We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
72
55
30
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
55
30
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub sunday roast new owners scampi old english pub eton mess previous owners country park lunch menu great improvement pie olde world good size charming village friday evening power shower function room
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed here during a 3 stage walk along the Stour valley. I The staff were attentive and very friendly throughout our stay
and the rooms great value, warm, clean and comfortable. The decor was contemporary and inviting. The food was a little expensive, £16 might get you a burger ( it is good but...) and a ribeye was £22. I had the latter one night and it was superb, if a little on the small side. Scampi the following night was excellent. The room rates were reasonable . The atmosphere in the bar was lovely and warm, the restaurant was good if a little less comfortable than the bar area to eat. Breakfast was good but if it's not included in your room price, a little expensive. I would definitely stay here again and I think I speak for my friends too. This is a great base to explore the Stour valley from.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank paulrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bell H, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Paul Thank you for your recent review we are glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us, all our food is prepared fresh daily and we use the finest ingredients for example our beef is local and from Dedham Vale and is aged product , we currently working on new menus for the lounge with some less expensive options for guests looking to spend a little less.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

My partner and I spent the weekend at the hotel with two other couples. Daniel the manager was very helpful as was the waitress we had at breakfast. The breakfasts were delicious and we all thought there was a lovely choice on the menu. I particularly liked the fruit yoghurt and granola pots - a lovely idea. We were all a bit disappointed with our evening meal. For the price we all thought it was expensive for what it was. However we visited the Cock Inn the second evening and we all agreed the food was far better and not as expensive. The rooms were all very nice and clean with lovely new bed linen and towels, however we didn't feel they rated to be called deluxe. All in all though we had a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bell H, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Ann

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay overall and the breakfast at The Bell Hotel. We are disappointed you didn't find the evening meal as enjoyable, all our food is prepared in house and using local fresh produce we do not use frozen products like some other establishments, we currently working on new dishes as we frequently change our menu, we always have two menus with different style/ types of food, a lounge/bar menu which is slightly lower priced than the restaurant menu and both can be enjoyed in the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Good value hotel. Set in an area that is perfect for local walks and within short drives to other interesting place. The breakfast was good value and very tasty. Shame there was no muesli. The Four poster bedroom was spacious, but needed the maintenance man to sort out annoying small issues i.e. no chain on both sink and bath, cracked enamel in bath making it look like a spider was there, pealing wallpaper, sticking entrance door, gap under door let light in, poor sealant between bath and tiles, annoying coat hanger system in wardrobe - so what if clients steal a hanger or two? Menu for bar and restaurant might be very good, but the descriptions don't do it justice, particularly if a burger cost £16? Plenty of local eateries with good grub and much lower prices.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bell H, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. Your detailed feedback is very helpful for us to improve and we will address the maintenance issues you have pointed out, the rooms we under go a planned renovation in 2019. We currently working on new version of the menus after just being open for a month now following a complete renovation of the public areas, bar, lounge and restaurant in August. We look forward to welcoming yo back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Came here for the first time in about 4 years on Sunday 30th September 2018. The website said food until 9pm but at 7pm the guy behind the bar didn't seem to know what was happening. After about 5 minutes a "lounge menu" was put on our table. We suspect the cook had gone home because the scampi that came out was burned to a crisp. A child could have cooked it better. The service was almost semi-non existent. Another seemingly Green King pub with so much potential let down by bad "management".

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bell H, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

We are extremely disappointed to learn about your experience as it is not at all the standard that we usually deliver on, on behalf of the team I apologise for your poor experience you encountered. This is is our business and we recently took a lease the hotel from Greene King and have transformed the property with a complete renovation of the bar, lounge and restaurant. Our service and standards are very important to us, did you let anybody on the team know your expectations were not met to give us a chance to fix the problem right away.

Should you wish to discuss your concerns further I would be happy to offer myself as a point of contact Daniel
at info@thebellhotelclare.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

Had an overnight stay here a week ago. Stayed with our pet dog. Dogs allowed in the bar area, where we had a lovely meal. Room was spacious and comfortable and had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was really good, though dogs not allowed in this area so we put him in the car which we could see from the window. The only down side was the weather...rain...which stopped us wondering around the town before leaving. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Stable block probably best with a dog
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JulieF20181234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bell H, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

Dear Julie

Thank you for you feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Bell Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews