We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish and chips ”

Whiterow Fish And Chips
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Beckington
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: White Row Fish & Chips is an award winning Fish & Chip shop , belonging to the award winning White Row Farm Shop, Cafe, Butchers, Florist, Deli, Fishmongers & Gift Shop. Come and enjoy our free parking & outside eating area. We sell various alcoholic and fizzy drinks to have with your meal, why not try a local gluten free beer! Enjoy our 'pick of the day' freshly caught fish from our Fishmongers for you to enjoy as part of your Fish & Chips. Want pan fried or a gluten free batter? Just ask...
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

The food is cooked fresh to order, so can slow at busy times. Excellent fish dishes using a variety of fish.
Good car park, plenty of restaurant space.
Staff pleasant and helpful. Children's play park and covered garden area. Prices reasonable, but some of the special fish can understandably be considerably more than cod and chips, also sells homemade top end burgers.
Sells children's portions.
Clean

Thank 5RHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRowFarm, General Manager at Whiterow Fish And Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thankyou for leaving us a review. Yes, we sometimes take a little longer than most , every order is freshly cooked. Our daily specials are based on what our fishmongers get in that morning , so lots of variety! We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
The White Row Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

We have passed this place countless times on our way to our Caravan in Wareham. Decided to stop on the way back. Seated quickly. Food was excellent and plentiful. Drinks(Tea,Coffee and water) were ordered at same time as the food but arrived markedly later than the food. I agree with other comments re staff. Polite but detached from what I would call a good service. They obviously don't work together very often as they were happy to chat whilst the Cafe was very busy!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elgeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRowFarm, Front Office Manager at Whiterow Fish And Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are a friendly bunch, we also like to take note of our customers comments.
We are glad that you enjoyed your food and hope that you continue to pop in on your way to Wareham.
Kind Regards
The White Row Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Popped in for Sunday lunch with a friend. Huge portions with ample split between veg and meat. Proper Sunday lunch food. That said, thought puddings could have mor imagination at least on a Sunday I.e pie or crumble with custard etc as all there was was cake or ice-cream.
But other than that all good.

Thank MAEDLE1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRowFarm, Front Office Manager at Whiterow Fish And Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Maedle we are glad you went home full! Our home grown veg goes down well with all the trimmings.We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
The White Row Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

My husband, our baby, and I went to whiterow today for lunch. We were seated at table 18. Sat there for ages before someone actually came over to take our order. Actually almost left before the order was taken we were so fed up of waiting. I ordered a glass of tap water, a brie sandwich, and a piece of coffee cake. My husband ordered a ham sandwich, a cappuccino, and a piece of victoria sponge. We waited and waited and waited for our food and drinks. Seriously ridiculous! None of our food or drink order was anything complicated. None of it even had to be cooked! Ok so it turned out that they had gotten the table number wrong and had taken our order to table 16 instead of our table (18). So we had waited and waited for food and drinks that were never going to arrive! Once they had realised the error, we eventually received the order. My glass of water was filthy - actually filthy! Stuff floating in it, and bits stuck all over the glass. Seriously what is difficult about a glass of tap water??!! How can you get that wrong??!! Waiting 25 minutes for a glass of tap water is ridiculous. Waiting 25 minutes for a glass of tap water which isn't even drinkable is completely unacceptable! The food was OK but by this point I think we were just a bit like whatever and wanted to leave really. If the service is utterly shambolic and the staff unapologetic you kind of can't be bothered to get excited about the food. There was no offer of giving us money off the bill - no proper apology for dismal service. Nothing. Had to queue for about 10 minutes to pay the bill! Crazy way of doing things! All in all I big waste of time! Never going back.

Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRowFarm, Manager at Whiterow Fish And Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Joanna. Your visit did not sound like a positive one.
This should not of happened and we would like to apologise.
If we can be of any further assistance please contact us. Our email address is on our home page of our website.
Kind Regards
The White Row Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Went to the farm shop yesterday with family for a late lunch. 3 adults and 1 5year old. All the adults had fish and chips and it was delicious! Very fresh fish in lovely light batter with chunky chips mushy peas and a scrummy mayonnaise.
Only fault I'd have if any was that we had to ask for my daughters milkshake twice before it was brought to the table.
Great food at a great price though :)

Thank Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRowFarm, General Manager at Whiterow Fish And Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Lou.Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review.We agree about the mayo! all of our sauces are home made.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
The White Row Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whiterow Fish And Chips also viewed

 
Frome, Somerset
 

Been to Whiterow Fish And Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing