We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Trip.com
US$108
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/07/22
Travelocity
eDreams
Agoda.comUS$144
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (739)
Filter reviews
739 results
Traveller rating
398
172
76
32
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
398
172
76
32
61
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 739 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

As part of a tour of Sicily my partner and I stayed here for 2 nights and it was unbelievable. As an artist I was really excited to be able to 'live' in someone else's work. Although reviews are mixed note that this is a special place, it is a museum first and a hotel second but that does not mean that the hospitality suffers. We were shown around rooms before choosing 'the shadow line', a room based on the ocean with a window facing the sea. Listening to the waves as we slept within the art-room was beautiful, we will probably have another experience like it. Situated in a quiet stretch of the north coast it's a little escape from business of other coastal areas. If you stay be open to the idea of art, it is not a 'normal' hotel so it's not comparable to anything else. Breakfast was plentiful, a buffet style in the seafront restaurant with typical homemade Sicilian pastries and cakes (delicious!), fresh fruit, cereal, tea, coffee etc. There's classical music playing too and sofa seats to lounge on in the table area facing the sea, very romantic. Staff are extremely helpful and informative, I would highly recommend to art enthusiasts or those looking to seek something different. Only 25 mins in train for day trip to Cefalu too if would like to see more business, best of both worlds!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank weeblondee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco M, Direttore generale at Museo Albergo d'Arte Contemporanea Atelier Sul Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Dear Guest,
I'm happy that we were able to provide you a favorite art room (Shadow line by Michele Canzoneri), your review clearly explains you were satisfied and enjoyed it. Your special room will always wait for you, so upon your next visit in Sicily we will be happy to provide a new experience! I'm very glad that you have had a comfortable stay at Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mareand that you were especially pleased of our breakfast and the friendliness of our staff. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum Atelier sul Mare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Like you could expect: this is an Art Hotel.they have some exhibition rooms and photos, paintings and insallations everywhere.

We had a standard double room with nice furniture and a lot of framed pictures. Apart of that it was clean but a little dark.

The Breakfast area outside is very relaxing to sit at. But the food was mediocre.

Recommended!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank frankvC9267AQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco M, Direttore generale at Museo Albergo d'Arte Contemporanea Atelier Sul Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Dear Frank,
thanks for your kinds words and the time you took to share with us. It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay at Atelier sul Mare. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback. I'm sorry you have no appreciated breakfast and I apologize. However, our breakfast has a variety of choices that are necessary for the beginning of the day: pastries, dumplings, cakes and pies cooked first in the morning, biscuits, bread, butter and jam, nutella, ham and cheese, yogurt, cereals, honey, eggs prepared in various ways, American and espresso coffee, milk, cappuccino, chocolate, tea, etc. etc., and it obviously includes a variety of fruit. Thank you, anyway, for the tip. All the best and see you on your next trip in Sicily. Warm regards

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fiumara d'Arte Foundation/Museum Atelier sul Mare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

The staff were all so kind and inviting. The hotel is just incredible, it's so hard to explain in words. If you travel to Sicily, the you have to go to this eye opening, heart warming magical place that offers more than a hotel. The art rooms inspire you to look within and connect with yourself. It's right by the beach, with so many creative rooms overlooking the sea. I recommend everyone who loves life and exploration and fun and light, to definitely stay here!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco M, Direttore generale at Museo Albergo d'Arte Contemporanea Atelier Sul Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Dear Natalie,
I would like to thank you very much for your wonderful comments but also for your useful remarks. We are very happy and proud that you liked our location, room and staff. Your feedback about the museum-hotel Atelier sul Mare is appreciated. It is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer to guests. Please accept our sincere apologies if the staff was not as helpul as you expected. I sincerely hope we will be able to welcome you back to museum-hotel Atelier sul Mare again soon. Kindest regards.

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum Atelier sul Mare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2015

It's my second time to Sicily and i enjoy the time travelling this island immensely my stay at this unique Artistic Museum Hotel was so enjoyable. It is a very different and relaxing experience and i really found it inspiring, great beach with clear water it was stunning.We arrived very late and were greeted with warmth everyone was very friendly and helpful and dedicated to the history of the art that can be experienced. Situated on the middle of the north coast to experience visiting all this half of the island has to offer there is so much to do and see.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lepetitcoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco M, Direttore generale at Museo Albergo d'Arte Contemporanea Atelier Sul Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about museum-hotel Atelier sul Mare. I really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service, our staff members take their roles in contemporary art very seriously and provide, every day, quality customer service that our guests expect. We look forward to another opportunity to host you at Atelier sul Mare, and once again, thank you for your positive comments!
Best Regards,

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

We wanted rooms with balconies, and I thought the art rooms would have MORE amenities, not fewer. Instead, the rooms were uncomfortable (worst bed on a six week vacation in Italy). Upon our arrival, we toured the art rooms--most of them, anyway--and ended up choosing the ones we had already requested. Both rooms (we were traveling with our daughter and her husband) had balconies, as requested, but the rooms themselves were hot, cramped, with no space in the bathroom for toiletries. This place has chosen to sacrifice their guests' comfort in order to claim artistic uniqueness. Unique, yes, but we would never stay here again. As far as the staff goes, some were friendly, some were quite chilly--especially the people attending to the breakfast buffet.

Room tip: Do NOT choose an art room. I have no idea if the regular rooms are more comfortable, however.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ToastingCora
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco M, Direttore generale at Museo Albergo d'Arte Contemporanea Atelier Sul Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2015

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to review our property your recent stay at our hotel. Guest feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I'm sorry to hear about your uncomfortable stay. However, in the future, my recommendation is to be informed of the place where you are going to stay. I’m sorry to contract you, but I would like to remind you that Atelier sul Mare is not a Hotel, it’s a Museum. The Atelier sul Mare represents the fusion between the best tradition of the hospitality and the fascinating conception of contemporary art in constant evolution. The museum Atelier sul Mare has a revolutionary concept of "living art". The rooms of the hotel have been given to international artists who have transformed them in art works. The room is not a static environment, but it is an emotional place that becomes a masterpiece when it is lived by the guest. Probably you missed this concept. Our guests are very sensitive and emotionally about contemporary art, perceptions, I would respectfully say, do not deserve you. I'm sorry for your unfriendly feeling regarding our staff who spend time and attention to the customers and make the guest feel at home. I take note of your negative comments, although I fear this is a strictly personal opinion, as is your personal opinion that we have chosen to sacrifice guests’ comfort in order to claim artistic uniqueness. We provide all the comforts, in addition we offer an experience that the guest will ever find in an ordinary hotel.

Regards,

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum Atelier sul Mare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews