We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE must-do attraction”
Review of Le Puy du Fou

Le Puy du Fou
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Puy du Fou features a multitude of spectacular shows, adventures for the whole family and new astonishments every year. Experience different centuries surrounded by unspoilt countryside and an even more exciting time staying in one of the Puy du Fou's four original hotels. At the Puy du Fou, history is waiting for you!
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Please ignore the guy that gave this 1 star for cheesiness. Puy du fou is all about fun and entertainment, based on historical stories. It is no more a history lesson than Shakespeare, Les Miserable, etc. It is well and truly excellent, as many reviews will tell you. Here are a few tips to help you:

Get there early, there are security checks including bag checks that take 10-15 mins.
Download the day's itinerary from the website before going and plan your visit.
On busy days the most popular shows will fill up so don't get there 5 mins before and expect to get in. Arrive 30 mins before.
Don't bother with headsets, at 15 euros each they are expensive, and only 2 shows really need them.
Take plenty of water and shoes that can either be washed or dumped after. The dust is unavoidable.
You won't see all the attractions in one day so go for the best. Vikings, birds, Roman amphitheatre and Lance are unmissable.
Enjoy the best theatre park in the world!

2  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le-Puy-du-Fou, Visitors Relationship Manager at Le Puy du Fou, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hi,

Thank you for your message. We are delighted to see that our shows lived up to your expectations.

We will definitely pass your compliments on to our artistic team who creates even more stunning shows each year.

As you underline it, we advise our visitors to plan carefully their visit. For your information, the timetable of our shows is available on the '' Puy du Fou '' app and on our website, the day before you come, from 5:30 pm.

We hope to see you again for new adventures!

The team of Puy du Fou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12,911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"theme park"
in 208 reviews
"birds of prey"
in 89 reviews
"in advance"
in 75 reviews
"le puy"
in 86 reviews
"out of this world"
in 40 reviews
"on site"
in 53 reviews
"second visit"
in 31 reviews
"amazing place"
in 30 reviews
"amazing park"
in 19 reviews
"arrive early"
in 22 reviews
"blown away"
in 34 reviews
"half an hour"
in 25 reviews
"whole family"
in 31 reviews
"other attractions"
in 15 reviews
"on line"
in 24 reviews
"bird display"
in 19 reviews
"sandwiches"
in 20 reviews
Filter

166 - 170 of 12,911 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

We've been three times. The individual shows are brilliant. The children really enjoyed the chariots racing in the colosseum. The vikings stage is awesome. The emerging boat and then the disappearance of the abbot. It's worth getting the show times as soon as you arrive so that you can plan your day. It's best to get to the shows at least 30+ minutes before opening time to be sure you get in. The medieval castle with the story of the lance is amazing. It would be easy to describe each set but it's best to visit and enjoy the surprises.

Thank BigShrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le-Puy-du-Fou, Visitors Relationship Manager at Le Puy du Fou, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi,

Thank you very much for writing such a positive review regarding your third journey at Puy du Fou.

Your satisfaction is the best reward for all our teams who strive to offer you a memorable journey through the ages.

As you underline it, we advise our visitors to plan carefully their visit. The day before you come, from 5:30 pm, the timetable of our shows is available on the '' Puy du Fou '' app and on our website.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

The team of Puy du Fou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Just brilliant! Spectacular, historical, relaxing, great value...only disappointment is that we booked well ahead to return in summer 2018 and were desperate to stay in a park hotel but couldn't get in.

1  Thank YummyMummyCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le-Puy-du-Fou, Visitors Relationship Manager at Le Puy du Fou, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hi,

Thank you for taking time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

It is a true pleasure to see you enjoyed all our shows. We strive to offer a unique voyage through time thanks to spectacular shows, restored villages and a natural environment.

We will definitely pass your compliments on to our artistic team who creates even more “brilliant” shows each year to surprise and move our visitors of all ages.

Demand is very high for the Puy du Fou hotels. We advise our visitors to book their stay at the earliest possible stage to guarantee the best availability. For your information, reservations 2018 have began in October 2017.

Best regards,

The team of Puy du Fou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

brilliant day out ,recommend take sandwichs long ques for food other than that very good, shame the roman spectacle was only in french so not sure what was going on

Thank lee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le-Puy-du-Fou, Visitors Relationship Manager at Le Puy du Fou, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Hi,

Thank you for your message.

We are happy to read you found our bird’s show “excellent” and that you spent a “brilliant day out” at Puy du Fou!

All our major shows are translated into 5 different languages. We are surprised you couldn’t get an English version of “Le Signe du Triomphe” show. Please note that, in 2018, the “Puy du Fou” mobile application will provide you with simultaneous translation for free!

We hope to see you back soon for new adventures!

The team of Puy du Fou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We pre-bought tickets for the Christmas show "Mystere de Noel". As usual the Puy du Fou delivered a stunning experience. The park was visually magical and immaculate. There was a Christmas village, Le Bourg, with olde worlde shops and stalls, lights everywhere, snow and staff all dressed in vintage costumes. Mulled wine was sold from huge copper urns along the snowy routes. Entry to the main show was quick and well organised. As the stage curtains drew back, you realised the enormity of the stage and set. A full orchestra were centre stage, with a three-tiered backdrop behind. Two superb opera singers delivered stunning performances and the story of Christmas unfolded in a riot of colour, animals, actors, dance and music. It was exhilirating, captivating and uplifting and all for a mere 25 euro - best money spent all Christmas.

1  Thank ogier_karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le-Puy-du-Fou, Visitors Relationship Manager at Le Puy du Fou, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Hi,

Thank you for your wonderful review and feedback.

We are delighted to read that your recent visit at «Le Grand Noël du Puy du Fou » was an excellent experience for you.

We are more than happy to see that our Christmas show : « Le Mystère de Noël » lived up to your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you for a new journey through the History of France.

Best regards,

The team of Puy du Fou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Puy du Fou also viewed

 
Mortagne-sur-Sevre, Vendee
Mesnard-la-Barotiere, Vendee
 

Been to Le Puy du Fou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing