We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing sand.

This long beach of super fine sand is a unique paradise in a world of rock, cliffs and fjords... read more

Reviewed 2 October 2018
Gene1963
,
Powerview - Pine Falls, Canada
Best kept secret

This is one of those places that I am really hesitant to write a review about. I could try to be... read more

Reviewed 18 September 2018
sxmtravel
,
thunder bay
via mobile
Read all 69 reviews
  
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
45
19
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
19
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shallow bay fine sand beautiful spot sand dollars dream come true swim in the ocean an amazing view early june bring your own soft sand salt water gros morne national park sunset campground dunes tide newfoundland
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Been here a few times,the most recent just a few days ago.We noticed a lot of seaweed on the beach this time but Im sure the next really high water will take care of it.The beach is really wide when the tide is out.Part of the beach runs adjacent to Shallow Bay Parks Canada site

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank robertgQ1284VQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Great beach for a romantic walk. It is a gentle slope into the ocean, a hidden jewel where children can play in the water safely.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Annette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Shallow Bay beach is located at Cow Head just off the Viking Trail, Rout 430 in Gros Morne National Park. My wife and I had completed a cross country road trip in June and I stopped here in September on a return trip to Newfoundland to see things I missed. I was impressed with the facilities which seem to offer play areas for the kid’s and good opportunities to walk and see the beautiful scenery. This site will be appreciated by those interested in beaches, scenic views and photography. It may be less interesting to those who do not enjoy walking

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

It was hot the day we were here & the bugs were bad, lots of sand fleas & mosquitoes ( first encounter with the pesky insects ). The beach isn't very wide but it is long, good for a walk to stretch the legs.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank SylRickTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We were taken to this beach by our tour group. The beach is very scenic with a nice overlook for viewing the ocean. It is not the type of beach you would go swimming in, as it is very rocky. It is the type of beach you just hang out at, enjoy, or have a picnic. There is a lot of debris on the shore such as seaweed, driftwood, rocks, etc. There is a sandbar that you could easily walk out to. The water was chilly during our visit.

If this review was helpful, please click the THANK YOU button on your computer or the HELPFUL button on your phone. I'd appreciate it :-D

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Cynderella43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews