We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic country home and base for exploring...”

Review of The Gables Retreat

The Gables Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gables Retreat
Enter a caption for your photo The master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
107 reviews
The Gables Retreat
Enter a caption for your photo
The master bedroom
The master en suite
The sitting room
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 en suite
Bathroom shared by bedrooms 2 & 3
Ground floor bedroom
Ground floor en suite shower room
TV/Play room
The under cover gazebo
The toy barn
Kitchen
The extensive grounds
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Market Rasen, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 107 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alan G
1 review
“Fantastic country home and base for exploring Lincoln and York”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The Gables is a beautifully refurbished country home in a farm setting in the East Midlands. Bucolic (a paddock in the rear contains a horse and her foal along with several friendly sheep). The interior is roomy with a modern kitchen and luxurious baths both up and down. The proprietor, Ms Marshall lives on an adjacent property and is friendly and helpful. A hot tub completes the picture. About a half hour from Lincoln and a little longer to York it is a perfect place to base a vacation for a family or group of friends. Pubs are close by. Could not recommend more highly!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa F
1 review
“Amazing Gem of a house in pastoral Midlands”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We were in Lincolnshire for a family wedding and had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful house in the country for a week. The house easily accommodated the 11 of us in style and Diane and Bill were fantastic and patient hosts. The house is situated in a picturesque part of the countryside and is close to the market town of Market Rasen for shopping and amenities. All of us remarked on how nice it was to be able to relax, eat, and socialize with each other in such a great location. Diane was incredibly helpful and responsive throughout the stay - from ensuring the wifi worked, to showing how the jacuzzi worked, and even helping with the laundry! When you arrive, the house is stocked with food - a yummy chocolate cake to the BEST eggs we have ever tasted. At the end of the trip I didn't want to leave! We traveled from the US and would definitely stay again. This is beautiful gem of a place and hosts to match.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excursion...
1 review
“Beautiful holiday home”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We booked this holiday to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.The house was beautiful and spotlessly clean.There is a wonderful hotub.And having the horses coming up and seeing us at the bottom of the garden was lovely.The beds were so comfortable and the rooms were big so lots of space.Lots of Tv around the property so if you have younger family members ideal so they can keep entertained in the evening.
The owners live next door so if you have any questions it's easy to get hold of them.
I would recommend the gables retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2017
Dear Donna, thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay at The Gables Retreat. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay there and found the property spacious, comfortable and clean and the animals entertaining! We hope very much to welcome you back for a repeat visit. Best wishes Diane & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolar21
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another enjoyable visit”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I have visited many times simply because this house is stunning and the setting is extremely peaceful and relaxing. The attention to detail like flowers, fruit and a welcome pack is much appreciated and the house itself is incredibly comfortable and cosy.
This was the first time I'd visited at a warmer time of year as it's always been autumn or winter when I've been before. It was lovely to sit out on the patio and watch the horses in the adjoining field and listen to the sound of silence!
I shall continue to book The Gables Retreat for a weekend break at least once a year because nowhere else compares.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2017
Dear Nic, thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay at The Gables Retreat. We're delighted to hear that you continue to enjoy your breaks there which hopefully means we're doing our job! We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the Autumn. With our best wishes, Diane & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nosila196...
Rutland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic 80th Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Three generations of our family descended on The Gables for a weekend of birthday celebrations. The house is stunning, comfortable, luxurious and despite there being eleven of us ranging in age from 10 years old to "80" every one of us thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.. Accommodation includes huge dining kitchen, two lovely reception rooms, fabulous bedrooms and bathrooms.. we were spoiled for choice.. The hot tub was a lovely treat after a five mile walk along the beach in Theddlethorpe (beautiful beach approx forty minutes drive away) A welcome pack including a freshly baked cake and bread were a lovely touch. Our dog came too, and there are lovely walks down to the river.
Our only problem was that we just didn't have long enough...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2017
Thank you very much for posting a review of your stay at The Gables Retreat. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful local Lincolnshire beaches. We hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future. With our best wishes, from all at The Gables Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing