We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (710)
Filter reviews
710 results
Traveller rating
128
323
178
62
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
323
178
62
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vegetarian restaurant la moka el romero zip wire bird watching worth a visit nice pool eco village horse riding hotel is situated stunning views reception area cuban hotels canopy tour couple of nights bathroom window overlooking the valley
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 710 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

We came here for one night on our way from Havana to Vinales. We expected to be ‘at one’ with nature, admire the view and listen to the birds. Instead we listened to the sound of drum and bass waft up from the village disco below. We tried to escape the sound from 2pm until 8pm when eventually the speakers were turned off and peace and tranquility was restored. By then our nerves were Jarred and we had lost interest in our surroundings. The staff told us apologetically that the disco happens every Sunday. So you have been warned. Choose the day you visit with care. It’s a great shame as it could have been a really nice stay.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Krishna050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasTerrazasCuba, Manager at Moka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Dear Krishna050:

Thank you very much for writing your comments about Moka hotel on this important website. We are very sad to read that you didn't enjoy your stay at the hotel and that your expectations were not fulfilled. We would like to explain that there is music in the community on weekends to celebrate important events and also as a space for young people. This does not happen every weekend and it is only possible within certain hours. We would like to welcome you back in the future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

My boyfriend and I chose to stay in the 'rustic cabins' offered by the Moka Hotel at a bargain price of £20/night. We both enjoy the outdoors and camping so it sounded like fun. The cabins are on the River San Juan, 3km from the main Las Terrazas town and is a popular swimming spot for locals. They were very cute and comfortable inside but need to climb a ladder into a trapdoor to get into so not ideal if you're not confident with ladders etc. The 'shower' was in an outside block with one (very cold) stream of water (and a small spider) which was expected but not for those who enjoy a luxurious hot shower. There is a restaurant on-site which did a very basic included breakfast and traditional lunch but closes at 6pm. The one main problem was that if we wanted to eat dinner after 6pm, we had to go into Las Terrazas. The 3km walk (~30mins) was fine in the day (we like walking) but a bit scary at night with no streetlights and taxis were hard to come by in the evening. We did find a lovely restaurant about halfway along the walk which was run by a delightful Cuban man so I recommend you visit him for dinner if you stay in the cabins. If you had a car, it would be a lot easier. The campsite had a 24hr security guard on site and felt very safe. The river was great to swim in and felt like a real local gem.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ash_Reed88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasTerrazasCuba, Manager at Moka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear Ash_Reed88:

Thank you very much for your review about the rustic cabins in Baños de San and for sharing it with the rest of tripadvisor users. We are really happy to read that you had a satisfactory experience and that you enjoyed all the services. However, the staff is constantly working to improve in every aspect of the service to offer you the best.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

The Las Terrazas area is lovely and La Moka hotel is an interesting design with lovely views. However, the hotel needs a lot of work as the condition of the rooms is poor. Our room stank of damp largely, I suspect because the bathroom had no extractor system. This is a state run hotel and the facilities are limited. Service is a bit patchy too. The breakfast buffet was large but uninspiring. We took dinner at 2 local restaurants which were excellent. For state run Cuban hotels this was above average in some ways but only average against world standards.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasTerrazasCuba, Manager at Moka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear Chris L:

Thank you for choosing Moka hotel to spend part of your holidays in Cuba. We are sorry that your expectations were not fulfilled and we offer you our sincerest apologies. Your feedback has been an important tool for the whole team. They are making efforts to improve their services, the rooms and the quality of breakfast. Our main goal is to achieve our guest’s satisfaction. We hope you can visit us in the future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

We were undecided if to visit Las Terrazas but we loved the place. It’s unlike other places a quiet place full of interesting places to visit and to relax. The hotel was great considering we read some terrible reviews. For a government run hotel we thought that the standards were ok.

*** Pros:
- magnificent views
- easy to reach town
- bathtub with great views
- staff friendly and helpful

*** Cons
- like any hotel in Cuba you will expect more for the money that you pay.

*** Advice:
- try the vegetarian restaurant 5 min away but book. After weeks of criollo food, you will feel excited again about food! :)
- go for a walk and visit some of the painter studios
- try the mojitos by the lake for sunset. The best we had in Cuba. Forget Bodeguita del Medio, Floridita, etc.

Date of stay: February 2018
1  Thank perrosalchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasTerrazasCuba, Manager at Moka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Dear perrosalchica:

Thank you for your nice review about Moka hotel on this prestigious website. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the magnificent views, the friendly and helpful staff and the town. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests feel comfortable in our facilities. However, we apologize for inconveniences during the stay. We will work on every aspect of the service to improve and give our guests the best of Cuba.
We hope that you visit us in the future.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Santa Clara to Laz Terrazas Santa Clara got a very interesting revolutionary legacy and worth a visit. In Laz Terrazas we stayed in the mountains in a government hotel called Hotel La Moka. It’s a nice place but I would recommend staying in Pinar del Rio, famous for its cigar manufacturing and gateway to the beautiful national park Viñales. Good place to explore by foot, bike or on horse…
But do avoid the government restaurants. Doing it again, I would not go in any of them...
In Las Terrazas we visited a very nice little art gallery. The artist makes his own paper from recycled materials and does very nice prints on it. It’s hidden away and called Estudio Ariel.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Admiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasTerrazasCuba, Manager at Moka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear Admiro:

Thank you very much for your review about Moka hotel and for sharing it with the rest of tripadvisor users. We are really happy to read that you had a satisfactory experience during your stay and that you enjoyed all the services.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews