We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Long Hazel Park(Sparkford)
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
39
41
38
27
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
41
38
27
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshaynes motor museumcoaching innfish pienext morningovernight stopbig roombreakfast was includedtea making facilitieswould stay againbottled waterstayed one nightfamily roomyeovilsomersetheatingensuite
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We stayed here overnight to visit relatives. Our room was comfortable and clean. It had an en suite with a bath and shower. There was also tea making facilities. We thought it might be noisy but it was actually very quiet. Breakfast was included and it was a straight forward full English, nicely cooked with plenty of toast, coffee etc. It was fantastic value and we would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MargalitPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 May 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and would love to welcome you back soon.

Darrell and Gemma
Proprietors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Lovely and welcoming. Large rooms. Nothing was too much trouble. They went out of their way for our, overly tired from travelling, family. Brilliant service, tasty food. Sorted rooms so adjacent, food "off menu" for very tired upset 5 year old.
Would stay again if down that way.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank j2b1g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you again.

Darrell and Gemma
Proprietors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Having returned to this pub for a second time for a carvery
I was most disappointed by the service. The food was good but the service was rubbish. We were greeted by a staff member who could barely be bothered, shown to a seat and left. During the meal no one came to see if we needed anything else like more drinks etc. After the meal we had empty plates in front of us for 20 mins. I got up and asked for a dessert menu which was eventually brought without so much as a word. No one returned for an order so we decided not to bother paid and left. Shame as the carvery is very good. Won't be recommending or returning.
Also measuring up of door frames maybe could be done when you do not have customers eating!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SJT792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We strive to provide excellent service and food on every visit, and we apologise that this seems to have not met your expectations on this occasion. We will be addressing the issues you have raised with our team to ensure that it does not happen again.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Sparkford Inn, please feel free to call us to discuss the issues you have raised.

Darrell and Gemma
General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We immediately informed the manager of some issues giving the early opportunity to do something about it as we were there for two nights .This was not the case ?The room we occupied was superheated as there are three radiators and only one had a thermostat .The gents toilet below this room has a door that bangs in such an audible manner it is really disturbing .There isn't a blind across the bathroom window making you visible to the rooms opposite .The newly tiled bathroom has tiles that are looking ready to fall off .If the room next door is occupied then you can hear every word said and when they shower and pull loo roll off the holder .The TV is okay for a few stations but the rest don't fully tune .When the cook arrives to make breakfast every move below can be heard along with deliveries being made .The food in the pub/restaurant is good and the ambiance is nice with a very cosy open fire .The real ales are very good with four to choose from and they are regularly changed and pleasantly served by Alex who is very amenable.Breakfast no better than average quality .The furniture is rickety and needs replacing along with the carpeting .I left feeling disappointed that I couldn't rate it higher but the facts cannot be ignored .

Room Tip: Avoid room 1
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank teignmouthtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Your feedback has been noted, and we are taking steps to rectify the issues you have raised.

Darrell and Gemma
General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

My sister arranged to meet at the Sparkford Inn encounte to their home. As we were all travelling the reservation was accepted with flexibility of time. We were also limited to time but we need not have worried. The quality and delivery of food was very good indeed and the large groups that surrounded us also got the same service. Being busy didn't phase them at all and standards didn't slip. The poor reviews prior to this date are not reflected now. Thanks to the staff for their welcome.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit, and we will pass your comments on to our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Darrell and Gemma
General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews