We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wish I could stay forever”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Washford, Watchet, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nic0371
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wish I could stay forever”
Reviewed 9 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Came here with 9 friends to celebrate a couple of them turning 50! Wow, what an amazing place to stay. More than enough room, lovely warm & welcoming cottage. Everything you could possibly need is here. The gardens are lovely complete with hot tub & sun loungers. Gemma met us and told us all we needed to know and good places to visit in the area. Would really like to visit for new year but its already book!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisydora...
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I had originally booked such a large cottage as I'm a foster carer and didn't know for certain how many rooms I would need. We only used four of the six bedrooms in the end, but we were glad of the extra space. The cottage is big enough for 12 people and would represent great value for such a large party.

It is a beautiful old thatched cottage set in a lovely garden with a BBQ and seating area, pond, ornamental fountain and another seating area outside the kitchen door. As you approach the cottage you pass some modern, wooden chalet type cottages which seem a bit close. But don't be put off as they can't be seen from Shells cottage and we didn't hear any noise from the neighbour's despite the fact most evenings meant BBQs and hot tubs.
The cottage is fully equipped with everything you could possibly need and more. They supplied tea towels, washing up liquid and dishcloths (all the things I usually forget to pack). The lounge had a lovely reading area around the corner next to huge book shelves covered in books and games. All the bedrooms were made up to a high standard and came complete with white fluffy towels.
There was a washing machine and washing line (pegs included) which meant I didn't end up taking cases of dirty clothes home.
I had preordered an online grocery order to arrive a few hours after we did which was great as it meant we didn't have to bring lots of food etc. The local takeaway also delivered pizzas, kebabs, burgers etc.
The highlight for the two girls was the hot tub. Although we were lucky enough to stay during what may be the only hot week of the summer, they still felt the need to spend as much time as they could in there. Gemma arrived soon after we did to show us how to use it and let us know she was around if we needed anything. She arrived each morning to check the hot tub, but wasn't intrusive at at.
As I mentioned, we stayed during the very warm week in July and whilst everyone else seemed to be complaining that it was too warm at night to sleep, we were fine. The thatched roof keep the cottage lovely and cool and offered respite to our poor big dog with her thick coat.
One of the bedrooms is in the ground floor. Although the cottage doesn't have level access for a wheel chair, once inside it is fairly suitable for people who can't manage stairs very well. However, there is only a toilet with hand basin downstairs so no access to a bathroom.
I would definitely recommend this cottage and we are considering a return trip with friends next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to choose, the location, the garden, the space
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this thoroughly lovely review, we are absolutely over the moon that you all had a great holiday at Shells Cottage. Guests need not worry if they forget to bring something, it sounds like the owners have thought of absolutely everything! How lovely to just be able to get on with enjoying your stay, and it sounds like you certainly did! We certainly hope you return for another holiday in the very near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrsheathe...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Another great weekend away.”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A year has gone by and the same group of friends enjoyed a great weekend away in this lovely property. Gemma looked after our minor needs very well and we were comfortable and warm with plenty of room for all of us. Our only small gripe is the taps in the kitchen turn on the wrong way and we all had an unexpected shower on a regular basis. Also please note there is no wi-fi at this property.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaxglouce...
Gloucester
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect family get together”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Shells cottage is lovely and clean and very well equipped. Local takeaway delivers and so do tesco. Not overlooked and lovely garden for the dogs. We were left alone but owners at the end of the phone if needed. A very relaxing place that is perfect for family celebrations or friends get together. I will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zilWestYo...
West Yoykshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Plenty of room for twelve people with a super garden and hot tub”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Do not be put off by the holiday lodges as you arrive. Once you get down the hill to Shells cottage it is lovely and private. The garden is large and interesting and includes a little building with a toilet and sun loungers stored in it plus a pond and water feature fountain. At the bottom of the garden is a pergola with two large picnic benches and a barbecue. There is another table outside the back door next to the hot tub. Inside the house the dining / living area is spacious with a lovely wooden floor a big dining table and comfortable sofas books and games. Great kitchen with small old fashioned table. Bedrooms: Upstairs Three double one twin and one bunk. Furnishings a little dated in some rooms but all had good quality white bed linen. All the bedrooms lacked a chair and decent mirrors. The downstairs double bedroom is small with the bed against the wall possibly better suited to one person. There are two bathrooms upstairs one with bath with shower over and another with just a shower. These are better than the picture and the shower room is not really en suite as advertised. Despite minor criticisms this house is great for a family holiday as there is lots to do in the area and the house and garden are really spacious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Hot tub and garden
Liked least: lack of high chair and cot
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing