We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Through the door at last”

Sheldrakes Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 76 Restaurants in Heswall
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Overlooking the Dee Estuary and the Welsh mountains, Sheldrakes boasts a stunning location. Voted 'One of the Top 20 Places to Dine by the Sea' in The Sunday Times, spectacular sunsets, seductive scenery and a relaxed friendly atmosphere rival that of any Spanish bar or Greek taverna. Enjoy classic Mediterranean cuisine, a hearty Sunday roast, or take traditional afternoon tea on the terrace. The Mediterranean-style bar offers specialist wines, an extensive range of beers, local cask ales and exotic cocktails.
Reviewed 21 January 2017

We were given this invite as a Christmas present for the seafood/prosecco evening.weve walked the beach numerous times and have promised ourselves that we will go into the restaurant one day.we live an hour away so it's not exactly on the doorstep.booking over the phone was so easy and we were given a table to suit us after work.on entry we were very pleasantly surprised,very quiet,nice subdued lighting and a wonderful log fire roaring .it was so cold outside this was the best greeting you could ask for..we were shown to our table next to the massive Windows giving a quite romantic view of the Welsh coast(moston dock and greenfield Sunday market lights can be romantic in the dark)our host brought our drinks and left us alone to talk and relax.when he thought we were ready he approached and asked if we were ready to order,no pushing extras or expensive wines.the tables filled quite quickly but we didn't wait ages for our meal.when it did arrive it was presented lovely,mussels with a huge chunk of warm bread for starter,seafood platter for main and a cheese board as a treat (because we're worth it),we sat letting our digestion system do its job after such an enjoyable meal with coffee and still we were left alone to relax.as I said before we live a good hour away,it was well worth the journey ,we will certainly visit again and would highly recommend this restaurant for anyone wanting a good meal in a lovely quiet place.although we were aware of what food to expect,sea food is our personal favourite,the none seafood meals that we could see looked and smelled absolutely what we will look at when we return

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheldrakesRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Sheldrakes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Antony M, thank you so much for the wonderful 5* review, delighted you enjoyed your seafood and Prosecco meal at Sheldrakes. Hopefully the distance you have to travel won't deter you from visiting again very soon and we very much look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 211 of 915 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2017

Unpretentious bistro on the beach that the more selfishly-minded would not want others to find..
Good Brexit advert for what we have already got - worthy mix of Euro staff (who, hopefully, won't be going away any time soon) and locals, servicing reasonably priced food and alcohol.
And lovely geography.
Even when the weather's grim, it's a slice of a Dee/Mersey/Med alternative with a view.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheldrakesRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Sheldrakes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Mike C, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Lunch was very average not the hottest food Fish and Handcut chips disappointing for the price. On the soggy side and Luke warm.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank millicLeyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheldrakesRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Sheldrakes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

MillicLeyland we are disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your experience with us at Sheldrakes. Normally the comments we receive for our fresh fish and chips are positive! Please accept our apologies we did not meet your expectations that afternoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Had late lunch on Sunday on 15/1/17 - 5 of us had 'calamari'. It was in fact squid - lukewarm on cold plates - extremely rubbery and tasted unpleasant (?possibly frozen and just warmed up)- all 5 of us told waiter that we didnt think it was good. He took it away and asked us if we wanted anything else - but he did not enquire why it was no good (neither did anybody else). We werent charged for it on the bill however. Main courses - some were luke-warm - lamb seemed like precooked and just warmed up or microwaved. Wouldnt eat here again (have had some average meals here in past).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank benshaw2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheldrakesRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Sheldrakes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Benshaw2017, unfortunately we have to point out that squid is in actual fact ‘calamari’, if you had asked out waiter on the day they would have been more than happy to explain the dishes available.
We can guarantee all the food at Sheldrakes is fresh and dishes created by our team of highly trained Chefs. We offered you an alternative starter initially which was refused and actually took the cost of the starters off the bill to ensure you were happy, even though the initial ‘squid’ v ‘calamari’ issue was due to your misunderstanding!
It seems we couldn’t have pleased even though we did try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We bought a deal with Living Social for a "Chateaubriand" meal for four at Sheldrakes and what a meal it was. We've eaten there before many times and even though we had the voucher we still got great service and food. We were warmly welcomed into the restaurant and served with drinks and complimentary olives (very tasty and just like I remember them from Crete). Starter was an amazing sea food platter that normally would have been enough for a main meal, followed by beautifully cooked Chateaubriand, really nice veg, posh chips, followed by a choice of of deserts or cheese (for those of us without a sweet tooth). All were plentiful and tasty. Came out feeling completely stuffed. Although it may not appear to be the cheapest place to visit the whole experience was well worth what we paid and I would wholeheartedly recommend this place to anyone in the locality.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheldrakesRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Sheldrakes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Andy M, thank you for this great review! We are delighted you enjoyed the Three Course Sharing Meal at Sheldrakes! Hoepfully we can welcome you back very soon, we have some great offers on at the moment for January and February- check out our website!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sheldrakes Restaurant also viewed

Heswall, Wirral
 

Been to Sheldrakes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing