We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$108
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$116
US$101
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Chester(Chester)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (881)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveller rating
376
263
135
60
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
376
263
135
60
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelsmall saunalovely groundsnight breakafternoon teavisited this hotelpark and ridethree course meala lovely staybirthday treatwedding venuerelaxing breakshort breakfollowing morningone night stayfish and chipsfood was lovely
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 883 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my other half. Upon arrival the hotel looked nice and it was professional for the check in process. Arriving at the room it wasn't large but not too small either. Usual compliments, biscuits, tea etc. No bath but a shower. Room wasn't warm and couldn't get it any warmer despite trying the radiator controls. Room was Apple. Noticeable noise intermittently which another reviewer had mentioned. Tv didn't pick up all channels, saying weak signal. Upon visiting the pool area there was no jacuzzi which was a let down, small pool and noisy kids in it at the time. Used the sauna instead which was ok. Free bottle of Proseccu was a nice touch on arrival. Meal was good but veg were extra, £3.75 on the included meals if you wanted any. The staff throughout the hotel were good but the overall experience was disappointing. Not a place I would rush back to. £119 paid for dinner bed and breakfast for two. Some of the breakfast items could have been hotter too, not kept in heated containers and we were down early when it opened.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve55789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LlyndirGM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Wrexham Llyndir Hall near Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Steve55789,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay with us.

I am sorry that there were aspects which you feel could have been improved. I will ensure that the issues you have mentioned with heating, TV and noise are investigated further.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back again in the future to improve on the experience you had.

Kind regards,

Richard Dixon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Initial impression was very positive, welcoming staff on arrival, excellent afternoon tea ... unfortunately part of our "Spring Offer" included a free drink each but this was not available as they had "run out of prosecco" due to a wedding the previous day. However, we decided to enjoy the tea which was nicely presented, and made a reservation for evening meal. The hotel was very busy, so we had to wait until quite late, and then service was slow; the one barman was pleasant but not swift, and hampered by many demands, together with having run out of fresh orange (which had all been "used in the fruit salad") and the ice machine was broken. We also found one of the starters to be particularly bland ("Bloody Mary" prawn cocktail) and disappointing.
It was therefore a relief to be able to relax in our room and anticipate a good night's sleep ... regrettably the antiquated hot water system kept us awake with persistent activation of the pump which was in a machine room next door, and after repeated complaints through to reception the duty manager finally got it to stop (some time after midnight) and it did not kick in again until 7:35 am.
Subsequently at check-out we found that we had had a duplicate charge placed on our bill, and had to query this quite assertively before it was sorted out.
It appears that the staff are generally well-intentioned and certainly pleasant throughout, but some of the systems are letting them down.

Room Tip: Avoid room 19 at all costs unless you have earplugs
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank M22J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LlyndirGM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Wrexham Llyndir Hall near Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear M22J,

Thank you for taking the time to write with the feedback of your recent stay. I am sorry that there were aspects which did not exceed expectation.

Whilst it is unfortunate that the stock of prosecco was somewhat depleted the complimentary drink as part of your package is not limited to only prosecco, I am sorry if this caused confusion. It is a shame that you were disappointed with dinner as this is something which we pride ourselves on and typically receive very positive feedback about, I am sorry that this was not the case for you on this occasion.

I will ensure that our maintenance team investigate the pump noise that you describe as this is not something which we ordinarily receive feedback about.

We take feedback very seriously and always strive to ensure that all comments are acted on, this will certainly be the case with yours.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back again in the future, when you are looking to return, please contact me directly and I will ensure that everything is perfect for you.

Kind regards,

Richard Dixon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Fabulous friendly staff. Food of a high standard. Clean and inviting. Excellent stay apart from the bed was twin singles pushed together and maid came in prior to our room departure time twice.
All the staff are really friendly and everything was great

Room Tip: King size bed was two single pushed together so slept poorly otherwise it was excellent
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darksideofthebl... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LlyndirGM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Wrexham Llyndir Hall near Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear RAPAW,

Thank you for your 5 STAR review, it is lovely to read that your stay was an enjoyable one. I am sorry that you were disturbed prior to your check out time, I will ensure that this is discussed with the housekeeping team in order to ensure this does not happen for guests in the future.

I hope we are able to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Dixon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Had a lovely night at llydiir Hall. Check in was very good.& quick. Room was clean & spacious, bed was large & comfy, bathroom was clean & had lovely fluffy towels. Evening meal was nice a bit unorganised in the dinning area but it was very busy. Breakfast was good lots of choice, just needed replacing a bit quicker again it was very busy & everything got explained to us. All in all a very nice stay & would go back

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glazsan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LlyndirGM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Wrexham Llyndir Hall near Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Glazsan1,

Thank you for taking the time to write with feedback of your recent stay. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope that we are able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Dixon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Me and boyfriend recently stayed there to celebrate our anniversary and we both loved it! The room was really comfortable and homely - it wasn't the most modern furniture or decor but it was well-kept and made us have a comfortable and pleasant stay. The food was delicious (we had a 2 course dinner each and breakfast), and the staff were very helpful too. The only thing I could slightly fault was that the swimming pool was quite small and the sauna is very small; probably fitting 2/3 people in at once. All in all though it was a fantastic stay, and we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LlyndirGM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Wrexham Llyndir Hall near Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Charlie B,

Thank you for sharing the feedback of your recent stay, I hope we are able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Dixon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews