We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chilston Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2011

After reading the reviews on this I was pleasantly surprised the afternoon tea was lovely the scones were fab and not as I had read hard,sandwiches fresh and cakes lovely fruit cake was heavenly

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank lilyjean4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilstonParkHotel, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Dear Sir / Madam,
thank you very much for your time and trouble to write a review. Obviously, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea at the Chilston Park Hotel. I look forward welcoming you again to the Chilston Park Hotel in the near future.

Peter Zielke
General Manager
Chilston Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

843 - 847 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed in the Browning Room in the stable block with our 9 month old son. We booked a last minute deal and I assume we got the larger room as we needed space for the travel cot provided. The room was large, large bed plus a single and a travel cot. Room for 2 armchairs, chest of drawers & 2 beside tables. All well decorated and clean. However no bedding provided in the travel cot for the baby. The bathroom was outdated and needed refurb but was clean. Access to out room was...interesting. Down a long corridor with a sloping roof and wooden beams with a very low ceiling. My husband who is 6ft5 struggled and it was very claustrophobic. However the room has a normal ceiling height. Breakfast was good, highchair provided for the baby. We ordered room service, I had steak and guiness pie which was made fresh and was amazing, my husband ordered chicken burger, however, they had run out of buns so he ended uP with chicken in a baguette, but was charged the same price.
The only downside was the shape of the bed, we worked it out tobe about 5 1/2 feet wide but less than 6th long, both our feet hang out the end! Looking at the floor plan of the block you could see our room was the largest & I wonder what size room we would have got if we didn't have the cot in the room.


However for the money £99, it was good value.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ldruckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilstonParkHotel, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Dear Sir / Madam,
thank you for review and thank you for your ratings. I am sorry that the travel cot was no in the room on arrival, but trust that this was rectified immediately. Obviously I am pleased that you enjoyed the food. As for your room allocation, sue to the age of the building all rooms are different - in decor and size. When allocating rooms we take into consideration if an extra bed is required or not.
Once again, I am pleased and would like to thank you for the top ratings in value, service and location

Yours sincerely,

Peter Zielke
General Manager
Chilston Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I did not stay at the hotel, but went for Sunday lunch. The surroundings are pleasant enough, but the set lunch was disappointing and the wine at £9 per glass overpriced. We had some sort of savoury mille feuille for starters - adequate. The lamb for the main course was tough, tasteless and full of gristle. The portions of vegetables - potatoes anna and green beans - were small and uninteresting. The dessert was supposedly an ice cream mousse but neither we not the waiter could see how it was described as mousse since it was a pleasant but simple icecream. I cannot comment on the hotel facilities but I would not eat there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank bulkington43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilstonParkHotel, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Dear Sir / Madam,
thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were disspointed with the food offering. I have taken the liberty to share your comments with our Head Chef to make ammends. Whilst we strive for a high standard in our food offereings, I apologise that we have not met your expectations this time.

I would like to thank you for the high rating on service however, and hope that you will consider the Chilston Park Hotel with it's award wining "Culpepers Restaurant" in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Peter Zielke
General Manager
Chilston Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed here whilst visiting family nearby, there was nothing too much trouble for the staff. The food was ok but we mainly ate out in Maidstone.

The room was clean and comfortable and I will definitely rebook next time we are here.

Room Tip: Happy helpful staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imalwaysontheroad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilstonParkHotel, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Dear Sir / Madam,

thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you as well for your complimentary comments towards our staff.

I hope you will choose our hotel next time when visiting your family nearby or use another Hand Picked Hotel collection.

Yours sincerely,
Peter Zielke
General Manager
Chilston Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay as part of my Boyfriends Birthday present and stayed here at the end of Aug.
After reading many negative reviews on here regarding this hotel I was a bit apprehensive, so the question is was I right to be apprehensive?????????, well my review is a real mixed bag.

Upon arriving the views were beautiful and the house itself looked very grand from the exterior, check in was a breeze and we were shown to our room by a porter (nice touch) reception even called up to the room about 10 minutes later to see if we needed anything (good customer care).

Our Room
We stayed in the Gilt Room which was a double deluxe. The room was luxurious although did seem a little tired and tatty in places , but I thought this added to the charter of the old building. I was a little let down by the bathroom, the Bathroom itself was big and the bath tub was also big but the shower was over/in the bath and there are signs of age i.e little bit of mould and mildew on the tile grout, yes I am being picky but remember this is a double deluxe – one grade down from a master suite, I would have liked a more luxurious bathroom
The bed was a lovely huge four poster bed and was soooo comfy , we slept very well

Food and Drink
We did not eat in the main restaurant as we wanted something a little more relaxed and the main restaurant (Culpeper's) looked far from a relaxed vibe quite formal in fact.
The other area you can eat is in the lounge bar, bound to be more relaxed right?!?- wrong. It has all the right furniture to be relaxed but the atmosphere was not relaxed at all it was so quiet and felt (dare I say) I little pretentious (for a ‘lounge area) , it was so quite that at one point I felt like I was in a library and when my boyfriend made me laugh (out loud) I felt like I was being inappropriate.
We had a few (overpriced) drink and order food to the room instead.
Food was good but SO OVERPRICED £££££ , OMG a fancy Chicken burger and chips was almost £18 , a Prawn Cocktail=£13- ok so now I’m moaning but didn’t think the food was worth the high prices, p.s they charge you £4 for a room service trip which I guess is sort of standard but the waiter forget 2 things on 2 occasion – annoying, needless to say reception took the room service charges off the bill.
Breakfast to the room the next morning was lovely

Anyway to sum up my review, A charming and lovely place but really needs improvement in some areas, I paid £149 for my stay (that was a room and Breakfast, nothing else) was it worth it?, hhmmmm I’m just not sure it was.

Would I stay again?- No , but this place in definitely worth a visit

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StacyJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChilstonParkHotel, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Dear Sir / Madam,
thank you very much for your time and trouble to review and rate our hotel at tripadvisor. I have taken the liberty to share your comments with my team. Whilst I am obviously pleased about your overall rating and complimenatry comments towards the building and welcome experience.
We constantly compare our food and beverage prices with other similary rated hotels and restaurant in the area. I have taken your comments on board and we will certainly continue to monitor our bar-prices.
I have taken the liberty to share your feedback with my team to address the various items you addressed. Thank you very much for your constructive feedback and I hope you re-consider and stay with us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Peter Zielke
Geenral Manager
Chilston Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenham
12.5 km away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,420 reviews
13.4 km away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
10.1 km away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27 km away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.1 km away
Dog & Bear Hotel
Dog & Bear Hotel
#2 of 3 in Lenham
334 reviews
11.7 km away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilston Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilston Park Hotel

Address: Boughton Road | Sandway, Lenham, Maidstone ME17 2BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone > Lenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Price Range: €95 - €194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chilston Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grade 1 listed Chilston Park offers one of the most exclusive hotels in Kent. Set back from tree-lined lanes, the manor house at Chilston Park Hotel in Kent is set in 22 acres of parkland and features a two AA rosette restaurant. One of the most best loved hotels in Kent, over the years Chilston Park has been a home to eminent politicians, writers, Lords and Viscounts. Today it is a classic British country house hotel with plenty of style and charm and one of the most perfect wedding or leisure destinations in Kent. But perhaps the most remarkable aspect of this 4 AA red star hotels in Kent are the antiques and history that surround it. The hotel has many interesting artefacts that date as far back as the 17th century manor house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chilston Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chilston Park Maidstone
Hotel Chilston Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing