We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sun sand and sea”
Review of Prainha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prainha Resort
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Dona Paula
Certificate of Excellence
india
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“sun sand and sea”
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Cozy litte hotel with incredible view, nice pool and great food.
Close to the city and to the famous Dona paula jetty
Staff very warm and friendly and owner Esther takes personal interest in guests.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chan1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    62
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
59
40
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ludhiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Date : March 2nd - March 5th 2011

We had stayed in Prainha in 2009 and after much research about most of the properties in Goa decided to stay again in this place. Reason was quite obvious that we had a great stay for our anniversary in 2009. This year though we were expecting what we'll get at Prainha BUT Prainha surpised us at this visit. This resort is maturing and has much improved in two years.
We stayed in cottage room which had a splendid pool and ocean view, most rooms in Prainha has great view. Rooms are now renovated and very well done up with LCD TV. Wash rooms are excellent with very thoughtfully placed low height tap to wash away the sand from feet.
Now coming to the restaurant, the food was as good as it was in 2009. My son loved Beach comber Restaurants Chicken sandwich in 2009 and still always wanted it. Same was with my wife who tasted coconut pancake in 2009, had it after every meal this time. I personally loved their chicken Caffreal. Even Basic Yellow Dal was great. One thing which I wondered was why the softdrink was expensive by Rs5/ at Restaurant than being offered at Room's mini bar?
It is a place secluded from World with great view one must visit to relax, read a book amidst all luxurious facilities we can ask for. Great staff and very well managed Hotel. I have not come across any other Hotel in Goa which can offer better amenities with such a splendid view from Rooms for this price.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NaviBajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

I stay her often in my trips to GOA as it is a decent value considering the price and the quality and size of the rooms...most rooms have view of the pool and ocean...each are nicely furnished in old style Portuguese furniture...my room had a large balcony and a four posted bed with a canopy...rooms have flat screen TVs and the bathrooms are modern and stylish.

The beach is there but almost non-existent here and not swimable but it has a beautiful pool among the large palm trees.

The Dona Paula area is very quiet and peaceful...views are great.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILvIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Prainha is a cosy 3 Star hotel at Dona Paula and with a nice beach side property. The great thing about the hotel is that it is right on a small beach formed at a cove - which is nearly private. Dona Paula is very close to Panaji and so it's convenient holiday resort to stay at if you want to be close to a city/shops etc. The Dona Paula jetty though can get very crowded with bus-loads of domestic tourists but offers decent road side shopping options. Back to Prainha - the rooms are nice and big and neat and quite comfortable - you can expect 3* amenities. The sea view rooms have a great ambiance with a nice sit out overlooking the several coconut trees beyond which is the beach. The pool and lawns adjacent to the beach and the pool side restaurant and bar are lovely too. Staff are friendly and the goan food is great. Mr. D'souza the hotel manager is quite friendly and ever ready to help.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goaisthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
148 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

It was a pleasure staying at the Prainha in Dona Paula, Goa.

We were a group of five persons - my wife and son and my Uncle and Aunty from the US.

Rather comfortable rooms (not five sart, but with all the basic amenities like 24/7 hot water, A/C, Cane furniture, Cable TV with in-house movies, in room and restaurant dining, internet from the business centre, secure vehicle parking, taxis etc.

The unique feature about the Prainha is that it has a demi dedicated semi-circular (about 1.5 km in diameter) flat sand beach with the tide coming up to the steps that lead on to a grass terrace and palm trees, which has swimming pool and restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anilrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dona Paula
1.2 km away
Cidade de Goa
Cidade de Goa
#1 of 10 in Dona Paula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
1.5 km away
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
#2 of 10 in Dona Paula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
7.3 km away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
21.6 km away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
3.8 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prainha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prainha Resort

Property: Prainha Resort
Address: | Resort by the Sea Near State Bank of India, Dona Paula 403004, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Dona Paula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Dona Paula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prainha Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prainha, a beachfront resort, tucked away in a cove with neatly manicured pathways that lead towards the beach and the heart of this unpretentious, pleasantly surprising resort by the sea. "Prainha" meaning little beach in Portuguese is located at Dona Paula. It is only seven kilometers from the city of Panjim. Once here you'll find yourself returning time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prainha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing