We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
10
8
5
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
8
5
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house brown toiletries cold meats coach house rooms bedside table crumpets cotswolds wedding
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Disappointing. This should have been excellent - it seemed so on the surface, however the essential basics are very much lacking.

Accommodation is in the coach house, adjacent to the main house. We stayed in the Barnsley room - lovely quality bed linen and attractive decor. Good quality bed (although too firm for me, and I like a firm bed!) The rooms are on the small side. The en suite shower room very compact but that's ok if the shower works properly! The shower was erratic and difficult to control - slow trickle to powerful jet - I had not wanted to get my hair wet but it was impossible - and the shower tray filled like a bath within a couple of minutes, needing to rush to finish before risk of flooding. The partition walls between rooms provide no insulation whatsoever, you can literally hear the conversation of the people next door. No soft door closures anywhere, so you can here doors banging shut. Also, our room smelled of dog - I know dogs are welcome at the property but you would expect rooms specifically for pet owners and guests without pets, like when you had smoking and non-smoking rooms! Also, large gaps around curtains let in too much light too early!

We were asked on arrival whether we would be having breakfast - when we said we needed an early start by 7.30am (we were going to the RIAT air show) we were advised that several of the guests had said the same, so we were half expecting them to say they would put breakfast on a little earlier than 8.30am - but the offer didn't come.

The location is beautiful, it's such a shame they haven't made more of the coach house accommodation as it could be really lovely - instead they have scrimped on the essentials which means they are unlikely to get repeat guests - sadly, as we would gladly have paid more and stayed here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizRich07702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Remote place. Lovely gardens and very relaxing place to walk around.
The bedroom was nicely decorated and the bed was comfortable. The room was small.
The bathroom was not great, scruffy, the water pressure was great but after 15 minutes still no hot water. Thankfully there was a kettle to heat some water up.
The room I had was right next to the reception so it could get quite noisy at times (Crabbe)
Can't comment on the breakfast as I had to leave before 8am, continental is included but a full English is £10 more.
I think it would be a good place to stay if there was an event on here but otherwise not a great place to stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank melaniet970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

An absolutely beautiful venue with stunning gardens. A group of 13 of us were lucky enough to be able to book rooms here to celebrate a hen do.

The bedrooms were tastefully decorated and the beds were super comfy. The showers were powerful and the bathrooms were clean. The breakfast in the morning was at 8-9:30am and served a range of cereal, yogurts, toast, crumpets, pancakes cheese and meats.

We were also able to hire a room in the Glenfall House to run a tea party. The room was perfect, had large comfy seating and a beautiful view of the gardens.

However, in my opinion the best thing about this venue is the staff. The staff are so accommodating and are keen to make sure you have everything you need or want. They were very approachable and a delight to talk to both in person and via email before arrival. They booked our taxis, took a few photos of the group and even opened the bar for us late at night with short notice.

A truly beautiful place with wonderful staff, I would definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Emskicooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

We were here for a birthday party locally, so it was good value, but the room was rather small (just space to walk round the double bed). Water was hot, towels were fluffy, wifi worked well, included continental breakfast choices were OK (but no fruit). The gardens and surrounding countryside are beautiful, with goats, sheep and donkeys. Kettle in the room with tea and coffee. Bed was very comfortable too.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BigH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

I attended a wedding here on Saturday and the staff couldn't go enough to help. Dianne was particularly wonderful and accommodating. She went out of her way to accommodate for dietary needs and we were extremely grateful.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenfallHouse, Owner at Glenfall House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thanks Victoria for leaving your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed the wedding with us on Saturday; and that you found our team helpful ensuring you had a good time with us
Kind regards
Dianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews