We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sparkford Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Horse Pond Inn(Castle Cary)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
George Hotel(Castle Cary)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
The Eastbury Hotel(Sherborne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Half Moon Inn(Sherborne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
39
40
36
25
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
40
36
25
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshaynes motor museumfish pienext morningovernight stopbig roomfull englishbreakfast was includedlots of charactertea making facilitiesbottled waterwould stay againvery pleasant stayfamily roomdarrellcarpetingyeovilsomerset
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2017

When we walked into the pub we were met by friendly staff and shown to a talble,there were 4 adults and 2 children, we eat a lovely stak pie the pastry was rally good, we had beer and a very nice white wine.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank FoodieSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Was really impressed with this place. The staff worked really hard to make it a pleasant stay. Breakfast was good both mornings we were there. I would recommend to others. Our room was very spacious which even had a lounge area.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

We were looking for some wear to to stay over night we found the Sparkford Inn on line it looked a nice place to stay so we booked it was very friendly place the rooms were very nice and clean but Basic, breakfast was included in the price

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Just a minute's drive off the A303, nice quiet village. Very comfortable pub with good spacious rooms. Welcoming staff and friendly atmosphere . Dinner was very good, all cooked fresh - we'll stop here again!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sdaips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

First off I have to say the staff were very welcoming and friendly.

We decided to stay here as it was close to Sherborne where we had an appointment and close to Friends who we were meeting up with for an evening meal. Some areas of the inn are a bit shabby but on the whole it was clean (no sticky tables or floors).

We booked a double room and I have to say I was a little disappointed. The room was very small and felt a little damp, especially in the bay and the windows were covered in condensation. The floors were slopping but you'd expect that in such a old building and didn't bother us. The bed was comfy and didn't have a headboard but we were there to sleep not to sit in bed watching the tv but there were marks on the wall where previous visitors obviously had. The curtains were a bit shabby and could do with replacing being at the front they really need to be blackout curtains too. The ensuite was also very small. It had everything you needed but there were mould marks on the ceiling and it would have been better if the toilet maserator had been boxed in and a shelf provided for our bits near the sink. The extractor fan could also do with having the dust removed...probably make a little more effective too. The towels however were lovely and thick.

A kettle and lots of tea and coffee items were provided in the room but it would have made it better if I could have fitted the kettle under the tap to fill it. I had to resort to filling the glasses to put water in the kettle. It would also have been good to have some tea spoons to make the tea and coffee!

Our dinner in the evening was very good and there is quite a good choice on the menu. The service was a bit slow but I don't mind that when I get good food! Breakfast was also very good but it would have been good to have seen a menu to know what cooked items were available.

My biggest gripe was the private party that went on until 12.30/1am. Being in the main building the noise travelled up to our room making sleep impossible.

In summary it was ok but could be lovely. Not sure I would stay again though after this experience.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hunibun70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews