We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class Venue”
Review of Claregalway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Claregalway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Claregalway
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top Class Venue”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had our wedding here in August and received the best service ever. The hotel itself is lovely. The room we had was amazing, rose petals on the bed and champagne for breakfast, and our guests were very happy with their rooms too. From the moment we booked our wedding here a year previously Nora was on call to answer any questions I had. On the big day she was the most organised person I have ever met-so professional. We had a fantastic day and everything was planned to perfection by Nora. We were even early at the hotel, as photos took less time than expected, and Nora still had us and our guests seated promptly. The food was fantastic. All the guests were so impressed. The food is of an extremely high standard. We had guests from Poland and Nora had menus printed in Polish for them and assigned their table a Polish waiter-such a lovely touch. Nora and her staff made our day so special with many simple and elegant touches that made us feel really special. All my family and friends still rave about the fantastic atmosphere and the amazing food. Top class venue.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SineadP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Sineadp
Thank you for your lovely comments and it was our pleasure to look after you, your families and friends who travelled to be with you on your Wedding Day. Thank you for your kind words and I have passed your compliments to all of the team here at Claregalway Hotel. We were thrilled to be part of your special day in the organisation, planning and the smooth running of your Wedding day and it is lovely to hear that you and all of your guests were very happy with the service and food on your wedding day.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to Claregalway Hotel and I hope you are both enjoying Married Life!!
Is mise le meas
Nora Gill
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    136
    80
    26
    24
See reviews for
185
168
18
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on a few occasions but not for some time., As always the staff are polite and attentive and the restaurant/bar is of a good standard. The rooms judging by mine are now in need of a little TLC but are clean.
What let the hotel down this time was the moving of furniture or equipment on the floor above after 2:00 a.m.which continued for some time.
Thus only an average rating,

Room Tip: Avoid the front rooms as traffic noise can be problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartturner75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend and loved every minute. We got a fabulous deal for 2B&B and 1 evening meal with seaweed bath. Unfortunately we didn't get to avail of the seaweed bath as we were both feeling a little under the weather. On our first night we went down to the bar for bar food and was amazed with the selection and quality of the food. We sat at the bar and could see the chefs cook the food! Food was amazing. Our inclusive dinner was booked for the second night but the restaurant was closed so we were asked to sit in the bar, we didn't mind and even sat at the bar again so we could see the beautiful food being cooked! Staff were all Very friendly!
Room was a great size and well equipped with everything you could want. I've since recommended the hotel to friends and family and will be back again in the not to distant future.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank weekenddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding while the Galway Races were on. The owner of the hotel, Nóra was quite simply brilliant. Her and her staff were so professional and easy to deal with. The food was delicious and the room was clean. B&B at €120 per person(Wedding rate) was too pricey. All in all it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio, USA
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 834 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed one night at the Hotel Claregalway during out bus tour around Ireland. The property is very nice and well appointed. Overall it has an open feel and a modern, upbeat vibe with the light tone wood and lots of windows. Everyone who we dealt with in the hotel, pub and restaurant were pleasant and helpful. The room that we had was one of the nicest that we stayed in during the trip. It had plenty of space as well as nice lighting from outside due to the ample windows. The only downside is that it sits right on a main road so there is a fair amount of traffic noise. That’s not in issue with the windows closed, but with no air conditioning the room was a bit warm, so we had to open the windows. The room cooled down nicely, but the noise also came in with the cool air. Still just a minor annoyance. We ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The food was very good and the service was great. The bar is also very nice with an inviting atmosphere. There is wifi available, but the signal in the room was a bit weak; much stronger in the lobby. Since we were only there one night we really did not have time to explore the area, but my wife and I did take a short stroll after dinner and saw the ruins just down across the river.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioHick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claregalway
0.2 km away
The Arches Hotel, Claregalway
8.8 km away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,562 reviews
7.4 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
6.5 km away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,901 reviews
17.3 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claregalway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claregalway Hotel

Property: Claregalway Hotel
Address: Claregalway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Claregalway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Claregalway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Claregalway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claregalway Hotel is 'definitely different' with an innovative, contemporary design offering an indulgent experience and energetic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Claregalway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claregalway Hotel County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing