We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“cosy cottage with stunning views”
other travellers have booked this property
Barn conversion
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barn conversion
Lapwing Cottage Welcome to Greenlands Farm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Barn conversion
Lapwing Cottage
Welcome to Greenlands Farm
Cosy living area beside the log burner with natural oakbeam mantel
Living Area
Living Room with wood burning stove and underfloor heating
Kitchen - Fully equipped & Underfloor heating throughout
Kitchen - Fully equipped & Underfloor heating throughout
Twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Shower room complete with Wash Basin & W.C.
Picnic Area
Our cows grazing
Modern barn converion
Farm Track leading to Greenland farm
More spectacular views  at Greenlands Farm
Track leading down to Greenlands farm
Greenlands farm
Greenlands Farm and The N.Y. Moors
Step out onto the beautiful NY Moors
Beautiful scenery at Greenlands Farm
Old Whin Stone Quarry
Lapwing Chick
Whitby Abbey
Whitby Pier
Whitby Harbour
Looking towards Sandsend from Whitby
Local steam railway
local Grouse enjoying a rest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Goathland, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dinva4
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“cosy cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a a weeks stay in Lapwing Cottage. A lovely cosy home from home, with everything we needed for our stay. I couldn't agree more with all the reviews in the guest book, a shame they aren't all on here for all to see. Jackie, John along with Nellie the dog made us feel very welcome. I can recommend Lapwing cottage to all people of all ages.

The views are amazing.
We will definitely return...We wish we could move in !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
busby16
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Getting away from it all.”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Brilliant location. Many thanks to hosts, John and Jackie for their warm welcome and looking after us on our recent stay. Accommodation was very well equipped and clean. Ideal for a quiet, get away from it all break. Great area for walking and cycling. Would definitely recommend and plan to revisit. Chris and Mary, Pocklington.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No bath
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeline...
Hednesford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything about this cottage was first class”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We were greeted on arrival by Jackie and John. Jackie showed us around and explained how everything worked. All the facilities and the equipment were of excellent qualitythere were even toys for anyone with small children. It is a very peaceful isolated area but it is easy to get to various attractions .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The tranquility and peacefulness
Liked least: The only 'downside' is nearest shop is 5miles away
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_J10234
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage, great location!”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

One of the most relaxing holidays we have had. It is located in a beautiful and peaceful location but is only a few miles from the East coast resorts meaning you can have the best of both worlds. We were made very welcome by the owners into a lovely, comfortable and well equipped cottage. Definitely want to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing