We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$63
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The White Lion Inn(Hampton-in-Arden)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Hall House(Fillongley)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$59
US$57
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Haigs Hotel(Balsall Common)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveller rating
205
153
90
49
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
153
90
49
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubbeer gardengood sizenec birminghamfunction roompowerful showerbar areabuffet stylefull englishstayed one nightan overnight stayplenty of parkingsingle roompuddingtea and coffeesunday lunchgenting arena
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 523 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Fantastic reception staff, bar and restaurant staff, the food is good and the rooms are very comfortable and clean, this place offers much more than a chain hotel with microwave food! when myself or my business partners are in town, we will drive the extra ten mins to get here.

Room Tip: Everywhere I have been is ok, perhaps some rooms are better for others for Wi-Fi and for me and my job that is important.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amcdermott2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Good Evening amcdermott,

It’s lovely to hear that we are worth that extra 10 minute drive to ensure a fantastic stay with us, we will pass your comments onto the staff and look forward to seeing you back here soon

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely clean and spacious rooms. Friendly staff and lovely grounds and smoking area. The only thing I would complain about is it was very hot throughout the hotel. Even when we turned the heater off at 4pm by returning at 11:30 the room was still uncomfortably hot as well as the dinning area at breakfast time. Apart from that it was a really nice stay.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Good Evening Tracey,

Thanks for your review, glad you had an enjoyable stay... we welcome you back soon

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

I stay here often and the booking deal is genuine with good 'off peak' rates. The management seem to be distant but maybe that's because the staff are excellent and they stand back and allow them to show initiative - therefore good management!
Over a three year period I've seen the hotel updated and improved immensely. The rather average restaurant has become a very good place to eat without being too pretentious and certainly very good value for money. Breakfast never disappoints and the Doombar is always in great nick as are the other beers. I always stay here when in the area if the spotless rooms are available. Now to find out if I get my £5 discount for writing this honest opinion.

Room Tip: Take an even numbered room if you prefer a view of the gardens rather than the car park. Down stairs is easier as there is no lift.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Good Evening Peter,

Thank you for your honest opinions, we value our customers reviews, its great to hear that you are a returning customer and have seen the improvements we have made over the years, we do have great staff members which means they show great initiative but there is always a member of management on site at all times.

We look forward to your return visit with discount.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Arrived during "Beast from the East" snowy spell March 2018. Bitter cold weather throughout the country. The warm welcome to a clean, comfortable, toasty room with masses of hot water was so welcome!

Pleasant bar area for a drink and chat and a lovely conservatory for full breakfast.
Excellent value, very well located for short taxi ride to NEC, Genting Arena etc.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Good Evening Heather,

The Beast from the East was not pleasant, however we are glad that are warm, friendly welcome was just what you needed to help you through the miserable weather, we look forward to you returning to us in the future hopefully on a nice sunny day when you can appreciate our lovely conservatory and beautiful beer garden.


Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

I booked this hotel at short notice for a one night stay in a single room. Plenty of off road parking. My room was of a very good size although some of the decoration in the bathroom just needed a touch up. A good powerful shower and good size towels. I dined in the restaurant and found a good selection for all tastes on the menu. The food was served piping hot, tasty and good sized portions. The onion rings were enormous !!. The pub was fairly quiet but had a nice décor. All the staff I found polite and helpful and was able to relax at ease. Breakfast was a little bit of a let down. Buffet style with a reasonable choice, however most of the cooked food was not very hot.The morning chef was happy to make fried eggs if you required. All in a pleasant stay and I would certainly be happy to return especially at the bargain price I found on Booking .com. £39 plus £7 for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank S6243PPrichardg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W, General Manager at The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Good Evening Richard,

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you found your short notice stay satisfying and that you found the rooms, showers and towels all good, are menus offers a good choice of options to all, we are sorry you felt the breakfast was a let down and have spoken to the chef and passed on your comments.

If you book direct the breakfast is included.

We hope to see you again.


Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews