We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude waitress and long delay”

Hayes Bar & Kitchen, Glandore
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Glandore
Description: We are closed until 7th December 2018 for annual holiday It seems that to achieve this nugget of information its not as simple of just changing times on your site and it seems trip adviser has a hal which is like hal in2001 a space odessey
Restaurant details
Description: We are closed until 7th December 2018 for annual holiday It seems that to achieve this nugget of information its not as simple of just changing times on your site and it seems trip adviser has a hal which is like hal in2001 a space odessey
Reviewed 29 August 2021

We (3 adults/4 children) dined at this seafood restaurant on Monday 23rd August. A number of t got the distinct impression on the phone and on the night that children were not really welcome even though 3 of the 4 ordered full price adult mains. There was no provision/mention of children on the menu and it was unclear if they could have a child's portion of the adult mains.
A number of the main courses listed were not available at 7.45 and we found the main waitress impatient and stressed.
We waited an hour and a quarter to be served our food and were just about to enquire when it arrived at 9pm. I complained about the delay and the waitress stood back with the plates and asked "well do you want it or not?" and proceeded to give us a lecture on how all the food was prepared freshly and about how busy they were. We were shocked at her outright rudeness. We had no choice but to accept the food as it was 9pm and we had 4 hungry children. My daughter's pasta with prawns was cold and we counted only 4 prawns. The other 3 children had pasta carbonara which also arrived cold. My husband and I had fish pie which at € 19 was overpriced and VERY ordinary. The bill came to €150 which included 3 glasses of wine. Overpriced, and terrible service. I would never dine there again. Go to the restaurant next door, it's much nicer.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Gomayogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2021

The food is very tasty and there is great variety on the menu. Top of the bill is the superb Glandore fish stew. Setting is magnificent, overlooking scenic Glandore. Very kind and friendly staff. Even supplied Blarney Woolen Mills rugs when it got misty in the evening. Thanks.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

Very busy but found a spot for me as I was on my own. Lovely staff!
Had the curry special, was perfect! Loads of flavour and just the right amount of spice

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Chuckles884
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2021 via mobile

Recently visited Hayes Bar and highly recommend it.Lovely setting overlooking the Glandore harbour.
The food is amazing,highly recommend the seafood pasta,the service was excellent,the staff are so attentive,friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Anyone travelling through Glandore definitely try Hayes Bar,you won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 367edelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 July 2021

We visited this restaurant today and from the get go were very impressed. We had no reservation but were quickly seated at a fab table overlooking the community garden and bay. There was sanatiser on every table. The service was excellent and extremely efficient. The toilets were spotlessly clean and had an individual hand towel for each client Well done to all in Hayes

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank Ariii
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Hayes Bar & Kitchen, Glandore also viewed

Glandore, County Cork
Union Hall, County Cork
 
Skibbereen, County Cork
Castletownshend, County Cork
 

Been to Hayes Bar & Kitchen, Glandore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.