We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A splendidly unique and special place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Belforti Tower

The Tower from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Tower from the garden
The Tower and the olive grove The Tower from the garden, the swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The Tower from the garden
The Tower and the olive grove
The Tower from the garden, the swimming pool
Canopy bed at the first floor
Top bedroom
The kitchen
Fireplace in the living room
Top bedroom
The beds in the living room
Fireplace in the living room
The terrace
Entrance at the Tower
Steps
Top bedroom
The living room
The kitchen
Living room with optional bed
The kitchen
The kitchen
View from the kitchen window
The kitchen
Our naturally colored eggs
Top bedroom
One of the bathrooms, every floor has one
Steps to the terrace
Access to the terrace
The terrace
View from the terrace
View from the terrace
The Terrace, southeast corner
The Tower from below
The swimming pool in the middle of the olive grove
Sunflowers and the Tower
Simon the rooster LeBon
Synergic vegetable garden
New generations
Pumpkins on the pond
Free chickens
Olive trees
Last Christmas...
Sunset at the Tower
West side
The Tower from the village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Montecatini Val di Cecina, Province of Pisa, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chooks13
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A splendidly unique and special place to stay”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What more can you say?

We had a superb week in this special place with our two children, aged 7 and 9. We all loved it!

Well equipped with everything you need, and with the fantastic owner, Luca, next door you only have to ask for anything else. We began to feel like part of his extended Family and we'll definitely keep in touch and hopefully shall return one day.

The tower is visible from well over 10Km away and sits in the skyline even when viewing from Volterra, which is well worth a visit or two.

Montecatini Val di Cecina is small hill-top town, with all that involves: steep hills and plenty of steps necessitate a slow pace of life. Locally there are two good restaurants, a bakery and small shop plus a bank.

We counted 94 steps from pool to top floor bedroom (plus another 12 to the roof top terrace) so you'll be fitter when you leave than when you arrived. Naturally, not recommended for those not able to walk up stairs.

We feel privileged to have stayed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSpeake
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Super special quirky place to stay - what a treat! Stunning views....”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our week at Belforti has been a privilege: we'll be back!
Quirky; incredible views from all 5 floors of this 11th century tower and grounds; and the roof views are unrivalled for anyone who appreciates stunning Tuscan views and / or stargazing. Our children (aged 7 & 9) have loved feeding the chickens; swimming in the pool; lounging in the hammocks; playing kids' tennis; and chatting to Luca, the utterly charming owner, and his family - although that was through choice rather than not being afforded the privacy we enjoyed throughout our stay.
This tower is not for the faint-hearted though, as the main entrance is on the 1st floor up an external staircase; kitchen on the 2nd floor; and bedrooms on 1st, 3rd and 4th, all accessed via narrow internal staircases.
We have absolutely LOVED this holiday and felt so privileged to have stayed in this utterly unique property, which will stay etched in our memories forever.
Thank you Luca & Belforti!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its quirkiness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah J
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful medieval tower which features Italian art and design but all mod cons.”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed here for two weeks this June with two teenagers.
Despite the heat , the tower stays nice and cool - no need for air con.
The boys enjoyed dipping in the pool and we appreciated the olive grove and gardens and fresh cherries! A beautiful setting with great views from the top of the tower.
Luca and his family were very welcoming and people in the village were very friendly. The local restaurants offer a good variety of food and are reasonably priced .
It is worth doing some of the local walking tours to find out more about the interesting history of this area .

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The unusual features of building and good showers
Liked least: The challenge of getting luggage up and downstairs but only to be expected in a tower!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
archanom
corvallis, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You stay in a tower - how cool is that?”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

There were six of us traveling together and we loved this place. We felt privileged to stay here. There is nothing in the world like this tower and town. We all wanted to write a good review without attracting hordes of the people to the town and ruining it. So here is a note that may dissuade some: This place is not for people with mobility issues. There are many, many steps in the tower and the town is built on a hill with steep streets to navigate. Also, if you like the hustle and bustle of a big city, then don't come here either. This is a quiet town, and I hope it stays that way. If you are still interested in staying here then read on...

We were a group of three couples driving from Lucca to Montecatini Val Di Cecina hoping to find some relaxing time in the countryside at our next destination. As we made our way to Montecatini, where we would stay for the next four days, we could identify La Torre from miles away as the tower is the most prominent feature in the town. Upon arrival in Montecatini, Luca met us in the town square and helped us navigate our minivan up through the narrow streets and archways that led to the tower. Once there, he gave us a tour and told us the fascinating history of the tower. Each level was spacious and intriguing with modest modern interiors easily blending with the tower's natural structural elements. However, the top of the tower was the showpiece and will leave you in awe with incredible views in all directions. After a few days we found ourselves referring to La Torre as "our tower" because it felt like home. It is the most unique and amazing place I have stayed, and I felt privileged to be there.

Aside from a short trip to Volterra, we spent most of our time exploring the quaint town of Monecatini, lounging around the second floor kitchen of the tower, or relaxing in the garden area and talking to Luca and Emilia as they tended to their garden. Our hosts were very helpful in giving us information on local hikes, nearby ruins, nearby ponds, and town amenities. I want to relay a few thoughts on the town of Montecatini as it is a wonderful place to explore. It has a slow pace, and is a very small, true hill town with steep and irregular streets. I found the people of Montecatini to be extremely friendly. Everyone you passed on the streets would greet you with Sera or Giorno. Many homes had window baskets, pots, or small patios filled with geraniums and unique art pieces. There are one or two restaurants, a couple of mini markets, a bank, and a few other shops mostly laid out around the town square. Although there are a few tourists roaming the town, you won't be annoyed trying to maneuver around large tour groups. The tower and Montecatini will give you a more relaxed perspective of Italy. We regret not staying longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Living for a while in a historic tower/town.
Liked least: Not enough time here.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellsfam
sandy, utah
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Blend of the centuries”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A medieval tower with good WiFi, luxury bedding accessed by dozens of stone steps. This place is a unique and memorable stay, feels like stepping back in time. The thick stone walls make it a very cool place inside. Word to the wise-no toiletries or bathmats provided, and bring socks/slippers for the cold stone floors. You must be able to climb 100 plus steps regularly to access the rooms (each on a different floor). And the trickiest part is driving up there. Do not attempt with a nine-passenger van, which got stuck in the entrance gate. Nevertheless, worth the trouble for the amazing memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quiet nights
Liked least: trouble accessing by car
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing