We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and breakfast ”
Review of Hellaby Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hellaby
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

At check in we had to be moved as the lock on the door would not work. Eventually our room was nice and very clean. We. I sited the spa and the gents changing rooms were in a very poor state. I would estimate well over 3/4 of lockers had private locks or no locks at all in them. Sauna and steam rooms were excellent. We went out for the evening and came back to the supposedly 24 hour bar to find it locked at 0015hrs. Eventually the staff opened it and we were met by a young man who clearly wasn't happy. He would only take drink orders of 1 drink at a time before he would take drink 2. I.e. 4 gin and tonics. One at a time !! Another group arrived and the barman was out of his depth not long after the bar was closed. When we questioned this we were told it wa at staff discretion. There was no trouble and I thought this was strange seeing as it's advertised as a 24 hour bar. Breakfast was nice buffet style. Staff on reception Sunday morning seemed a little miserable. Stayed in the nearby 2 star ibis a couple of times and find it a nicer environment and happier staff. I will stay there next time.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ezra1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellabyhall, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

we are looking in 2018 to have more refurbishment of the leisure centre areas with our spa being moved and works being done in the changing rooms.

Our bar is a resident’s bar with a 24 hour licence to our residents, but i hope you can appreciate that a bar would not be manned 24 hours a day, this it is why it is locked and opened at our discretion to the welfare of the guest, i have spoken to the gentleman in question over the way we dispense drinks.

i am sorry you feel the ibis is a better hotel than us, and i hope one day you may give us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

The food was absolutely awful, the roast potatoes were not roasted , they were very white and too hard, the Yorkshire pudding I’m sure were frozen, hard and too crispy, just 2 hard sprouts on the plate and bit of other hard veg, THEN the dessert was hard and I’m sure old choc brownie and ice cream, the brownie served cold !!!!!! (Never fresh) I would not recommend or ever go back

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Angie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellabyhall, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you for reviewing your experience with us from your Christmas party.

I am sorry that you felt it was awful, we try and please all our guest who visit the hotel in whatever capacity, it does seem on this occasion we have not with yourself, i was unaware of any negative feedback from the night, as i was in the building myself or one of my team would have spoken to you personally to rectify any issue you may have had with your meal, for us to comment after is disappointing as we do not like our guest leaving dissatisfied.

The food we serve at our functions is fresh not old, and we believe is good quality, and the feedback we have received from our 2 party nights over the weekend backs that up.

I am sorry that you were satisfied and we at the hotel are sorry that you will not be revisiting us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

Fantastic recently refurbished hotel. My wife and I stayed for two nights in late November 2017. Staff were very friendly - food great - pool was excellent although jacuzzi wasn't a jacuzzi apparently - it was a "spa pool" which meant it was cool - not the usual 38 degree jacuzzi that we're all used to. First time I've gone from the jacuzzi to the pol to heat up!! But the pool was lovely and warm and the whole area was very clean. There's nowhere to go for a walk if that's your thing - but that's not really to do with the hotel - there was 100 guests the nights we stayed. - but you would never have known. Would definitely sty there again. Very acceptable. I & J Inverness-shire

Room Tip: Room was on the ground floor and lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mrs J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellabyhall, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you for your kind review from your stay with us.

I have passed on your comments to the team, it is unfortunate that people think we have a Jacuzzi, it can be misconstrued about this, but we advise as many people as we can that its not a Jacuzzi and is a spa pool.

I am glad that you had a lovely stay with us, and we look forward to you returning next time in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Arrived around 3.30pm check in fine.We asked for a taxi to take us to party and taxi for a return.Waited for taxi which was booked for 11.30pm freezing cold taxi did not arrive company hotel used said it had not been booked.We had to ask someone to call another one as we didn't know any taxi firms or have any numbers.Told reception they said probably taxi firm forgot or were busy not the reply I wanted.Room was lovely i looked for hairdryer which was missing rang down,young lady said they would send one up never arrived.paid £10 each for breakfast very disappointed the food was cold were told fried eggs were coming got fed up waiting we had ate our cold breakfast eggs still not there not worth £10.Overall hotel is lovely just the above disappointing.

Room Tip: Not sure we had ground floor very quiet
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellabyhall, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you for talking the time to review your stay with us.

The taxi company we use are a third party client, and we always book all aspects of our guests needs when booking return taxis. i have spoken to the taxi firm and they confirmed it was a error, so on there behalf i am sorry that you had to wait for another taxi to arrive.

I have spoken to the food and beverage manager who has taken your breakfast comments on board and will discuss this with the team, i am sorry that you were waiting for eggs, Sunday mornings around the time you came for breakfast can be extremely busy.

I do hope you will return to the hotel when you are next in the area.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

If, for whatever reason, you need to visit Rotherham, Hellaby Hall Hotel is a lovely place to stay. It’s a 17th Century Manor that has been converted and tastefully added to. Set in charming grounds, it has spa and pool facilities as well as the usual bar/restaurant services. Very picturesque for weddings but also just a very pleasant place to stay if you’re passing through. Very reasonably priced for what you get for your money.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellabyhall, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you for review from your stay.

i was very happy to read your review and that you enjoyed al the aspects from your stay.

We look forward to you revisiting the hotel when next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hellaby
8 km away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
3.2 km away
Best Western Consort Hotel
Best Western Consort Hotel
#12 of 15 in Rotherham
437 reviews
22.2 km away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#10 of 15 in Rotherham
814 reviews
1 km away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#3 of 15 in Rotherham
585 reviews
0.5 km away
Restover Lodge Hotel
Restover Lodge Hotel
#14 of 15 in Rotherham
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hellaby Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellaby Hall Hotel

Address: Old Hellaby Lane, Hellaby, Rotherham S66 8SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham > Hellaby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hellaby
Price Range: €61 - €101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hellaby Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hellaby Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellaby Hall Rotherham
Hotel Hellaby Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing