We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
55
28
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
55
28
4
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2018

Strada Giulia was in a great central spot in Bolgheri, although as we travelled in July and the town was horrendously busy, it was tricky to find parking at times, so was quite a walk from the car park.

We had the choice of rooms when we arrived which was nice, and we chose the one with the small terrace. We ended up really glad that we did as we sat out there quite a bit in the mornings and in the evenings we would have felt really couped up without it as the room was really small. I think that if we chose the room without the terrace it might have been bigger. The bathroom was super small - quite tricky to get in and out of the shower and this wasn’t helped by the broken shower door. Had to turn legs sideways to sit on the loo.

The accommodation is located over the top of a restaurant which seems to be very kid friendly. It also has a gelato shop down below which was extremely popular and a playground opposite with something that spun around and the kids loved. I guess we should expect it to be super busy in July, but the noise didn’t stop until very late. It then started early with the bike riders coming in for their morning coffee, and the noise from the kids was always there. It was not the quiet country location that we were expecting.

Having said that, mother and daughter who run the place were really friendly and helpful - communication was great and the place was nice and clean with nice quirky little touches everywhere.

The breakfast was very basic - there is no buffet and no menu. It appeared that a croissant was the main fare - we were offered prosciutto and cheese but just got prosciutto. It is hard to determine what they have and we felt bad asking for something else. We would have liked some museli or eggs but I guess that is not a normal Italian breakfast. The coffee was good!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eleanor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

I was not a fan of the SG Boutique Hotel. We were not warned that we would have to take our luggage up a steep flight of stairs and if we needed anything, there was no one to contact. We were told the owner and her daughter spoke English, which was a joke. The mother checked us in, if that's what you call it. There is no Reception Desk, just 5 rooms upstairs. She gave us our keys and left. We were on our own. The bathroom was so small. They did not offer wash cloths. The other towels were colored and didn't look that clean to me. No body wash so I recommend you take your own toiletries. The bed was hard and easy to hurt your foot on the foot board since the mattress was below the foot board. The experience was nice but not exactly what I was looking for. Breakfast was the same especially since communicating was an issue if you do not speak Italian which we were told everyone we would be dealing with spoke English.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ohhotdamn2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

First the drawbacks. There is what now seems the mandatory (for Italy) trek up a long flight of stairs with your luggage. The parking is a long way from the hotel. There is no staffed reception desk; you need to call when you arrive and wait, but not too long. However the room, the people, the town and the "next door" restaurants more than make up for any inconvenience. The restaurant La Botega di Elena is where you get breakfast (OK) but more to the point if you need something you can go there for assistance or ice if needed. It is #4 Via Guila, just down the street. Our room had everything: view, TV, hair dryer, refrigerator, large and modern bath, tea pot, safe, wifi (slow but works OK) and was beautifully decorated, A little pricey but worth it. Lovely town.

Room tip: Rooms to the right at the top of the stairs have views
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank braidmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Ok I think anything in town is central since its a pretty small town, but Strada Giulia was excellent. Called the number when we arrived. The first time, a man answered and didn't speak english and eventually hung up on my girlfriend. I called and got the owner and she said she wold be there in 5 minutes. She explained the keys, the private parking and breakfast the next day. The rooms are funky cool!!! We had a small balcony that we sat out on in the morning and enjoyed the fresh air. Breakfast was nice with an assortment of croissant and yogurt etc.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkrzyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

What a treat! When they opened the door to our room we were immediately impressed. Such lovely accommodations and in a perfect location within this charming village. So happy we decided to stay here for one night while touring some of the wonderful vineyards nearby.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MACHAPEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews