We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals I've had in Sicily”
Review of U Conzu

U Conzu
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Viagrande
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$33 - US$41
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 21 April 2018

When we pulled up to the restaurant, I wasn't sure what to expect. It was relatively easy to get to and there was ample parking right out front. We were greeted right away when we arrived and taken to our table. I thought the decor in the restaurant was really neat. There was an old wooden screw from a winepress in the center of the room and other random decorations which gave the room a homey feel. We were started with water and our choice of red or white house wine and the kids got their choice of beverage along with a basket of bread - but don't eat the bread because there is so much delicious food to come - don't waste the space in your stomach on the bread! Antipasti came out next - there was a delicious caponata, cauliflower in a merlot sauce, arancini, crochette, cheese and salami, and some other dishes - all on small plates perfect for sharing. Everything was so flavorful and fresh! Next came the primi course with 3 different pasta dishes - pistachio ravioli, hazelnut gnocchi and pasta in a ragu sauce. The hazelnut gnocchi was one of the best pasta dishes I have ever had in my life (and I've had a lot of pasta dishes!). Then came secondi with 3 different types of meat - lamb chops, involtini and meatballs. As with the other courses, it was all delicious! Honestly, I don't even remember what dessert was - I was so full from all the other food that I just enjoyed a nice caffe while others we were with enjoyed a limoncello. Our waiter, Salvo, was great - he was very attentive to us, bringing us more water, wine, napkins, etc. when we needed it and was great about clearing one course and bringing out the next without much wait between. There was such great hospitality and friendliness - we brought my parents who were visiting and they said it was one of the best meals they'd ever had. We will definitely be visiting U Conzu again (and again and again!). The fixed dinner menu was only 25 euro per person and no one could fit another bite! Everyone in our party (including 2 kids) enjoyed the whole experience - the hospitality, the food...we can't wait to go back for another incredible meal!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SmilenOne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalvoDimauroUConzu, Direttore at U Conzu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2017

I ate at this restaurant last November! And have been thinking about it ever since so much so that I wanted to leave a (very late) review. Myself and a group of around 12 friends stumbled upon this place on our last night of holidays (what a shame). We arrived after 10 and weren't particularly hungry but decided to get the 25 Euro set menu anyway as it was such good value.

I have never in my life been as full as I was after this meal - we had about 8 different antipasti dishes which could have filled us alone, then the exquisite pasta spread, we were almost scared when we say the meats course come out but ultimately the food was too incredible to let go to waste. I skipped on the cannoli though because I was about to bust.

But aside from the quantity - the food was truly incredible! The best most delicious and unpretentious food I had in Sicily and really anywhere in mainland Italy as well. Particular highlights were the broccoli affogato, caponata, pistachio pasta and the Mediterranean potatoes. I actually find myself dreaming about this meal from time to time - it was a true food memory and experience for me and everyone in my party. I really hope I get to come back some day!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eadaoin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalvoDimauroUConzu, Direttore at U Conzu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear, Eadoin,
Thank you very much for this Great rewiew.
Goodbye.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

I was part of a group of 4 the first time (Sunday) and part of 6 on Friday. Dinner is $25 Euros per person and included all the wine or water. Salvo (the owner) provided multiple plates of varying appetizers, pastas and misc meats with an ending of Limoncello. The Sunday visit was lifesaving as we just flew in to the area and didn't have a car, so our taxi driver got us starving travelers there. Sunday seems to be a busier family day, while Friday had our group sitting in a more intimate room (I think it was a wine press room). The pasta is fresh with the best being a pistachio covered one. Wine was ok, but hey... it's not an additional cost. Overall a good value for family style dining in an authentic Sicilian restaurant with an owner who's eager to serve you.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jojopet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalvoDimauroUConzu, Direttore at U Conzu, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you very much jojo,
for this Amazing rewiew.
Goodbye.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We went to this restaurant following the excellent reviews. Salvo the waiter was very helpful,and he provided us with this menu which consisted of 8 starters including rice balls and caponata. These were followed by 3 different plates of pasta which were really good and a selection on meat. The desert was pistachio ice cream and water melon. Really good value for money.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank isa101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalvoDimauroUConzu, Direttore at U Conzu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you very much Isa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Just got back from U conzu and felt compelled to immediately write this review. Incredible restaurant with friendly, attentive staff. It's a Prix fix menu for 25 euro per person and it's impossible to leave hungry or wanting more. Every dish is incredible, around 8 different antipasti dishes, three different pastas, three main course dishes and two desserts split among two people, also wine and coffee included as well. I actually felt bad only paying 25 euro for this meal and wished they had charged me more it was that good. Every dish was amazing and so delicious. Even things I normally don't like or eat I wanted more of. If you are in the area, or even if your not, I would go out of my way to eat there again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roblsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalvoDimauroUConzu, Direttore at U Conzu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thanks Roblsays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U Conzu also viewed

Viagrande, Province of Catania
Trecastagni, Province of Catania
 
Trecastagni, Province of Catania
Viagrande, Province of Catania
 
Trecastagni, Province of Catania
Acireale, Province of Catania
 

Been to U Conzu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing