great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LEmerson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Séamus M, General Manager at Downings Coastguard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay in our Type E apartment.

We're delighted that you found the whole apartment so spacious and well equipped. We will pass on your feedback about the place being spotless to our cleaners. We're glad that you found our location served you well for trips to the beach and to the Singing Pub.

Thanks again and we hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Séamus and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Myself and my Wife
Son / Daughter in law
And 4 Grandchildren ranging in age 15 to 7
This year spent another fortnight at Coastguard Cottages we have been returning to C / C for the past 6 years
The accomodation is excellent all mod cons available including WI FI
The wild Atlantic Way is breathtaking the scenery is fabulous but most of all the the welcome and attention is greatly appreciated
Best wishes to all the Team

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank James Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Séamus M, General Manager at Downings Coastguard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the cottages, and for your loyal custom over the years.

We're glad that you enjoy the comforts and modernity of the cottages, including the Wifi, and the rugged beauty of the local parts of the Wild Atlantic Way.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Séamus and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

What a lovely place to be when you want to smell and see the sea
amazing cottages that are located a few meters to the sea; best view to the sea.
The manager is very professional
Would recommend to everyone traveling in the area

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davkgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Séamus M, General Manager at Downings Coastguard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the cottages.

We certainly agree that the cottages are a good base if you want to get some sea air, and explore the coastline along the long-established Atlantic Drive in Downings, and the Northern Headlands section of Ireland's Wild Atlantic Way.

We're certainly very lucky with our proximity to the sea. Our elevated site means that most of the cottages enjoy nice sea views. As the crow flies, we're just a couple of hundred metres to the water, and by road, just over a kilometre (less than a mile) to Downings village where Trabeg Beach (Downings Beach), the nearest safe Blue Flag beach can be accessed from.

Thanks again for taking the time to review us.

Regards,

Séamus and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews