We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for a wedding”
Review of Claregalway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Claregalway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Claregalway
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Perfect hotel for a wedding”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We celebrated our wedding at the Claregalway Hotel early July and we cannot recommend this hotel enough. From our initial contact right through to check out, the level of service was outstanding. This is the first time we have written a review but felt we must share this gem of a hotel with other couples searching for the perfect wedding venue in Galway. We would like to thank Nora, Paul, Darragh and the whole team at the Claregalway hotel for their professionalism, dedication and excellent service to us, our families and to all of our guests. The best way we can describe the level of service we received is we were made feel like we were the first and only couple ever to marry at this hotel, even though they had another wedding party the day after our wedding. We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights, which included an intimate post wedding party the following evening in the residence bar. This did not interfere with the other wedding and the high standard of service continued, serving platters and champagne to us as part of this evening. We planned our wedding from Perth, Australia and there was nothing and I mean nothing that Nora did not do for us. All of our guests commented on how nice the hotel is. Most of the feedback we received was their rooms were clean, spacious, comfortable, the food & service was excellent (the food was incredible, served hot, prompt & so plentiful and continued well into the night, including platters served in the residence bar) and the staff so friendly and helpful. So many of our guests spoke of how "this level of service would not be found anywhere else". Our guests travelled from all parts of the world and stayed in several hotels before arriving to Claregalway and each spoke of how this hotel out shone all the rest. Nora ensured our day ran smoothly, all of the stress was taken from us. The staff assisted us every step of the way. We both stayed in the hotel the night before the wedding and Nora ensured we had everything we needed the morning of the wedding & throughout our entire stay. She is so calm, organised, approachable, professional..the list is endless with how much good we could say about Nora & her team. Our day went without a hitch. Paul did a wonderful job organising our entrance music, first dance & other songs played at different intervals throughout the evening. We also had a photo slide show running during our meal, which worked out perfect. Nora assisted us with organising the timing of everything, working around the schedules of our band, DJ, Irish dancers, photographer, videographer, food service & speeches. She ensured it all came together and we cannot thank her enough for her help. The banquet room was beautifully presented, which included small Australian & Irish flags in each napkin which added a personal touch to our reception. The backdrop fairy lights and wedding cake stand looked stunning. Nora organised a guest book too and ensured this was circulated to our guests. All of these things really made our day special. We also had to cater for some children attending our wedding. The children's club was perfect for them, all receiving a kids dinner in the club. They had a great time and were so well looked after. We are left with the most amazing memories and can really look back on our day with no regrets. We booked this hotel based on other reviews on forums & websites and I am glad to report all are accurate, you will not be disappointed with this hotel as your wedding venue. Thank you so much for your level of service and we look forward to visiting you again. We wish the hotel continued success, as it deserves nothing less. A sincere thank you to you all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMDM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear BMDM2013,

Many thanks for your lovely compliments and it was our great pleasure looking after you, your family and friends who travelled from all parts of the world to be with you both on your Wedding day here at Claregalway Hotel.

We take great pride in the service we offer and it makes it all worthwhile when we receive a lovely review on trip advisor. I have passed on your compliments to Darrah and all the Team here. I hope it helps others who are planning or thinking about booking their wedding with us here at Claregalway hotel.

Again, thank you for your lovely comments and we hope you are enjoying married life in Perth, Australia and we would be thrilled to see you back in Ireland and to stay with us at Claregalway Hotel.

Is mise le meas
Nora Gill
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    136
    80
    26
    24
See reviews for
185
168
18
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed here recently as part of a hen party group and I would definitely recommend the hotel to groups and individuals. The staff were simply superb. I was responsible for booking the group and the hotel were very accommodating and flexible which is really helpful when dealing with a group. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel food was fantastic. We stayed for 2 nights, the original plan was to commute to Galway for Sat night. However the entertainment and the Craic was so good at the hotel that we remained there for both nights. We had a cocktail lesson and dinner and the hotel reserved an area for our group where the excellent in house band helped us dance the night away! In short, this is an excellent hotel, with so wonderful staff and a brilliant atmosphere! Book it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m212013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

On check on this was a lovely hotel. Annemarie on reception was excellent & I was impressed with the room. Although I had paid for a family room it was directly above the bar where live music played until after one am. Not great with a 4 year old daughter. There were no other rooms available. I received a call the next day offering an upgrade the next time we stay but unfortunately we shall not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineMcG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Very clean comfortable hotel nightclub not do good, service and staff were very helpful, breakfast unless you get down very early it is not so good location is a bit out from the town but taxi fats are not expensive would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terriem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

stayed at this hotel to break the drive down from Donegal, it is very conveniently located in the village of Claregalway. The room was clean, bright and spacious. Dinner in the bar was decent. The staff were very pleasant. All in all a nice functional hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10111011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claregalway
0.2 km away
The Arches Hotel, Claregalway
8.8 km away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,555 reviews
7.4 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
6.5 km away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,897 reviews
17.3 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claregalway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claregalway Hotel

Property: Claregalway Hotel
Address: Claregalway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Claregalway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Claregalway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Claregalway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claregalway Hotel is 'definitely different' with an innovative, contemporary design offering an indulgent experience and energetic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Claregalway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claregalway Hotel County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing