We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveller rating
203
124
44
19
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
124
44
19
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews west highland way walkers bar packed lunch drying room remote location evening meal and breakfast welcome sight next morning wet clothes cosy bar deer wandering around warm welcome shared bathroom under new management residents lounge wild deer beautiful location
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 409 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2016

What a little gem. Very, very friendly and efficient staff. Good food. Runs like a machine. Would totally recommend it. Particularly suited for walkers as muddy boots and wet clothes are not a problem. We stayed in the Annex as they were fully booked in the main part of the hotel, but this was not a problem.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie & Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Again another friendly welcome, even though we had arrived early after a short day's walk. Receptionist showed us to our rooms, which shared a bathroom.

We arranged our evening meal from a fairly limited menu, but I have to say it was delicious and cooked very well.

We enjoyed a relaxing afternoon in the residents' lounge - avoiding the rain that - the only daytime rain on the whole walk.

My room seemed to have had a leak in the roof - this can happen at anytime and I am sure the decoration will be sorted out shortly. Unfortunately I was disappointed with the condition of the bathroom and decided not to use the shower.

Tip for the owners - it would be a good idea to provide bathrobe for use of people sharing facilities.

The hotel is in a beautiful location and a short walk down the lane brings you to Loch Tulla - what a serene place - we saw two otters splashing in the water (we think)

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramblingwhiterose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Lovely clean room, fresh laundered bedding, nice hand wash, great location, very helpful service to make our walking trip such fun. Great value food and wine and good advice and help with taxi transfers.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 92MrRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

I had not been to this place for year saw reviews thought we would try it again on WHW did not disappoint this time well worth stopping of at if it fits your walking plans very friendly good food unlike the previous time we stayed would have said avoid like the plague

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We stopped here on the West Highland Way before crossing Rannoch Moor. it was a pleasant day and we were able to sit outside and enjoy refreshments. It is not a modern place, but it is welcoming and conveniently placed for the many walkers who travel on the West Highland Way.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews