We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
The guided tour totally worth it!

There is a big signboard at the entrance of the village to showing the name of the Château. Then we... read more

Reviewed 8 May 2019
SiangSia
,
Lyon, France
via mobile
A fort in raw form

This chateau,fort,sits high above Amberieu-en-bugey, 1312, has an excellent history regarding the... read more

Reviewed 16 April 2016
nbelledo
,
Destin, Florida
Read all 67 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
23
34
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
23
34
7
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2019 via mobile

There is a big signboard at the entrance of the village to showing the name of the Château. Then we became not so sure as there is no more sign along the path. We continued to walk for about 15 mins and finally saw a Château on a slope.
The Château is surrounded by woods. Very calm and quiet.
It’s very kind for the staff to warn us that all the materials were written in French before we paid for the entrance ticket (5€). Obviously he is very knowledgeable about the history of the Château and explained to us in English. We even signed up for the guided tour (+2€) afterwards! The guide tried her best to explain in English and I’m strongly recommended you take it if you have some French basis. You will enjoy it and know more insight of the ‘secret’ of the design of the Château !

When we were there in April 2019, part of the Château was under renovation.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank SiangSia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 April 2016

This chateau,fort,sits high above Amberieu-en-bugey, 1312, has an excellent history regarding the conflict of savoie and dauphine. You park below and a short hike to the fortress of very tall walls and inside a real gem. Not in ruins, well maintained, interesting narrow corridors attaching the two large towers. They do give guided tours but we able to browse on our on, after a great brief description of the history by one of the guides. Getting there you are small roads which are beautiful. Fabulos view !We loved it,well done!

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank nbelledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 August 2021
Google Translation

Date of experience: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews