We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Parham House. An historic house which will take you back in time.

Booked online. Lots of parking available on arrival. Very relaxing walking around garden and the... read more

Reviewed 6 September 2021
bobM5520AH
,
Greater London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Local gem

Go to parham when it is open. The tour is very good and the history is rich. The house is in good... read more

Reviewed 27 August 2021
martynrj
,
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
via mobile
Read all 289 reviews
  
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
201
64
16
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
201
64
16
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden long gallery well worth a visit cake on arrival top floor gift aid plants gardeners cafe catering pond menu mower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2019

Returned visit after about 20 years. Room Stewards were very good, not at all pushy but chatty and knowledgeable about "their" house if you engaged them. House and gardens very well presented and with a good plant sales area for cottage garden plants. Cafe excellent, we had the Three Cheese Ploughmans.and it came on a charger rather than a normal sized plate, both unable to finish it, superb quality and value for money.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 May 2019 via mobile

Where to start re the cafe.
Horrible bitter coffee
Basic food and bizarre presentation.

This is such an opportunity for someone who has the remotest idea about food and how to serve it.

Even shortbread biscuits tasted like floor sweepings

so sorry to be rude but ive given it three tries now. Next time taking a picnic of my own.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parham_House_Gardens, Manager at Parham House & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2019

Thank you for your feedback which we have discussed with our catering team. We are all very sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience in the Big Kitchen. The coffee we serve at Parham is brewed using 100% speciality grade coffee beans which are Rainforest Alliance certified and roasted by a local supplier. Whilst we have not served shortbread biscuits during this season, all of our biscuits and cakes are freshly baked each morning. Thank you again and we do hope that you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2019 via mobile

If you enjoy visiting historical houses, this is a must for you. Apart from the beauty and history that greets you in every room, painting and furnishing, there is a such a gorgeous feel to this magical place. The guides are wonderfully knowledgeable and welcoming whilst the guide book is very informative. Every room is presented so well to demonstrate it in its best historical light. Truly a special visit, we've bought a season pass and will be back there. Go, you won't regret it.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 April 2019

Lovely morning and free to explore all day. Tour started at 10.00 hrs with biscuits or cakes with tea or coffee, very civilised. Then a fantastic tour by Phillipa. All staff were educated and courtious and happy with their work. Beautiful house with so much history and then you can get up close to nearly all of the famtastc contents mostly with written and or verbal explanations. The staff are hard working and dedicated happy people and add tremendously to your day. At the end of the tour there was a well deserved spontaneous round of applause. I will probably go again especially if they did a guided tour of the art on display. Very tempted with the hour long horological tour (clocks). A huge thank you to all.

Date of experience: April 2019
3  Thank stevetaylor1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 April 2019

A very enjoyable Easter Monday morning visiting Parham House, a fine Elizabethan house. It is a beautiful house, with each room furnished and with paintings from a particular era. The guides in each room were extremely friendly and helpful. The grounds and lake were beautiful with plenty of room for people to have picnics and play. There was an Easter Egg hunt and face painting for children. The small family church was also interesting. The big kitchen was very busy so, having enjoyed the house and gardens we went looking elsewhere for a pub to have lunch in. The house is normally open on certain afternoons but was open all day on Easter Monday. Well worth the visit.

Date of experience: April 2019
3  Thank Colin17092
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews