We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“potamitis studios” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Potamitis Studios

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alykes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Potamitis Studios
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Alykes
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“potamitis studios”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

aardvark1999, You have hit the nail on the head I was there with my husband recently and what you say is right . very clean thanks to Hilda poor beds and pillows and cutlery, food very good, We will not go to Zante we have been twice before I think the Island is falling apart.they must move with the times it seems to be in a time warp . Such a pity.

Room Tip: top floors 11-14
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol123186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    39
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
240
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Just back from a week at the Potamitis and here are the score on the doors:

Rooms - very clean and tidy but not huge. Kitchen and bathroom fittings looked fairly new. Bit lacking in hanging wardrobe space. Bed and pillows quite hard. They are genuine studios i.e. there is no separation between the kitchenette and sleeping area - the fridge is basically at the foot of the bed and we were woken regularly through the night by the thermostat whirring!
Balcony very small but had lovely views towards Kefalonia.

Pool and bar area were also very well kept and there are plenty of sunbeds and parasols. Didn't eat there in the evenings but did have lunch a couple of times and the filled rolls are really nice. Drinks are expensive though - €2 for a can of fizzy and €2.80 for a cup of tea or instant coffee.

There are a lot of smallholdings in the surrounding area and you will hear dogs, chickens etc but we got used to this after a few nights. Level 10-15 min walk into Alkyes - thought the resort looked a bit tatty and run down - whether that's because it was nearing the end of the season or a symptom of the Greek economy, I'm not sure. Bitten alive by mosquitoes every night - remember to take repellent and after bite with you!

And finally George - bless him, he is a bit of a control freak - I even saw him demonstrating to one guest the right and wrong way to sit on the sunbeds, and complaining that they cost him €120 to replace if people break them by sitting on them incorrectly! But his heart is the right place and he was always polite and chatty to us. You have to give him credit for the work he puts in - he is on the go from morning till night.

Personally we wouldn't go back to Zante again but if you are going, you could do a great deal worse than a week with George!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aardvark1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed at the Potamitis in September. We had met George and Andriana when we had stayed in Alikes in previous years.
George is very friendly and has a great sense of humour (Oh to hear the Wizzles CD - NOT). Andrianas cooking is excellent and even though we used to eat in the village sometimes it was nice to stay at the Potamitis now and again.
The apartments are very nicely furnished and are kept very clean by Hilda, who works very hard.
We had very hot weather while there and didn't stay by the pool as much as we usually do as it was too hot.
Don't be put off by George being direct in what he says, after all it is his livelihood!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but if you are on the side of the pool be prepared to hear the cockerels (an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank collyp181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Once again we stayed at the Potamitis Studios this year. We must have stayed there 9 or 10 times since we found them and we have never had a bad holiday. The apartments are always spotless (thanks, Hilda!) and Andriana's cooking is out of this world! George has a great sense of humour and does his level best to make sure you enjoy your stay in Alykes. After the number of times we have stayed at the Potamitis we consider George and Andriana to be our friends as well as our hosts for two weeks every year! I would thoroughly recommend these studios to anyone and as sure as eggs is eggs, we'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We have been to the Potamitis studios now for the past 6 years and it is the best place to stay on the island,the beach is not to far away and it is a lovely walk. As for George and his lovely wife Andriana, they will do everything possible to make your stay the best. Some people on this site say they don't like the way George is but you get used to him and some of the things he comes out with are so funny. He does tell all newcomers about the food at the studios and rightly so as Andriana's cooking is the best. Nothing is to much trouble,my husband likes rabbit and it's not on Georges menu but if you ask he will fetch one for you. Unfortunately this year we were 4 days late with paying our balance and Thompson's cancelled our holiday, we lost £350 deposit. We will never book through Thompson's again as we feel very let down by the company,so sadly we wont be staying at Georges. We still had our holiday as I just booked the flights and telephoned George to see if he knew of anywhere to stay and he said his friend and next door neighbour rented out rooms so we went there and it was beautiful.so a big thank you to George for rescuing our holiday and a big thank you to George and Soula next door for their hospitality and the lovely meal that we were invited to with their family. We still had breakfast everyday and most of our evening meals at the Potamitis as we now have a lot of friends who all come at the same time.I always recommend this place to all my friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen-steve11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
15.7 km away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
1.4 km away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
8.1 km away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#5 of 7 in Alykanas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.4 km away
Koukounaria Hotel
Koukounaria Hotel
#2 of 27 in Alykes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.7 km away
Panorama Studios Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potamitis Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potamitis Studios

Property: Potamitis Studios
Address: Alykes (Alikes) Zante, Alykes 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Alykes
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Potamitis Studios Alykes
Potamitis Studios Hotel Alykes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing