We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
125
62
51
30
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
62
51
30
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsholiday parksand artout of seasonboat housecomplex managerkids and adultsweekend breakmaster bedroomentertainment staffgreat funexcellent holidayisle of sheppeylovely caravanlong weekendcannot faultstevieboathouse
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Entertainment very poor,food very poor,staff not trained,manger Dan of the park does not have a clue whats going on ,swimming pool was closed most times,.Would not go there again as my girlfriend was spoken to very rudely by a member off staff when she complained about food being stone cold. Never again avoid the place like the plague.

Stayed: August 2017
3  Thank garry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServicePR, Guest Relations Manager at Parkdean Resorts - Shurland Dale Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Hi there,

We are so sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay with us.

We hope that you took the time to report your concerns to a member of the team during your stay. Please also remember that the central customer service team are on hand to help you up to 14 days after your holiday.

We would like to reassure you that this is not normal practice for us. We do have 71 other holiday parks, and we would love the opportunity to welcome you to an alternative park again soon.

^Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Sweet little park, caravan was nice, modern and clean. Great for dog friendly holidays.

The shop on site was sparse and unmanned. The swimming pool was tired and small with hardly any room to spectate. Evening entertainment was good fun for kids and encouraged family involvement, but site is not busy at all ( even in summer)

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Hayley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServicePR, Guest Relations Manager at Parkdean Resorts - Shurland Dale Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Hi there,

We are pleased that you liked the park and your accommodation :-)

However, we are sorry that you were disappointed with the shop and the pool. I will share your comments with the management team on the park, who will take your feedback on board.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope that this does not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

^Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

My friend and I have taken our children away for years, a few times a year and we always do one or two mobile home/camping trips. Staying with Park dean/haven and other independent holiday parks. Firstly when booking I thought I was booking with Parkdean.. apparently park resorts have merged. I can honestly say In all the years and sites we have stayed at, this truly been the worst. The evening entertainment if you can call it that was just poor, so much so the children even wanted to leave. Normally they can’t wait to go! The caravan was ok.. however we were not given linen on arrival, when they realised we were meant to have, they delivered our ripped linen.. it’s a small site.. the staff are nice and friendly. However standards are not great.. dirty tables and floor the pool was filthy.. we didn’t even bother. If you are using for a base then fine if you are not planning on using the facilities..

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank louel891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServicePR, Guest Relations Manager at Parkdean Resorts - Shurland Dale Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Hi there,

We are so sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay with us.

We would also like to apologise that there were a few issues with your accommodation. Please remember that the reception team are always on hand to help you during your stay. They would have been more than prepared to address this for you.

We are so sorry for any upset or inconvenience this may have caused you.

^Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed at this resort over oct half term. They had a nice park for children to play on, a very basic arcade and a very small swimming pool. The whole resort needs updating as its looking very tired and dirty and the swimming pool was disgusting! we tried looking elsewhere to stay with but with little success we had to stay. Our caravan was nice apart from a bit of wear and tear couldn't really fault it. Evening entertainment was ok. Jordie the team trouper was very good despite being in her own she did a great job entertaining the children and if it wasn't for her I think we would have left after the first night! There was activities put on during the day such as the Halloween party that was good fun. However other things did get cancelled due to not having the staff.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank laurarobson09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServicePR, Guest Relations Manager at Parkdean Resorts - Shurland Dale Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Hi there,

We are pleased to hear that you liked the entertainment team and the entertainment we had on offer.

However, we are sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay overall. Please remember that the reception team are always on hand to help you during your stay, they would have been more than prepared to look into this for you.

We are so sorry for any upset caused. We do have 71 other holiday parks, with other parks in the Essex area. We hope to welcome you back soon, to allow us to demonstrate our normal high standard.

Thank you for leaving this review, and for bringing your concerns to our attention.

^Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

So I booked a cheap week away for me and my two children as thought would be cheaper to take them to a caravan site than sit at home and take them places every day.
When we got here we were given a really lovely caravan. I certainly didn't pay for this sort of caravan I think we were just lucky.
It's very quiet for a half term holiday which isn't a bad thing as we have been to other caravan sites and it's been heaving to the point of it making it miserable.
Our first day was spent at the swimming pool at the sister site Ashcroft. it was pure hell. There was a group of kids who weren't being supervised by any adults whatsoever playing with balls length ways across the pool. I have a 7 year old and a very small 5 year old who kept getting hit very hard with the ball and was pulled under by one of the teenagers. not once did the lifeguard say anything she sat there looking bored and as miserable as hell we tried out the pool which is more the size of a large bath lol at shurland which was so dirty.... there was mud everywhere along with grass??? .
Then onto the evening entertainment which in my opinion made the holiday. poor Jordi was on her own and looked completely shattered but was always there for a Chin wag and had loads of energy. It seemed as tho she hadn't had a break at all and that the staff aren't really treated very well here. They need to buck their ideas up as she's a gem that they don't want to loose. jo griffiths the cabaret act was fantastic and Jordis sign language song with him brought tears to my eyes.

All in all I prob won't come here again but if I find where Jordi is going next I'll book there as she's better than alot of the entertainment staff I've encountered at the bigger caravan sites and is a natural with the kids.

if your reading this Jordi have happy birthday. Mikey and Erin had a fab time xxx

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Michael and Lor... Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServicePR, Guest Relations Manager at Parkdean Resorts - Shurland Dale Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Hi there,

We are so pleased that you liked your accommodation, and the entertainment team :-)

I will share your kind words with them!

However, we are sorry that you were disappointed with the pool at Ashcroft Coast, I will pass your comments over to the team on the park.

We do have 71 other holiday parks, we would love to welcome you back again soon!

^Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews