We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
21
59
32
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
59
32
9
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Super friendly and helpful staff but the pitches are very small and the campsite was totally packed this August. Entertainment noise levels at night were too loud and we couldn't stay there, it kept the children awake. The pool is lovely and the shop fabulous but it wasn't enough for us to stay there.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

This camping is very friendly with wide slots for tents and nice clean toilets and showers. It's not that close to the beach but they have a shuttle throughout the day. There's a bazar, a grocery, a bar an a restaurant. The food in the restaurant is good and medium expensive. The grocery is small but has all kinds of bread and ham and cheese with very good prices and taste of course, and other things for the daily needs. The bar is also good with night entertainment for children and grownups.The beer is to expensive, although local beer is very good and cheap. They serve all kinds of coffee recipes.
Just 2 problems. You pay for the internet, which is a big pity and for hot water. Electricity is free.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank IvoDias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

the camping site is adequate; the staff was cooperative albeit not always helpful; punkies are really annoying; the winding path to the beach drags on nearly 2 miles - too far for the daily walk with beach equipment; never use your own (valuable) bike! since the bicycle parking spaces are systematically harvested by organized criminal gangs (easily to observe); camping site staffs knows that, carabinieri knows that, but nobody had warned us before our bikes and bike parts had been stolen; the 4 mile Viale dei Tigli from Viareggio is heavily marketed by prostitutes; on the "naturally" beach parts you'll find a lot of dirt, the proprietary parts are parcelled and industrial rent with sunbeds; the beach is on weekends strongly frequented by residential bathers and there is a lot of "see and be seen" which results partly in almost obscene self-presentations of girls you're not sure if they are professional prostitutes; there is a lot of beach economy (icemans, hawkers) undertaken by presumably informal and poor workers of african provenience. If you like to support this kinds of formal, informal and illegal touristic economy, you may feel comfortable in Viareggio/Torre del Lago.

Room Tip: pinkies and loud streets and animations in the whole area
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

Facilities are adequate (albeit a little dated) and pitches average size (for Italy). You have to pay for, and use, tokens for showers and the pool - but this is not an excessive cost. The site is well used in the Summer and the atmosphere is pleasant. Staff are very helpful and speak excellent English. Excellent location but my advice would be to use a cycle because the area is flat, nice to cycle around and all the intersting places (beach, Puccini home) are great for a bike but may be a bit long for walking. Beware and well prepared for the insects; monsters in the evening.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Tommy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

We rented a bungalow for 2 weeks which was tidy and provided just enough room to stay in. Luckily we didn't have to spend much time in it because it was very warm. The fridge had a freezing compartment with no door, meaning that after 4 days it was full of ice, preventing the fridge from closing properly. Instead of providing a fridge with a proper freezer there was a sign that we should not use pointed objects to remove the ice from the freezer. The beds were too small for me (I'm 1.85m) but we slept alright because the rooms can be completely darkened. There were some vicious mosquitoes but nothing serious. The Wi-Fi was the worst I've ever seen. Not only do you only get 20 hours per week for free, the Wi-Fi was so slow that it took an hour to download a newspaper on an iPad. I admit I'm an above-average internet user, but this was unworkable and frustrating.

The reception staff was very friendly and were always willing to help. When the door of our fridge didn't open and close properly (different problem) they fixed it the next day. They provided us with maps of Lucca and Livorno and even arranged a dentist appointment in the village.

The pool was good and Massimo is a great pool attendant, very good with kids. On hot days it gets really crowded but that was to be expected. The entrance system seemed to break down at least once a day. The bus to the beach was old but comfortable.

The menu of the restaurant was mostly pizza and seafood. The pizzas were very good and the waitress very friendly. The local shop on the campsite has fresh bread in the morning and a good assortment of foods. Nice cheeses as well. The bar serves cocktails but has no list of them. The Creme de Caffé was delicious and 3 euros for 0,66L of Moretti was very decent.

The animation team seemed semi-professional but it was all Italian. My daughter (5) loved the 'baby dance', 30 minutes of dancing to Italian tunes with 2 energetic girls (Dahlia & Sarah). Too bad that the guy presenting loves to hear himself talk. He talked right through all the songs which was very annoying (especially if you don't understand what he's saying). Strange that a baby dance starts at 21:30. From 22:00 the animation starts for children/adults (which is the reason that at the baby dance you can't get a seat because all seats are reserved for the rest of the evening). Animation can be heard across the entire campsite, but it stops at 0:00. After that you can get a good night's sleep.

All in all we found that this camping was mostly tailored towards Italian campers. Did we have a great holiday? Definitely! We have fond memories of this holiday but I'm pretty sure we will not return to this camping (also because the sea-side of Tuscany is nowhere near as beautiful as the inland).

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank roelvdberge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews