We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Lochleven Seafood Cafe
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Onich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$131
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Loch side restaurant and shop located on the north shore of beautiful Loch Leven . We specialise in local shellfish , which is stored in our onsite seawater tanks then simply prepared and presented . We offer something for all the family from breakfast rolls and coffee , signature sandwiches , our classic shellfish menu , and our daily blackboard always has meat , fish & vegetarian options . Our deli shop sells live shellfish from our tanks , cooked shellfish , picnic ideas , shellfish platters to take away and some local gifts .
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The service was shocking ! Made to feel almost like we were intruding from arriving . I booked a table so no surprises by our arrival. I felt like I was in a money making factory almost on a conveyor belt. Small details like the biscuit served with coffee went out of date in July this year , we visited in Sept !

I have been coming to this region for over five years now and always fancied a meal here.
It’s not all about the food , how you are made to feel is important to me and sadly we were both made to feel really uncomfortable. The food was ok but nothing I haven’t had far better elsewhere.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jeremybU7421OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place in stunning location with wide range of menu choice, mostly seafood (of course), but some other alternatives. Had a lovely seafood based meal, recommended.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 260,164
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked in advance and got a nice table seated in the window window overlooking the Loch.

The menu was straightforward and we ordered the hot seafood platter. Blooming ‘eck we were not disappointed in any way, and who could be with a whole lobster, a whole crab, langostines, clams, scallops, mussels, razor clams and cockles!! A good white wine and we were away!
The discarded shells were taken away regularly by efficient staff members and they checked back to ensure we were ok with everything.
We cannot fault the food, wine, ambiance and service - all were impeccable. Highly recommended and next time we are in the area booking up a table will be a must for us!
Go to the best and forget the rest!!

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So we have been looking for seafood for over a week during our nc500 trip, And we finally found it!
We was so excited, but was welcomed with the most disappointing service, to be told that we was only allowed more then 3 dishes which was over priced. The service was very rude and blunt. Then another couple came in and got offered the lobster etc.. so all I can say is if you don't fit the criteria of what they want in there "cafe" you'll be getting bad service and little food.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank gjade332
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely outstanding!! We wanted everything off the menu . Ordered so much they had to bring us another little table . Dined like Kings on oysters, shellfish soup, razor clams, mussels and a huge whole crab !! All of it utterly delicious and so fresh . Definitely the highlight of our week touring the Highlands . Not to be missed !!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank LynTUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Lochleven Seafood Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lochleven Seafood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.