We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
67
40
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
40
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2015

A small family run hotel. Everything you need for a stop-over. Free parking, good WiFi.
Breakfast is only served in the room, but it was OK, at least for my taste.
Very quite although in middle of a suburb if Lille.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are equally good
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiRi4648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves S, Gérant at Hotel du Croise, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2015
Google Translation

Nous avons été très heureux de vous accueillir Catherine et moi-même à l’Hôtel du Croisé, nous vous remercions très sincèrement pour vos commentaires sur TripAdvisor.
Nous sommes très heureux que votre séjour à Marcq-en-Baroeul parmi nous se soit bien passé. Dans l'attente de vous accueillir de nouveau dans notre belle ville de Marcq en Baroeul/ Lille.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015

I really liked this place. Your hosts, Catherine and Yves, are genuinely warm and welcoming. Very accommodating, especially if your French is as poor as mine. Just ask, and a taxi will be waiting for you when you need it. The hotel is spotlessly clean, has everything you need, and breakfast is brought to your door. The neighbourhood is clean, quiet and feels safe at all hours. The tram is a hoot, don't worry about being out of the city. Just one thing, remember that everything closes on Sunday in the area, so be prepared.

This place gives you just a taste of le vrai France. Forget the big chains, stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves S, Gérant at Hotel du Croise, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2015
Google Translation

Cher Michael,
Nous avons été très heureux de vous accueillir Catherine et moi-même à l’Hôtel du Croisé, nous vous remercions très sincèrement pour vos commentaires sur TripAdvisor.
C’est toujours un plaisir pour nous de recevoir nos amis Canadiens, votre satisfaction est notre satisfaction.
Merci pour votre gentillesse et au plaisir de vous revoir à l’Hôtel du Croisé lors de votre prochaine visite dans notre belle ville de Marcq en Baroeul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

This hotel in a very nice residential area just outside the centre of Lille reminded our daughter of their grandmas caravan, which had nothing wrong with it I might add. The rooms were dated in their construction, decorated in a slightly old fashioned way but the person who then added all the pictures and loose furnishings clearly had some taste. Things looked as though they had been chosen with care and attention which made a basic infrastructure a lot more comfortable. The other thing that contributed to this were the charming couple who served our breakfast, responded to our late arrival and who I presumed to be the owners. They have little English but we had even less French being the arrogant English on tour.
The breakfast was delightful served outside our room on trays on a warm August morning.
We arrived late after the gypsies had set fire to the A1, it does seem surprising just how many things in France get out of control with little intervention by the Police, however, as it was too late to go into Lille(which is just a short tram ride away) we sampled some Artisan lager (from a self-service fridge in Reception) which was very good and ate a well earned Pizza from round the corner. After a 13 hour drive it went down very well!! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TonyC008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves S, Gérant at Hotel du Croise, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2015
Google Translation

Catherine et moi-même vous remercions très sincèrement pour votre commentaire sur TripAdvisor.
En effet, l’Hôtel du Croisé est situé au cœur du quartier résidentiel « Croisé Laroche » avec de très belles maisons et tout près de magasins. Nos chambres sont réalisées dans un esprit cosy et sommes heureux que votre chambre vous a plu. Ce fut un plaisir de vous recevoir et dans l'attente de vous accueillir de nouveau dans notre belle ville de Marcq-en-Baroeul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Located in Marcq en Baroeul, a suburb of Lille, the Hotel du Croise was clean, comfortable and quiet. All the rooms are on the ground floor, so no noisy guests in the room upstairs. The (presumed) proprietor’s house is to the front of the property, with a wide driveway running to the back where the hotel unit itself and the on-site parking spaces are located. All of the rooms are of the same size and configuration, and although small, have French doors (how appropriate!) opening on to a yard running the length of the hotel; patio tables and chairs are provided, making this a comfortable place to have breakfast or lounge. Breakfast trays (continental breakfast) are brought to the room each morning and, in nice weather, may be taken outside for al fresco dining. The Hotel du Croise is only a few minutes walk to the tram line that runs into Lille’s central district. Restaurants are a bit sparse near the hotel – a Pizza Hut (!), Speedy Rabbit Pizza (quite good) – so taking the tram into central Lille is a good and easy option. We very much enjoyed our stay at Hotel du Croise.

Room Tip: Each room is basically the same, so didn't seem like it would make a difference!
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves S, Gérant at Hotel du Croise, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2015
Google Translation

Madame, Nous tenons à vous remercier d'avoir choisi l’Hôtel du Croisé. Nous sommes extrêmement sensibles à vos éloges concernant notre établissement,. Nous sommes très heureux que vous gardez un bon souvenir de votre séjour au sein de l'Hôtel du Croisé. Dans l'attente du plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau à Marcq en Baroeul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2015

I stayed at Hotel du Croise for 3 nights which I must say were among the most comfortable and pleasant nights I have spent in any hotel.

The location is perfect for visiting Lille, with the security of a complimentary gated car park and the ease of a 10 minute tram ride from the stop 2 minutes down the road.

The hosts Yves and Catherine were exceptional, from booking a local restaurant for us and recommending other local eateries, to providing general help and advice on all those problems that arise from not speaking the language.

The breakfast served either in our room or on our terrace was a joy, particularly as I am unable to eat wheat and our hosts provided me with the best wheat free rolls that I have tasted anywhere.

For anyone visiting Lille or looking for a comfortable and friendly place to stayaround this Lille suburb, this is the place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves S, Gérant at Hotel du Croise, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2015
Google Translation

Permettez nous de vous remercier pour les commentaires émis à la suite de votre séjour à l’
Hôtel du Croisé. Nous sommes très heureux que votre séjour à Marcq-en-Baroeul parmi nous se soit bien passé. Ce fut un plaisir d’être à votre service et d’avoir pu vous conseiller sur les bonnes adresses locales et d’avoir pu ainsi répondre à vos attentes… Dans l’expectative de vous accueillir de nouveau dans notre belle ville de Marcq-en-Baroeul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews