We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (799)
Filter reviews
799 results
Traveller rating
368
208
112
80
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
208
112
80
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea high tea family friendly hotel half term main restaurant a la carte menu scones cream tea lovely grounds country house coach house steam room the main house old house great facilities relaxation room relaxed atmosphere
Filter
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 799 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

I bought a night away at the elms for my sister as a birthday present, it was an offer through secret escapes and we were looking forward to a relaxing weekend, use off spa facilities etc. Despite the offer still a decent amount of money for the night.

What wasn't advertised either by secret escapes or the hotel site was that this hotel is designed for children and for adults to accompany them. Perhaps I'm alone in feeling that 'family friendly' simply implies children are welcome rather than the ratio of kids to adults averaging 4:1. As a result we were disappointed from the off and feeling distinctively misled.

Determined to make the most of it we were accompanied to our room which was right in the eves, a double bed (despite requesting a twin) with a strong odour of soiled nappies. It was dated and tatty rather than tastefully vintage.

We went to check out the spa; no one acknowledged us at the spa reception with the staff on duty happily chatting between them then pointing us to the changing rooms. No one showed us around or talked through the facilities. We got changed and then went back to reception for a locker key, they had run out. We had all our valuables with us so promptly got changed and sought out the hotel manager.

Tracy was sympathetic and acknowledged the 'extent' of children there that weekend. She agreed because of the issues to refund our booking and rang round what she described as another perfect and relatively local hotel and made a provisional booking.

We drove there (45 mins so hardly local), found it rather like faulty towers with no spa - the entire feature of our anticipated trip. So we didnt stay there.

Basically the weekend and present for my sister was ruined spent receiving inadequate service and driving around the Worcestershire countryside.

To top it off three weeks later the refund hadnt credited my account. I rang to query this to be told the refund had been manually 'voided' the evening we left. Nice work Elms, I wasnt going to write this review until that happened. Im waiting on it being credited to my account now, again.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank JennyK880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at The Elms Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2015

Jenny, thank you so much for your comments. I was also on the understanding that your card was refunded on the night as I was sat there when this occurred. I understand you spoke to Chloe on Sunday and she did your refund. I have since investigated and found that the PDQ terminal voided your refund on the 1st August.

Once again Thank you

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

I booked in to Elms for a two night get away for me and my five year old son as a treat. We ended up staying one night. We arrived after a long journey and ordered lunch. My son ordered sausages and mash and me a oriental noodle salad, our food arrived and my sons mash and sausages were stone cold and inedible. My oriental salad consisted of a few lettuce leaves and some cold noodles plonked on top. I too did not eat. My son then orders a cheese sandwich as he did not eat his cold food and that came on stale bread. We were then shown to our room that I was paying 140 a night for, it was small with stained walls.

We went to explore hotel. We loved the pool and the animals. When we went to the blue room ( kids game room) it had obviously not been cleaned in a while. Ice hockey table was very sticky and there was just a TV that did not work.

At supper we ordered pizza and and stake Frits. My sons pizza was soggy and my stake Frits ( 26 pounds) came over done with not fries like advertised but hard potato wedges and a disheveled undressed bit of watercress. It was inedible and we retreated to our small room to snack on food we got at the service station on our journey up. I then ordered a glass of wine from room service and it came up in a lipstick stained glass. After that I decide we should leave the next morning and find a better hotel. We did.

We will not be returning.

The food was terrible. The rooms not great. Silver lining was the rope swing on the tree that we loved.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank tildys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at The Elms Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2015

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to review the facilities at the hotel

I am sorry that you felt the hotel "not good" , I have passed your comments onto the head chef Chris in relation to your stay regarding the cold food. The dish of oriental salad is a salad and noodles as described in the menu, I am sorry if this was not to your liking.

The TV in the blue room is for the Wii and not for watching, Jane the den manager does try to maintain a good level of cleanliness and checks these regularly , however as we have many children staying with us sometimes we may miss sticky little fingers in between the checks

Once again I do apologise

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

I've loved the Elms for many years and have eaten there many times. This was the first time visiting the Spa. I had a luxury day as a gift and my sisters booked to come along. I have to say the facilities were good and Amber (my therapist) was excellent. Unfortunately there is some fine tuning required. There were no slippers provided, whilst after we commented to the receptionist she did explain theyare looking for some non slip ones , i feelitwouldhave been nicetobe contacted prior to arrival..We would have brought our own.The rainforest / tropical shower wasn't working, after we reported it there was no note attached to stop others attempting to use it. We were in the indoor bit of the jacuzzi and the staff member swept the water from around the edge right back in with us. Made us feel a bit dirty. Our lunch was pre ordered and booked for 12.30...yet it was 2.15 by the time our 2 course lunch was served and eaten. It just took too long to arrive. I have to mention the standard of the food was no where near as nice as I've had in the hotel on previous occasions. The laid back vibe went a little too long in this we thought. It didn't leave much time to use the facilities before our afternoon treatments. I felt when I phoned to book it, it would have been nice to have been advised that maybe my body scrub would have been better booked 1st thing. ..As while there I noticed the brochure recommended it for prior to steam room etc. To us the orchestration seemed sloppy and a bit half heated. It was lovely. .Just not lovely enough to warrant the price tag.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank CarolineD043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at The Elms Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2015

Thank you for your review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your spa day with us and please be assured that your points have been passed onto our Spa manager and Head Chef

I do apologise that your issues were not addressed on the day with the spa manager or a duty manager and I would like you to please contact me personally so that I can personally apologise and discuss your points further

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

We have just returned today from a one night stop over at the elms as I wanted to give my wife a short break. Here are the issues we encountered...
1. Spoke to spa on email the day before, they offered me times and I emailed saying I would take 1.30 for my wife, when we got there for the treatment we were told their computers were down that morning so did not pick up the confirmation so gave the appointment to another and not spare appointments left! They knew were were stopping and discussing times so they could have called me!
2. So after the above we wanted to order some lunch. We ordered tuna sandwiches for the kids only to find out they had run out of tuna, should be a staple for a kids hotel!
Our meals came, I ordered a £11 ciabatta with fries, it was tiny, basic and no side garnish. Wife ordered a super salad with watercress and nuts, when it came there was no watercress and no nuts and they did not own up to running out, we had to point this out to them.
My wife's meal came out 10mins before mine and my children's! No training clearly.
3. In the evening we ordered my children's meals, my daughter ordered fish finger ciabatta with brown ciabatta, when it came it had white bread and no ciabatta, they did apologies when it came but not before to give us time to change the selection.
4. When we sat down to eat in the restaurant I ordered a starter and they came back saying they did not have it , I ordered a second choice and they came back saying they did not have it. We were one of the first in, no mention of this on the menu.
5. Kids wanted to play on the wee while we were eating, the wee was in a cupboard that was locked, the only key was in the crèche and they had gone home, reception was apologetic but that did not help entertain the kids!
6. Breakfast next day, wife ordered the hash and it was like glue and not firm or crispy at all, she could not eat it.
7. Finally the coach house room was good for our family but the bathroom was not fully clean, with grime and dirt around bath front, bin and the base of everything, just cleaned the tops of areas.
8. Finally we filled in a feedback form highlighting these issues, we told reception on check out we're were not happy and put our issues in the form we handed in at breakfast and there was no attempt to look for the form or address any issues. So what's the point in feedback hence me writing this now.

We like this hotel group and go to a lot of their properties but this was rubbish for 5 star price they charge, go to their fowey hotel instead as that's the way it should be done.
The staff were great but the issues we experienced are not acceptable for the price of it

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at The Elms Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Dear Stuart

Thank you for your review

I have read your comments and please be assured that I will discuss these with the relevant team members and managers, I totally agree that these elements of your stay shouldn't have happened and I am sorry that the reception team did not advise me or the duty manager during your stay whereupon we could have discussed your stay fully.

The running out of certain items and general food issues I will discuss with the head chef Chris so that we can ensure this does not occur again. I know that some of the dishes do become popular off the specials menu.

Once again Thank you for your comments

Kind Regards


Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015

We booked this very last minute as our other holidays plans had been ruined by a car accident. We needed some quality family time, so the children and I could recover and my husband could work.
The Elms completely met our needs, the staff were ALL so warm, welcoming and attentive. We particularly had a soft spot for Damien and Steven and their dog Bella (who our dog Ozzie fell in love with and played with all the time). They really put a smile back on our faces, they were just gorgeous!! The manager was very present too and was a lovely!
The facilities at the hotel are perfect for a family, we swam every morning after breakfast (fantastic Spa, with more wonderful staff). We then had a wonderful lunch in the bar (the food is delicious and the service is so efficient). Then we'd spend the afternoon exploring the gardens and doing the organised Bear Hunt or Fairy a Trail. The children (6 and 9) loved the Blue Room where they could play unsupervised on the wii or on the air hockey. My daughter loved getting to hold the resident rabbit and she enjoyed a game of tennis with her Dad. The children trampolined a lot too!!
Before dinner the children went off to watch an organised movie and my husband and I were able to enjoy a drink in the bar on our own. The children loved staying up late to have dinner with us and we all felt so relaxed as the hotel is all about families.
The room was spotless and the beds are very comfy, lovely organic products in the room, tea and coffee facilities and bottles of water. Even dog bowls for Ozzie!!! Lovely little touches.
We really got to rest, recover and be pampered and much more!!! Thank you so much xxx

Room tip: We stayed in the coach house, so we could bring our dog. Plenty of room for all of us!
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tara505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy T, General Manager at The Elms Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

Dear Tara

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review and I will ensure that the team are shown your comments and I am positive they will be delighted.

We do hope that you visit us again soon

Kind Regards

Tracy Tennant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews